We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new clean hotel with a great location !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Deer St, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A new clean hotel with a great location !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This Residence Inn is close to everything. The rooms are spacious, efficient, clean and new. You can walk to all of the stores, eateries and water tours. Breakfast is included and the coffee bar set up in the lobby is a nice touch. Employees are very welcoming and eager to help. The only drawback is valet parking for $18 per day and the wait required for car retrieval. They need to have a few additional car valets during check in/out so the wait isn't so long.

Room Tip: Select top floor....5th overlooking glimpse of water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    86
    15
    8
    1
See reviews for
88
119
7
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I always enjoy staying at the Portsmouth Residence Inn. At the heart of the downtown area, it's in a beautiful and convenient location. Rooms are always clean, the breakfast is delicious. My most recent trip a couple of weeks ago was very short, but I wanted to applaud Penelope at the front desk for EXCELLENT service. She was so accommodating and friendly. As someone who works in hospitality, I can't say how much I appreciate that. Will definitely visit again soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have stayed here several times and it continues to be our favorite hotel in the city. Spacious, clean rooms and an excellent free breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. Great location within easy walking distance of the downtown restaurants, bars and shops. The hotel now has valet parking, as a new hotel is being built on what used to be a parking lot across the street from the Residence Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was our first stay in this hotel. Penelope at the front desk greeted us in such a warm and accomodating fashion, we will return. The rooms are top end. The included breakfast was excellent. Portsmouth offers a great downtown and waterfront that has been historicall refurbished to reflect its character. The variety and excellence of its restaurants proved to be much more than we anticipated. Forget Boston and Portland, both great cities but Portsmouth with its size, quality hotels and food accomodations and its milieu met our needs in every way.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed in Portsmouth for one night while traveling between Bar Harbor and Boston. I was extremely impressed with this hotel! The room was gorgeous, spacious and clean! The staff was fantastic. Everyone we ran into was friendly and accommodating. The free breakfast in the morning was great and while we were there our boys were approached by employees who gave them crayons and pages to color as well as glow in the dark bracelets. I wish we could have stayed longer and I think next time we are in the area we will make it a point to stop there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

The highlights... 1. Every single staff member was friendly and helpful! 2. The rooms are clean, spacious and have everything you'll need! 3. The breakfast was delicious! 4. The location is great! We will return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Heather has made this stay and all of my stays at this property enjoyable. She goes above and beyind to ensure i am satisified with my accommodation. the staffis friendly and very courteous. heather always greets her guests with a smile. the reason i stay at this property is because of heather and the front desk staff. Keep up the great work.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront

Address: 100 Deer St, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the new Portsmouth Harbor Events & Conference Center, Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown is Portsmouth’s only LEED Certified Hotel. Steps away from a wide variety of boutiques, theaters, galleries, historic homes and waterfront gardens, plus, dining options are endless with Dolphin Striker, Oar House and Portsmouth Brewery just a block away. Our all-suite, extended-stay hotel is pet-friendly, offering such amenities as an indoor pool, fitness center, on-site bar and complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront Hotel Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.