We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outrageous food - cute spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kitchen

The Kitchen
171 Islington Street, Portsmouth, NH 03801
603-319-8630
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 189 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Hamburgers, Pizza & Pasta, Sandwiches
Restaurant details
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Outrageous food - cute spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

The Kitchen is right around the corner from us so we have done everything they have from breakfast to dinner to take out. They major annoyance is they do a lot of catering so on a random day you'll go there to find them closed with a sign on the door ( happened to us on different days and times at least 3 different occasions).

The food is amazing though. A while back they had serious dinner menus and its stilk some of the best ribs, chicken ive had! Now its mostly sandwiches, soups, and salads. Try their Tuscan or the Caesar salad wrap. Ive had their tomato soup and found it a bit greasy. They have fresh draught root beer and it is so good! Dogs are even allowed on their outdoor patio.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, NH
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“fabulous lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

STOPPED AT THE Kitchen with my husband for lunch. He ordered a pork loin and pork belly sandwich with a great pesto. He raved about the pesto! I ordered a half Italian style tuna sandwich and a cup of chilled gazpacho. The tuna is made with a vinaigrette instead of mayo and included capers and sundried tomatoes. Yum! The soup had heat and sweet, my husband grabbed e d a spoon and enjoyed it as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“great catered dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I used this restaurant as a caterer for my work event last week. The food was upscale, healthy, inventive, and tasted delish. I randomly chose this restaurant for the catering event and was SO pleased with the outcome. We had a dinner for 15 people held at my boss' home near the restaurant. My favorite parts were the shaved brussel sprout and parmesean salad that had a citrus dressing, they made amazing swordfish skewers that were tender and juicy and even tasted great when i had the leftovers for lunch the next day. They brought us the most fabulous dessert - a layered carrot cake and cream trifle type thing in little mason jars. Cute and tasty. I ate about 4 of them.

If i had any other catering needs in the future, I will be using this company.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfields, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“great lunch place, a bit off beaten path”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just had my second outing at The Kitchen in Portsmouth. It is definitely becoming a top choice for lunch. For those familiar with the area, it is similar in some ways to Street with a larger but less exotic menu.

Their menu is fairly extensive with options for soups, sandwiches (hot and cold), hot dogs, burgers, salads, pizza, pasta, quiches, and desserts. They even have a small bar indoors as well as an outside patio for eating. Both times I've been I've had sandwiches (one was a Cuban sandwich and another the Porchetta). Of the two I'd recommend the Cuban over the Porchetta but both were tasty. I also took home a slice of the sweet potato frittata and Mexican coffee brownie that they offered. Both were delicious.

Those I were with had ordered other menu options like the cobb salad, meatball sub and curry turkey sandwich. Although I didn't taste any of them, everyone agreed that their meal was good.

The only real downside is that there is only street side parking and it can be a bit busy at lunch. Its also not in the downtown area, so will likely remain a top choice for locals only for some time. If you get a chance, I'd recommend checking it out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Clyde, Maine
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stopped by for lunch and were delighted with the variety of sandwiches, both hot and cold. Love the pickles and salads and especially the cole slaw. Friendly folks both staff and guests. Can't wait to get back there to try more.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to The Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.