We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and great choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surf

Surf
99 Bow St, Portsmouth, NH 03801
+1 603-334-9855
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 189 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and great choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We had to wait 25 minutes to get a seat at around 8pm, so beware ! But the food was really good, there is a great choice of healtier food and the service was friendly.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    114
    39
    18
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Enjoyed ladies night dinner at the bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Had a lovely dinner at the bar. Service was good and friendly. The food was delicious. I really liked the healthier options available on the menu.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

With so many restaurant choices in Portsmouth, it was difficult to choose where to eat. Surf was not a good choice for us. The restaurant itself was very loud and crowded. We could have heard the conversation at the table next to us even if they had been whispering. As for the food, I had the shrimp with peas and quinoa in a tahini sauce. Although the shrimp were a good size, the flavor was masked by an over abundance of the sauce. The Surf experience was a quick one, however. We were in and out of the restaurant in about 30 minutes.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner, New Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Afternoon Sojourn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We enjoyed a lazy lunch with an upbeat and knowledgeable server, who appreciated that we were there to have lunch. The weather cleared and our view of the river was sensational. Thanks, Surf for providing us with some new experiences that were fun and delicious. Looking forward to returning today for another enjoyable afternoon.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Perfect ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

First review I've ever done. Food and service here are great. If you can get a table outside they have amazing views. Quality of food for the price is also a big plus. Affordable bottles of wine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf also viewed

 

Been to Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.