We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done Marriott!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Deer St, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 18 hotels in Portsmouth
Danvers, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Well done Marriott!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We recently spent a night at the Residence Inn when we were in Portsmouth for my wife's birthday. This hotel is conveniently located in downtown Portsmouth and close to everything. When we checked in the staff was extremely friendly and greeted us with warm smiles. The hotel is nicely decorated in tones of ocean blues and greys. Our room was immaculate and beautifully appointed. The appliances looked brand new and the bathroom was meticulously clean. While dressing for dinner, I went down to the bar. Gerri, the Operations Manager, was bartending as they were short staffed. Gerry, was warm, inviting, and made a point to speak to everyone at the bar. As the Operations Manager, she obviously has a lot to do in this hotel but clearly welcomed the opportunity to get to know hotel guests. She made such an impression on me, I am trying to think of a job I can offer her at my own organization! The next day, we met a chamber maid in the hallway who greeted us with a warm smile on what was otherwise a snowy cold New England day. The valet staff got all the snow off the car and brought it back to the hotel efficiently. I can't say enough good things about this hotel. I travel for business several times a month and I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    81
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
83
111
6
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

With the exception of getting a pair of key cards for the room that initially did not work, had an outstanding stay. Very nice lobby area, and the rooms are great - very clean and spacious. Great location! Parking is available across the street, and curbside parking for check in can sometimes be unavailable. Despite these minor nuisances with parking, we will go back to this hotel again. Downtown Portsmouth is within easy walking distance, one of the great benefits of this property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was my first time staying in Portsmouth, NH. We chose to stay at the Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront because of the location and proximity to downtown. The hotel was very busy when we arrived but the staff was extremely helpful and even let us check-in early. The rooms were very spacious and clean. My only complaint would be the parking – we had to wait almost 30 minutes for our valet, so I would recommend giving plenty of notice before you need to leave. Otherwise, the hotel was great, and the location to restaurants/shopping was ideal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

I really wanted to write a review for this hotel since the staff here were so outstanding and I hope the positive feedback gets back to them. Literally everyone from the front desk people to the cleaning crew to the valet guys were cheerful and helpful to the extreme. They had a free breakfast, free cookies in the afternoon and free snacks on most of the evenings. Free coffee and tea 24/7 as well.

My only complaint was the room was a bit noisy. I could hear the fridge and the heating clicking on and off at night and I could hear the person upstairs clomping around. My window also faced the construction site next door which was really noisy. I have really good hearing though so these things might not bother other people, I am not sure.

The location was excellent - walk to everything - although, weirdly, downtown Portsmouth doesn't seem to have a drugstore (??) The CVS is a mile away which wouldn't even be that bad but the weather was absolutely freezing. Lots of bars (all with live music), restaurants, shopping, etc. easily walkable from the hotel even in freezing temperatures. I did not have a car so that was nice.

All in all, a great stay. Nice hotel and very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Vermont
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was my second time staying at the Residence Inn Downtown Portsmouth while visiting the area for business. From the moment we arrived (at valet parking) to the moment we checked out the staff was so wonderful. They were willing to help with whatever was needed.

The rooms were very spacious and clean for the most part. I happened to look underneath the sheets at one point and it looked like the underside of the mattress was stained for whatever reason, but that was the only thing I found wrong with the room. Everything else was great. In the little basket that has the coffee and sugar packets, there was also a bag of popcorn provided which I thought was a nice touch. Perfect for when my meetings got out late and I just needed a little snack.

Breakfast was really nice too. There were some hot items and cold items. They had these chocolate and white muffins that I thought were amazing.

It is really located in the perfect location if you are there to visit the local shops, eateries or sights of the water. I'm lucky that the building I was working from was right on the water and had a beautiful view. It's a beautiful area for walking around and visiting.

The only thing that others might find kind of annoying or an inconvenience is that there is only valet parking since there is no hotel parking lot/garage. There used to be a lot across the street that was .75 cents an hour, however they have now dug it up to build another hotel. There is a parking garage around the corner that is .75 an hour and that is where we parked since the office we were going to was just a five minute walk.

But other than parking everything else was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My wife and I finally had a day off together and decided to get out of town for a nice dinner and to watch the New England Patriots play. We have stayed at the Residence Inn in the past. You are cordially greeted by the valet staff at the door. They will also help you with your luggage.
The reception staff is always very cordial and helpful. Since the hotel wasn't fully booked we also got an upgrade on our room. They also serve a full breakfast in the morning. It is also very convenient to one of our favorite restaurants The Blue Mermaid which is right behind the hotel.
We had an excellant meal and watched the football game with an attentive waitstaff. I definitely will be staying ther again in the future.

Room Tip: The larger King Suite has a sofabed and a small kitchenette if you are planning an extended stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I was going to give it a 4 b/c its not super luxurious, but then I thought, I have no complaints!! Great location, great price, super clean, big room...really enjoyed our stay!
The in-door pool was a nice touch too.
Breakfast was basic, but included, so no big deal. If you want a memorable breakfast there are a lot of great restaurants in the area.
I would stay again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront

Address: 100 Deer St, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the new Portsmouth Harbor Events & Conference Center, Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown is Portsmouth’s only LEED Certified Hotel. Steps away from a wide variety of boutiques, theaters, galleries, historic homes and waterfront gardens, plus, dining options are endless with Dolphin Striker, Oar House and Portsmouth Brewery just a block away. Our all-suite, extended-stay hotel is pet-friendly, offering such amenities as an indoor pool, fitness center, on-site bar and complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront Hotel Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.