We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Plum

The Beach Plum
Lafayette Road, Portsmouth, NH 03862
(603) 964-7451
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 189 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wow!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Great seafood in a casual family setting!!! Best lobster rolls!!! We also had the mixed fried seafood and it was selicious. worth every penny! My entire family enjoyed it!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    37
    19
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Proclaimed as 'the best' but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I've had better. Lot's of meat, but not as tender as I'd expect from a place this close to Maine. Red Hook Lobster Pound food truck in DC outshines this should be stellar place. The 'beach casual' doesn't really fly in a strip mall...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry England
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Needs a bit more thought to fully deliver for me!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Perhaps being from the UK I am missing something. You served a great lobster roll on a polystyrene plate with an average salad and plastic knife and fork. I know it's that whole seaside/casual bit but it just felt like the whole thing was rushed and under-played what was a great lobster roll. Even beer is in a poor quality plastic beaker. It could have been so much better so easily!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Ludlow, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Fried Clams of the Week”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

While on family vacation we were looking for a good clam shack. Although several were recommended along the beach (Rte 1A), we were running late and stomachs were growling. The Beach Plum is a decidedly understated venue with picnic style tables inside and vinyl covers. Orders are taken at the cash register and meals delivered to the tables. But we found the fried clams the best of a weeks sampling and lobster rolls were also well done with minimal dressing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Best lobster rolls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

As New Englanders currently living in the Midwest, we had to get our fix of lobster rolls during our recent vacation. The Beach Plum's were stuffed the fullest, and the lobster was tender and sweet. We went before the dinnertime rush and had no wait and no crowding. My husband got fries with his (he tried to order sweet potato fries and the wrong thing arrived). Nevertheless, they were very good. The onion rings were less to our taste--they are real onion rings, but the batter tended to slide off. There is not a lot of atmosphere--just good lobster.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach Plum also viewed

 

Been to The Beach Plum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach Plum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.