We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The River House Restaurant

The River House Restaurant
53 Bow St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3819
+1 603-431-2600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 189 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: $11 - $24
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar, Fish & Chips, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The River House is located along the scenic Piscataqua River. We offer indoor seating and a variety of outdoor seating including a cocktail deck, all with excellent views of Portsmouth's busy waterway. Our menu includes of a variety of classic dishes from land and sea including our award winning seafood chowder. Our scenic views, friendly service and local cuisine are a "Cant Miss" for Portsmouth, NH.
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stopped in Portsmouth on the way up North. Several shop owners in town said we had to try the River House, which was waterfront and had the seafood we where looking for.

Chowder was the best I ever had and my wife had the fried clams which was a big order and where excellent!

My server was busy so they lose one star for staffing, but overall I will definitely be back!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    142
    59
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“The BEST Mussels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I can not find a better place than The River House to have mussels...ABSOLUTELY to BEST!!! And the view regardless of the season is breathtaking!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Try the mulled cider!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We hit Portsmouth right after the temperature dropped 30 degrees. Brrr! Found the River House and their mulled cider was just what the dr ordered for an excellent warm up! Seafood chowder was yummy as well.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Poor excuse for seafood - from a New England native”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We picked this mainly because of the location. Yes, nice deck location but this is a poor excuse for seafood. We ordered two meals, fish sandwick and shrip. Both were very mediocre. They both can be beat by a mile at Newick's for far less money, and many other places in cities nearby. If you want to pay for "being in Portsmouth" on the water there instead of getting really good seafood right off the dock at Newick's or in another city, go ahead. But I won't waste my time and money again. I was very disappointed and found it very pricy. And I live in a big city and am accustomed to paying - but then getting something truly memorable - in a good way.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alpharetta, georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Best Chowder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My friend and I stopped into the River House for dinner and I ordered the seafood chowder as it was highly recommended and they were right! It was the best seafood chowder I've ever had. Could not believe it. Nice pieces of shrimp in it too. You have to get this if you go to River House. Casual place for dining with family.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The River House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The River House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The River House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.