We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special....wished we went elsewhere.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Surf

Surf
99 Bow St, Portsmouth, NH 03801
+1 603-334-9855
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 160 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Westport
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Nothing special....wished we went elsewhere.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Beautiful view of the bridge. Reservations accepted. That's about it for the positives. The negatives are too numerous to name. Expensive food (weekday lunch of sandwiches for 5 adults and 2 kids at $200...no drinks, no dessert/coffee, 1 appetizer for the table), service with an attitude (the pretentious maître d' stopped only at selective tables to check on the customers.. I guess our family of seven in the corner was not worth a visit?). Having lived in NYC, we have witnessed some 'tude and may even tolerate it if the food is worthwhile. In this case, not acceptable, nothing special, not worth anyone's hard-earned $$$$.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    123
    41
    18
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A loud place for sure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

The bar is the center of attention ... so .....Talk about loud ... How loud you ask .... Jake, our terrific waiter, had to go to both ends of our table to announce the specials .. as we could not hear each other .. let alone him.
Maine oysters better than PEI, Horseradish Haddock delightful, Salmon bit too salty, Coconut Creme Brûlée average ... Mixed reaction from others at table as well.
Moderately priced, nice greeters, great waiter, harbor view, good valet parking personnel, but you'll wait to get auto back, then again, good luck parking without some assistance.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyatHome1, Public Relations Manager at Surf, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for your feedback and we're glad you enjoyed your meal. We're very sorry about how loud it is - the fire marshal had us remove the sound baffling we had in place because it might interfere with the sprinkler system. We're working on finding a solution, and as soon as we do, we'll put it in place.

Many thanks again,

The Surf team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Fresh, fresh, fresh, seafood and at least 8 items that are what they call the healthy lifestyle. My husband started with fresh oysters that were delicious and then he had the sesame tuna which he really enjoyed. I had the lemon haddock from the healthy lifestyle section which was light and healthy! We ended our meal splitting a scoop of salted carmel ice cream which did not disappoint!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Britain, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lunch visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch . Friend had sashimi tuna then oysters . All good I just did some calamari and grilled chicken sammich. Very fast serving us and was a good meal. Just enough but not weighing us down

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fish is fresh and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My 22 yr old daughter and I went to Surf last night and had a delicious meal. There was a wait for a table so we opted for one of the available outside street side tables. The weather was pleasant, the view of Portsmouth is quaint and lovely, and we enjoyed the people watching. Cassandra was our waitress and she was excellent...friendly and attentive to our needs. We started with refreshing drinks and two small plates that were scrumptious....especially the scallops. The scallops were so fresh and sweet and the chef plated them with so many wonderful flavors of pumpkin, white bean purée, pancetta and sweet potato crisps...yum! (Most important....the scallops were so fresh and sweet!!!) We each had haddock entrees and both agreed...the haddock was so fresh and cooked perfectly. We ended the meal with "just a bite" desserts which were yummy and just enough to satisfy a sweet craving. I live on the coast and I think this is one of the best meals I've had this summer. I highly recommend Surf and most definitely will return again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf also viewed

 

Been to Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.