We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location in Portsmouth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront to your Saves list
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Deer St, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
385 reviews 385 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Best Location in Portsmouth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

My family stayed here for one night on our way up to the coast of Maine. From check in to check out this hotel did everything to make our stay hassel free and comfortable. The accommodations were comfortable and we had plenty of room for our family of 5. The location was great we walked to dinner and found some great shopping on the way!

I would recommend this to anyone stopping through or staying to explore Portsmouth, you cant find a better location and the rates were good.

Room Tip: I told the check in I was traveling with family and they gave us the largest corner room, so we woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    98
    16
    8
    1
See reviews for
97
133
7
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Once again this hotel has exceeded my expectations during a recent visit during the Market Day Festival taking place in town. Upon arrival the front desk supervisor, Jeri, graciously offered to provide a late checkout once she learned we were running the 10K road race the next morning. She provided a phelora of information regarding locations for lunch/dinner based on our questions and appeared very interested in ensuring our stay was delightful. It was obvious that although there was a large wedding party at the property, Jeri and her staff made us feel as though we were the only clients in the facility.

While staying at the property, I realized it would be the perfect place for a family member celebrating his 30th wedding anniversary. When I mentioned such to Jeri, she immediately offered to provide any assistance necessary for their arrival in November.

This was my third visit to this property in the last two years and it just keeps getting better every time. Although there is a charge, the parking is onsite providing a no hassal entry/exit.

The complimentary breakfast was very fresh, room linens appeared to be new, beds extremely comfortable and in town location make this property a MUST when staying in Portsmouth.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor overlooking the Portsmouth bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Seemed newly updated. Big rooms with kitchen. Perfect location. Possible to get a good deal on the rate. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

This was my second stay at a Marriott Residence Inn (the other in Denver) and this hotel was even nicer.

I went with a group of girlfriends to the hotel and we had a great time. One night we were in a corner suite and the next we had a second room since some people only came up for the second night.

The corner room was much bigger and had a larger kitchen area with island. The standard room just had a kitchenette nook.

Check in was quick and the front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating during our stay.

The kitchen had a dishwasher and refrigerator and burner. it was stocked with coffee, tea, silverware, paper towels, plates, glasses, soap, can opener, wine glasses etc. We were in a group and they quickly brought up more wine glasses.

There is also a living area with tv and a pullout couch. The bedroom had a king bed. There was plenty of closet space.

The bathroom had double thanks, a glass shower, and high end toiletries.

I had the short straw so had to sleep on a cot one night and the pullout the other. I've yet to sleep on a comfortable pullout and this one was no different. However the cot was, without exaggeration, the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept on. if I had pulled up the sheets I wouldn't be surprised if it was a granite slab. Since it was a short stay it wasn't a big deal but if you are in a larger group you should take turns in who gets the cot.
The hotel also provided a breakfast buffet which was more than adequate. There were bagels, waffles, cereal, yogurt, eggs, bacon, etc. Nothing gourmet but it hit the spot.

Location of the hotel was great. There is a municipal lot for parking $.75 an hour and you are in close walking distance to plenty of shops and restaurants.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Top Contributor
399 reviews 399 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
385 helpful votes 385 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We always try to stay here when the rates are right. As Gold member got a room upgrade. Manager Jeri was extremely helpful! Highly recommend staying here for visiting the downtown area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We recently sent one night at this hotel. We found the rooms to be spacious and had all the trappings of home. The room had a kitchen area with a full sized fridge. The location is nice for the Portsmouth Olde Port area, which is full of all kinds of food and shops all within walking distance. They have a saltwater pool but we did not use it. There are no ice machines on the floors so if you know you need ice turn it on in the freezer in your room.

The staff was great and very friendly. I would stay here again if in Portsmouth.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

My wife and I, along with friends (a family of four) spent Patriots Day weekend in Portsmouth. We arrived at 10:00 a.m. Saturday morning and the nice young lady at the desk informed us that our one-bedroom suites would not be ready until 1:00 p.m. Since check-in was not supposed to be until 3:00 p.m., we happily went to town to enjoy the usually warm weather.

Portsmouth is a great town. We enjoy being there more than Newport, RI. The hotel is walking distance to a hundred shops and restaurants. As I stated in earlier reviews, the Kittery Outlet Shops are only a couple of miles north of Portsmouth. Unfortunately , the closest bridge is being replaced and the drive may be 4 or 5 miles. My wife made two trips to shop for the grandkids while I hung around downtown. Both days we listened to an outdoor band/singer performing at an outdoor bar & restaurant about 200 yards from the hotel.

Our friends went swimming three times with their young girls in the indoor (salt water) pool. The guys went to Poco's on Bow Street to watch the Bruins/Caps game. Awesome nacho's and great drinks at the inside bar. The outdoor patio and bar were totally full.

We had lunch at BG's Boathouse. It's a couple of miles outside town towards Wentworth by the Sea. The seafood was excellent. Great fish sandwiches and onion rings. The outdoor patio is big and right on the bay.

We had dinner at Warren's Lobster House. Outstanding haddock stuffed with lobster. We also ate at The Old Ferry Landing. The mussels were about the best we'd ever had.

We had breakfast at the hotel which had a very nice selection of eggs/bacon/potatoes/waffles/fruit/pastry, etc. But we had to walk to Popovers for a hot popover and seat outside in the sun to read the Sunday paper.

The hotel was great. We ordered a Pack 'n Play which was waiting in our room. The feather free pillows were on the beds. Having a micro/ fridge and full kitchen was convenient. The staff was very helpful and always greeted us when coming or going. They even had a plate of giant cookies in the lobby in the afternoons. The hotel opened in 2010 so everything still feels new.

Parking was difficult on Saturday, due to a wedding and the great weather. We had to pay at a meter and a local garage ($.75/ hour) around the corner. Sunday there was plenty of room in the lot.

The room bills were exactly correct and checkout was a breeze.

We'll be back in the Fall.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront

Address: 100 Deer St, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the new Portsmouth Harbor Events & Conference Center, Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown is Portsmouth’s only LEED Certified Hotel. Steps away from a wide variety of boutiques, theaters, galleries, historic homes and waterfront gardens, plus, dining options are endless with Dolphin Striker, Oar House and Portsmouth Brewery just a block away. Our all-suite, extended-stay hotel is pet-friendly, offering such amenities as an indoor pool, fitness center, on-site bar and complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront Hotel Portsmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown / Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.