We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Complaints” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront to your Saves list
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Deer St, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“No Complaints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I was going to give it a 4 b/c its not super luxurious, but then I thought, I have no complaints!! Great location, great price, super clean, big room...really enjoyed our stay!
The in-door pool was a nice touch too.
Breakfast was basic, but included, so no big deal. If you want a memorable breakfast there are a lot of great restaurants in the area.
I would stay again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    104
    18
    8
    1
See reviews for
102
142
7
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

On our way to Maine, we stayed at this newer property due to fierce winter storm. The first impression was very good, with one (major) exception. The hotel was very clean, modern and attractive and the staff were immediately welcoming. Unfortunately, there was no parking in site so I had to park three blocks away in a municipal garage and walk through the snowstorm with my luggage! The front desk explained the parking lot across the street was being bulldozed for another new hotel.

The room was spacious and fresh with a separate living room, kitchenette and a roomy bathroom. However, the pull out bed was uncomfortable and there was not adequate bedding in the closet for the pull out.

The breakfast buffet in the morning was plentiful enough and decent, with some hot choices such as pancakes, sausage and home fries. The coffee, however, was bitter and disappointing

Overall, this is a cut above the standard Residence Inn. If they could fix the parking situation, it would be even better.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel was fantastic, with a great breakfast buffet
But on New Years eve, we were ready to crash by 1. However, the event in the neighboring building was not. The walls were thin enough we were still hearing Gagnum style at quarter to 2. If you get a room at the end of the hall, make sure you've had enough drinks to put you down, or stay on a quieter night. Service was top notch, and proximity to the square was excellent

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We usually stay at the Hilton residence inn but after a horrible stay at a Hampton inn I decided to try Marriott. This hotel was wonderful. Beautifully decorated, modern clean spacious suites (we stayed in a one bedroom) and the staff could not be more friendly or helpful. It was a Christmas stay and I can't think of a better place to spend the holidays. Thank you for making our trip so wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed one night at the Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront and wish I stayed longer! I was aware that this was a new property but didn’t imagine it would be so stylish and comfortable. The room was large and immaculate. The studio space was attractive and didn’t feel like a dorm room, which has been the case at other Residence Inns. The bed was very comfortable. Service was lovely at the bar and main desk. Parking is easy and the location is amazing. I love Portsmouth and this hotel couldn’t be situated in a better spot; No need to drive anywhere. If you’re reserving it may appear that the price per night is a little steep for a Residence Inn but when you see the rooms you’ll understand why. I’ll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The receptionists at this hotel are extraordinarily pleasant. They really go out of their way to present a pleasant and cheerful experience, which is immediately noticeable. The last time I felt such a warm welcome was at a Disney Resort in Orlando. The rooms seem new-ish and are very clean and quite large. The free breakfast is somewhat ordinary but it is nicely set out, clean, and very adequate. Parking across the street is in an open lot, which does not seem to be monitored closely, but from what I have been told it is very safe. I parked an SUV with my son's school belongings in the lot and felt that it was safe. All in all, this is a very nicely run hotel with are really pleasant staff that go out of their way to make your stay comfortable.

Room Tip: Stayed in several of the rooms over the past months and they have all been great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I are fans of the Residence Inn Brand and have stayed in several of them across the country. That being said we also realize that within this brand there can be a huge range of quality differences. A perfect example of this is seen in the 2 Residence Inns that are located In Portsmouth, New Hampshire. This location Downtown on the waterfront is outstanding in every way. The rooms are beautiful with new design and every comfort. Several nights a week you receive free food in the lobby at dinner time. The night we were there last week it was taco night. They had a good variety of toppings for the tacos as well as soft shells and hard shells for the meat filling. Breakfast was amazing and had plenty of choices for those who are health conscious such as egg whites, turkey bacon, hard boiled eggs, whole wheat breads, fresh fruit, oatmeal etc. The hotel is clean and very well run by a staff that seems to anticipate your every need. The woman who checked us in went out of her way to print menu pages from local take out places along with recommendations for restaurants within walking distance. We stayed at the other Residence Inn which is only 1 mile away and found it in need of an update. The Waterfront location is totally worth a bit more per night for double the service, comfort and location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
1.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wynwood Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront

Address: 100 Deer St, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the new Portsmouth Harbor Events & Conference Center, Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown is Portsmouth’s only LEED Certified Hotel. Steps away from a wide variety of boutiques, theaters, galleries, historic homes and waterfront gardens, plus, dining options are endless with Dolphin Striker, Oar House and Portsmouth Brewery just a block away. Our all-suite, extended-stay hotel is pet-friendly, offering such amenities as an indoor pool, fitness center, on-site bar and complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront Hotel Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.