We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surf

Surf
99 Bow St, Portsmouth, NH 03801
+1 603-334-9855
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 189 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We eat here on recommendation from our hotel, it was an excellent choice food was very good,wines reasonable for the type of place. Service good. It was very busy and rather noisy. Recommended if you are In the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    114
    39
    18
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Conway, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Haddock crepes were AMAZING!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just went to Surf Portsmouth and had the Haddock Crepes. They were amazing! Perfectly prepared! Can't wait to go back! We need Surf up in North Conway, N.H.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Perfect chowder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Hunger was not our big issue when we arrived here, so wanted to taste some authenic New England chower and My wife and I were not disappointed.
Great chowder, great service.
View of the bay was perfect addition.
Wished we could have came back for dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamiah, Idaho
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yummy!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We just happened upon this restaurant and were pleasantly surprised at how good it was. The meal was wonderful start to finish and our waitress was friendly and helpful. We would definitely eat here again in in the area. Unfortunately, we were only there for one night. The restaurant also had a great view of the harbor and our wonderful waitress answered all of the questions we asked about the area. Wonderful dining experience!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The only reason I don't give this restaurant 5 stars is due to our 'false' waitress for the evening 13/09. Obviously not particularly interested in being tipped.. So I left 6% (and it pained me to do that. Our tuna starters dishes (hot stones and wasabi + balsamic dips) and Lobster main course options were awesome..

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surf also viewed

 

Been to Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.