We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love me some BGs - terrific views and consistent services” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BG's Boathouse

BG's Boathouse
191 Wentworth Road, Portsmouth, NH 03801
+1 603-431-1074
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 183 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: "Where the Locals Go" - This family owned favorite has been preparing the freshest seafood on the seacoast for 38 years! Enjoy the beautiful water views of Sagamore Creek while dining on the 2 outdoor decks, in the dining room or in the Sagamore Pub. Come by boat or kayak as well! Hours Sun-Thurs until Mother's Day. Open 7 days Mother's day - Labor Day.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Love me some BGs - terrific views and consistent services”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

BG's is a summer staple for me, a great place to get a fried seafood fix. It is right on Sagamore creek, outdoor seating, and though offers up plastic silverware and paper plates, is about as upscale as you are going to find in a fried seafood shack (beer in real glasses, cocktails, full bar). Lobster, catch of the day fish, yummy fried zucchini and a decent tartar sauce. Can get a little expensive but thus is life. Outside the main drag of Portsmouth, a pretty nice local haunt. Lots of parking, the staff is young but attentive, and recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    48
    16
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
exeter
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Disgusting!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I went here once before and it was good, what you would expect from a fried seafood place. However, I took my fiance for a late lunch. I ordered the scallops and they were okay. He ordered the fried haddock and it smelled so awful we both almost threw up!! The waitress was nice about it and we ordered another one to give it a try again. It came back the same way. Obviously any decent chef would be able to smell bad fish a mile away. We were told that the fish came in just that morning. It smelled like it thawed out and was left out of refrigeration to stew in its juices all morning. However they handled it, they did not handle the fish correctly. We should have really gotten our entire meal free since it was that bad. The waitress was nice about it at least. Awful food! No one should go again, unless they get a decent chef, not a teenage fry cook.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Unique Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We recently had the opportunity to sample some local cuisine and atmosphere in New Castle/ Portsmouth NH. Our friends have been coming to BG's for years and, now, we understand the attraction. The food, service, ambiance, were outstanding. Parking is easy and the views were excellent. We will be back on our next area visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An old standard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

A regular stop in the summer is BG's Boat House on Sagamore Creek. It is air conditioned but the view of the kayaks paddling up the creek and the hawks circling above the trees is well worth sitting out on the deck, even on the hottest day. There is plenty of parking and can also be accessed by water. The waitstaff is friendly and efficient and the food is very good. Definitely put this one on the list!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Wareham, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Always a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We went with our kids and had fresh seafood on the waterfront! Food excellent, portions generous....fun relaxed atmosphere...

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BG's Boathouse also viewed

 

Been to BG's Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BG's Boathouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.