We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit- very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surf

Surf
99 Bow St, Portsmouth, NH 03801
+1 603-334-9855
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 183 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Franklin, MA
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“First visit- very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Remembering Trip Advisor reviews, we stumbled upon Surf while walking around Portsmouth on a Tuesday around 6pm. While there was a 30 minute wait for outdoor seating, there was no wait for window seats & had a nice table & view. Our water glasses were promptly filled (& kept replenished throughout our visit) and our orders taken very professionally. All our requests were prepared well, including the shrimp potstickers and blackened tilapia fish tacos (substituting the mango salsa for the black bean salsa--without a problem). Overall, a very pleasant experience, which I would definitely recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    123
    41
    18
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Outstanding and just OK....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We took the opportunity presented today and ate dinner at the Surf. Deb had Crab Louie Salad that was absolutely delicious. The mix of lettuce, vegetables, crab and dressing were just perfect - yes I tried it several times when Deb was distracted by the great river views. I had the Haddock dinner - the fish was fresh, but really lacked any flavor - the vegetables were bland and had simply been boiled or steamed. Perfect for someone on a low fat diet - which I am not. Oh, and we had the shrimp and spinach appetizer - very tastes and perfectly prepared. I think this place really does know seafood, as all three dishes were properly prepared - my main course simply lacked a flavor that would set it apart from the Dinnerhorn, Petey's or the Lobster Boat - which I think are all better preparers of Haddock. Come on Surf -WOW us next time.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious & fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

2 girlfriends & I had lunch here on a Sat. No wait but that's rare for prime time. We loved everything we ordered. We just shared it all: crab cakes, lobster grilled cheese w/sweet potato fries, fish tacos- their special...I can't remember which flavor but they all looked awesome! Our waiter was great too. We'll be back here for sure!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Greoodles food overlooking the water.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Had a 30 minute wait for balcony table on a Saturday at 6:00 but made the best of it by sampling the sushi at Surf Sushi Bar--really great! Went here to celebrate my daughter's 16th birthday. Had a phenomenal meal--out-of-this world crab cakes, heavenly, warm lobster roll, over-the-top fish tacos and cod special and finished with the most delicious coconut creme brûlée! Dine here and you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Water View Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Recommended by locals and our hotel staff! That's saying something. We found many restaurants didn't take reservations for two, but asked you to call thirty minutes in advance to be put on the wait list. Works like a charm. We got a terrific table at the window with a beautiful water view. Service was excellent. Food was good and plentiful! Overall a nice experience and a romantic evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf also viewed

 

Been to Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.