We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great food, great beer!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The River House Restaurant

The River House Restaurant
53 Bow St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3819
+1 603-431-2600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 160 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $24
Cuisines: Chowder, Fish & Chips, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The River House is located along the scenic Piscataqua River. We offer indoor seating and a variety of outdoor seating including a cocktail deck, all with excellent views of Portsmouth's busy waterway. Our menu includes of a variety of classic dishes from land and sea including our award winning seafood chowder. Our scenic views, friendly service and local cuisine are a "Cant Miss" for Portsmouth, NH.
Slingerlands, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great location, great food, great beer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stopped her for dinner on a Friday. Great service even though quite busy.
Nice view of the River even though we were a couple of tables away from the windows.
Great food! tons of lobster - tons of lobster -so much I took a picture of it.
Husband got the lazy man's lobster and it was great!
Definitely would go again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    155
    66
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great view, great service, good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

The River House in Portsmouth was exactly what my husband and I were looking for yesterday. It is right on the river with a gorgeous view of the bridge and the port. They have a deck (enclosed and heated in the cooler weather), and the tables on the deck are nicely spaced. Sometimes restaurants crowd as many tables as they can and you feel like you are on top of each other, not here. The hostess and waitstaff were very nice, made sure my food allergies were noted, and never rushed us despite a wait for the deck. The food was good, it wasn't great but it was good. My coca cola pulled pork was very good, it was my husband's Caesar salad with steak tips that wasn't as good. We both agreed their French fries and sweet potato fries were yummy! I love fries, but am picky about them. Obviously I'm not a "foodie", but I like really good down to earth food. We would absolutely go back, and that says a lot. If you are in Portsmouth and you are looking for a nice lunch and a FABULOUS water view, I would definitely check it out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“First time visit but not our last!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was the first time we experienced The River House, even though we've recommended it to our guest at the 1810 Pickering House B&B. It lived up to all of the reviews we've heard from everyone else! We selected items from the Restaurant Week menu, starting with the award winning clam chowder. It was great -- loads of clams and gluten free. I had steak frites and Steve had fish tacos. Both were excellent. Fish tacos aren't on the regular menu but I think we should start a campaign to get that changed. The meal ended with pecan pie and ice cream. The Manager, Ericka, checked in on all of the guests and all of the wait staff helped out. It was a very pleasant way to end the weekend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York
1 review
“Lunch on a cold November afternoon ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The atmosphere was great. A nice little place with a view of the water. The staff was great. Food was great as well, a town with 100 food choices it's to know which one to visit. I'll be back here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great seafood chowder”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This restaurant is nicely situated in the historic old part of Portsmouth, with upper and lower decks right on the harbor. It was a cold day in November, so sitting outside wasn't an option, but sitting in the downstairs bar, right next to the window, gave us a great view of the tug boats..this is definitely still a working port which is nice to see.

Their seafood chowder has won awards, and it was tasty, brimming with lobster, fish, clams and maybe even some crab. Accompanied by a Caesar salad, it made a satisfying lunch. Would love to come back in season, and enjoy the outdoor decks.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The River House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The River House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The River House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.