We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront to your Saves list
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Deer St, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Indiana
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

A perfect walking distance to the shops and restaurants in Portsmouth. Our room had a separate living room and bedroom which was great for our 4 day stay. The kitchen was impressive but we couldn't resist all the great restaurants! Breakfast was included and was a nice continental with some hot meal choices too.
I was most impressed with the staff. Young but very attentive and went out of their way to make sure our needs were met. Upon check in, they gave my daughter a puppet. They always greeted us as we exited the elevator or when we entered the front door. This might seem like a small thing, but customer service wise it is a big plus! They remembered us from day to day and took an interest in my daughter and in our daily adventures. And they acted genuine about it.
They were having a contest to choose the favorite carved pumpkin ( there were 7 or 8 pumpkins to vote on) which was cute, fun, and out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    98
    16
    8
    1
See reviews for
97
133
7
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mass, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

After a short stay, I can say I will likely return again. The hotel is a standard residence inn, I have stayed in many and have yet to be disappointed by the rooms. One little thing, the toilet paper holder was a little loose, but other than that lovely and nicely equipped.

Our check-in was very efficient and friendly complete with still-warm chocolate chip cookie. Breakfast was standard: fruits, so-so baked goods, yogurt, eggs, make-it- yourself waffles etc. nothing incredible, but certainly adequate, fresh and included. I always appreciate the 24 hour free coffee, tea and cocoa in the lobby.

One comment, our room (a studio) didn't have a tub, but rather a large shower. This may bother people with young children. I would confirm on your room type if this is an issue for you. (I would not think to check that normally as I rarely find hotels without a tub).

Overall a great place to stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was my second stay at this hotel and I am looking forward to another. The staff is warm, friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, very clean, with a great little kitchen, comfortable furniture and a large bathroom. The bed was comfortable with plenty of foam pillows as requested.
The breakfast has lots of great choices, fresh fruit, waffles, freshly made scrambled eggs, bacon/sausages, cereals, breads etc.; the evening cocktail hour provides some decent snacks as well such as pulled pork and Italian sausage and pepper saute.
The proximity to historic Portsmouth is a huge plus as well, one can walk to the many great restaurants Portsmouth has to offer as well as visiting the interesting historic sites the city has to offer. The price is consistent with other hotels in the area as are the parking fees for the adjacent lot.

Room Tip: A high floor on the Piscataqua River side of the hotel can provide a nice view of the gabled rooftop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmith, NH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This seeems to be a new hotel. The rooms are large and there are really two rooms in the suite. It is very clean and well stocked - the furniture is new and the bed very comfortable.. The staff was knowledgeble and very helpful. We liked that the hotel accepted pets and included breakfast. The location was also desirable - right downtown and you can self park. We will come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

One of the friendliest staffs I have ever encountered at a hotel. We spent four nights here for a conference. The studio suite with king bed was clean, comfortable and well-appointed. The breakfasts were average fare. The evening refreshments could replace dinner if you are tired, want to save money, or not avail yourself of any of Portsmouth's nice restaurants. Parking is $12 per day.

This is a very nice hotel. I recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This place is ideal if you want to be within walking distance of everything in downtown Portsmouth. It is a perfect location. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment style room. It had a huge bathroom, separate bedroom with a king bed plus a living room - kitchen combination. The hotel seemed brand new or maybe updated recently, everything was very modern and clean. I would definitely stay here again! Loved it!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here for three nights during a touring holiday of New Engand. Only 5 minutes walk from historic downtown Portsmouth and close to freeways for touring.

We choose the smallest suite but it was large enough for our needs. Large integral working kitchen and dining bar ensured that we didn't require to eat out any evening. Large, firm and very comfortable bed and spacious sitting area. Good sized bathroom and large walk-in shower (no bath!)

On arrival we had to ask the chambermaid for toiletries since they hadn't been replenished, whilst on our return at 4.30 on our second day we discovered that the room hadn't been serviced. A quick word at reception and Andy the duty managered, apologised and organised complimentary drinks whist the room was quickly serviced, even although housekeeping staff had finished for the day. The third day room appeared not to have been vacuumed, although not an issue for us.

Complimentary breakfast was of reasonable quality although lack of tabes was an issue. Canapés served from 5pm Sunday to Thursday was a welcome treat following a hard day's sight seeing.

As noted by previous reviewers, no on-site car parking ($18 for 24 hours in public car park). If out all day in your car consider leaving it at street meter - no charge from 7pm to 9am (€1 per hour outwith these times)

Overall a good visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront

Address: 100 Deer St, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the new Portsmouth Harbor Events & Conference Center, Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown is Portsmouth’s only LEED Certified Hotel. Steps away from a wide variety of boutiques, theaters, galleries, historic homes and waterfront gardens, plus, dining options are endless with Dolphin Striker, Oar House and Portsmouth Brewery just a block away. Our all-suite, extended-stay hotel is pet-friendly, offering such amenities as an indoor pool, fitness center, on-site bar and complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront Hotel Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.