We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Portsmouth, New Hampshire and area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth to your Saves list
Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Market Street, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
ohio
1 review
“Loved Portsmouth, New Hampshire and area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

In August I flew from Ohio to Maine to visit my sister. This year we decided to spend a couple of days in the Portsmouth, New Hampshire area. We made the Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel our home away from home, it is a beautiful facility. Our hotel room was very comfortable and the beds were like sleeping on a cloud. The hotel staff was friendly and made us feel like welcomed guest. The restaurant was excellent. The hotel is convenient to downtown Portsmouth but you still have the ease of getting in and out of town.

Karen Harris

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    224
    126
    41
    26
See reviews for
174
262
25
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tarrytown NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

I would recommend this Sheraton. My wife and I made our Honeymoon around this area and spent 3 days at this Sheraton. The staff was friendly and they provided us with wonderful service. There was never a time where we needed anything. We often asked for recommendations and all were great. We are both frequent travelers, and we like the Starwood hotels, but it was the friendly local staff that provided it's pure New England Charm! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Harbor Noise
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

I recently stayed at the Sheraton Harborside and must say it is the first time I have been disappointed in a Starwood hotel. This hotel is showing signs of wear and tear, our bathroom was outdated, our ceiling had some water damage, pool area was just OK. Views of the river are OK, but obstructed by a big salt pile. Starwood lists it as a Category 4 but it isn't; in my opinion they boost that number for wedding and conference bookings. On the bright side, the staff was great, the lobby/bar/restaurtant was good and it is convenient to Downtown Portsmouth which is a great walking city. But this hotel wasn't worth the $300 a night they charged.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooksett NH
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

My wife and I wanted to celebrate our 29th wedding anniversary on the seacoast. We chose the Sheraton Harborside Hotel as our destination. When I booked the room, I happened to mention to the desk clerk that we wanted a scenic, comfortable room to celebrate this occasion. When we arrived to the hotel, we were greeted by the desk clerk with a smile and a "Happy Anniversary" greeting! (this was booked a month in advance)
If that wasn't enough, the entire staff seemed to know us like we were part of their family, from the bellhop to the waitstaff and everyone we had contact with. It was truly amazing. We then proceded to our room, and not more than 10 minutes later, there's a knock at our door? A plate of cheese and crackers, grapes ect from the manager with a signed "congratulations" note! My wife and I thought they had mixed us up with another party that was staying there. This continued throughout our weekend stay. We truly felt, not only welcomed, but honored being a guest there. We can truthfully say, that we will be back, maybe not on a special occasion, but sure to be treated the same way. It was awesome, from the ambiance, the staff, the food and the whole experience. What a ride!!! .....Thanks to all of you for making our day special in so many ways. We highly recommend the harborside on any occasion.

  • Liked — treated like royalty
  • Disliked — nothing, it was great!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2008

We had the pleasure of enjoying a wonderful weekend in Portsmouth at the Sheraton Hotel. When we arrived, we were pleasantly greeted and offered assistance with our luggage and parking the car. At the front desk I was greeted pleasantly again by the Front Desk Manager and employee at the desk as I checked in. We carried on towards my room and it was spacious as well as perfectly clean and neat. As a bonus, there was a nice view overlooking the water. The Dining Room ambiance was delightful, we loved the Live Piano! The Service was top notch, efficient, and the food was perfect. After our meal in the Restaurant, we ordered dessert through Room Service. The Room Service employee impressed us when we called down and were greeted over the phone by name!

Throughout the weekend, each staff member we encountered was outstanding and unbelievably friendly. We’re looking forward to our next trip to Portsmouth and will be faithful to the Sheraton!

  • Liked — The excellent service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

My stay at the Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel was more than amazing! Nevermind the hotel being in the beautiful/fun town of Portsmouth NH, the hotel's location is steps away from downtown.The hotel itself is BEAUTIFUL, which came along with such a warm, comforting, happy feel from the second you walk in the doors. The staff is extremely kind, caring, accommodating, and there for you-- their first priority is YOU, the guest. The food was delicious for both my dining experiences at breakfast and dinner, at both their ocean view inside restaurant as well as their newly added outside patio option called, 'The Edge', with again, excellent service. I would recommend staying at the Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel to anyone!

  • Liked — The Hotel & Staff & Location!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

Maybe I'm spoiled having stayed at the Sheraton downtown in Montreal - perhaps my expectaions were just a bit too high, but this seemingly new hotel already has a beat up appearance and very little soul. Staff were helpful enough, the room was cookie cutter and acceptable, but for $200 a night in a small town like Portsmouth I guess I'm expecting great experiences, great views and to be wowed.

Acceptable if it is all that there is, but not up to the Sheraton standard IMO.

  • Liked — wi-fi worked well. Brownies at check in.
  • Disliked — The view.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth

Address: 250 Market Street, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portsmouth Harborside Hotel is near the University of New Hampshire, shopping, dining, recreation and museums. Our accommodation has 13,000 square feet of event space for your next meeting or wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Portsmouth
Portsmouth Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.