We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newer Hotel, Older Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth to your Saves list
Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Market Street, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Hudson, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Newer Hotel, Older Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Just because Portsmouth is an old seaport doesn't mean you have to stay in an old place. We enjoyed the classic red brick design combined with the superb Starwood staff. As a smaller chain than H or M, these guys tend to go above and beyond - - without having to get permission from some far off corporate office. Thus, a very small upcharge to club level, two floors up with twice the view, and utter pampering in the club lounge. We got a rate with full breakfast (and they were fine with letting us enjoy it in our room with the fabulous view), so we
gave them a break and got our coffee and pastry 2 doors down in the previously mentioned lounge. Location? Twenty paces from the hotel and we entered the old shopping district. Twenty meters from the hotel and we were back on I-95. Location. location, location. Comfort, comfort, comfort - - my wife woke up without a sore back - - a small miracle. Best beds around.

Room Tip: best rooms are upper floors on harbor side but harbor views can also be had from other side of hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear 4-star-traveler1952,

Thank you so much. We are so pleased to hear what a great stay you had while with us. We hope to see you again soon and wish you a very happy New Year.

Warm Regards,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    224
    126
    41
    26
See reviews for
173
262
25
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We just returned from an overnight stay, our first in Portsmouth. Our room was clean, beds were comfortable, and the common areas of the hotel were clean, modern and nightly decorated for the holidays. However, noise was an issue during our stay. For some reason, any noise in the hallways goes right through the doors. Also, there is a lack of soundproofing between bathrooms, so if someone decides to take a shower at 1:30 in the morning (as one of our neighbors apparently did), the sound travels into the adjoining room. Unfortunately the noise was a significant enough factor that I don't believe we'll be returning, which is too bad, as the location is certainly convenient.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Christoper,

We are certainly sad to hear that your otherwise excellent trip was brought down by noise. While we do our very best to ensure a peaceful night's sleep, we are sorry to hear this didn't happen in your case. We will certainly see if there is anything we can do to address this concern and hope we'll have another chance to welcome you in the future.

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laconia, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The day of my reservation I'd received a phone call from Micah Craft, the Guest Service Agent, who confirmed my reservation and asked if there was any special requests. He left the phone number of the hotel and his cell phone as well. When we arrived we got a great welcoming by the valet men and felt like the red carpet was rolled out when we'd checked in. The Sheraton Harborside is the reason we now have Gold status. The people there including Vivian who is in the club lounge, really go to the extreme to make our stay a memorable one!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Deb,

We are so pleased to hear it! Thanks a million for sharing and recognizing our team. We'll look forward to your next visit.

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Maine
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Last Christmas we stayed at one of the Ports of Call rooms at this Hotel. It was a little dated, yes, but the suite was huge with full dining, living room and kitchen. An office nook, balcony and gas fireplace. We had such a wonderful time we decided to go again this year. We still had a good time but the room was much smaller with a totally different layout. The t.v. in the living room would not receive cable signal. Disappointing because we took our own food and had planned to stay in, sit around the fireplace and eat while watching Christmas specials and the parade. This room was right across from the elevator and was noisy. Also it is in serious need of an update. We won't be returning next year. There are so many places to choose from. These folks are not keeping up with their competition. Also there was no rate difference for the smaller room...there definitely should have been.
My suggestion would be if you decide to say in one of these rooms ask for the 1100 sq ft layout.

Room Tip: As for the larger Port of Call room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Rhonda,

Thank you so much for your candid feedback. We are truly sorry to hear that we fell short on this particular visit and would love to discuss further. If you would be willing, please reach out to Suzanne at sroberge@sheratonportsmouth.com so that we can look into this visit in more detail.

We assure you that we strive to provide an excellent experience on every visit and hope to have another chance to welcome you.

Warm Regards,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

My husband and I spent a get away weekend here the weekend of 12/13-15 2013. Not only was the room clean and roomy but we had asked for a view and we got a view - I mean a nice view! The staff was exceptional; always friendly and helpful - not forced at all, very genuine! They always greeted you and ask if you needed anything, really great!

What really put them over the top was Sunday morning trying to checkout. Portsmouth had just gotten about 14" of snow and some of the staff couldn't make it in. It was a little chaotic as people were trying to leave at the same time (there had been several groups staying for parties and weddings). There wasn't enough help for the valet service or for checking out and helping with luggage. The staff was performing double duty and they did it happily!! No complaining!

I will give a shout out to the Guest Service Agent on duty that morning Micah Craft - he was the best! I can see why he was appointed as Guest Service Agent! He got right in there and helped people with their luggage, went to people's rooms and loaded up the carts, you name it, he did it AND he was so friendly, smiling and gracious the whole time!!

Can't say enough about the experience! I'd go again in a minute, recommend it in a minute, even with a pending blizzard!!

Room Tip: If you are a SPG traveler and you are on the club floor, be careful of room 525 and those in the gen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear 5650traveler,

We can't thank you enough for sharing this experience. Thank you for taking the time to recognize our team. We are very proud of them and appreciate your kind words. We hope to see you back again soon (blizzard free!)

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua,N.H.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We arrived without a reservation to find all but 2 rooms taken. The room we really wanted with a king sized bed was over the ballroom. The desk clerk discouraged us from taking that because there was a military ball there that night and it would be hard to sleep with that noise below us. He gave us the only remaining room, a nice corner room for the same price, and did all he could to accommodate our needs.Breakfast was ample though not well waite staffed. It was fun watching the activity in the harbor-Ships unloading salt and trucks taking it away to be used for the coming winter.--the noise of a tugboat in the distance. Great location for shopping and touring a charming New England seaport.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Priscilla,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope with the recommendation of our front desk staff you had a restful night despite the room not being your first choice.

We hope you will visit us again soon.

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Spent the night for a wedding and had a pleasant stay. We arrived early because the wedding was at 3:00 which is the same time as check-in. Early check-in could not be guaranteed, but when we arrived and asked to do so the staff didn't even blink and proceeded to check us in as quickly as one could want. The clerk was as nice and polite as could be. The same went for check-out. The room was very nice. The breakfast buffet left a bit to be desired. It was not crowded at all. Most food items being heated weren't that hot. The eggs were not very good, nor was the french toast and the coffee was warm and that took a while to get a new one which was a bit warmer. We only ate there for convenience of being in the hotel. For the price we paid for breakfast we would have fared better in town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear gringomike,

Thank you so much for your comments. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your feedback. We have shared your breakfast comments with our Chef and appreciate the chance to improve the breakfast experience moving forward.

Have a happy New Year!

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth

Address: 250 Market Street, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portsmouth Harborside Hotel is near the University of New Hampshire, shopping, dining, recreation and museums. Our accommodation has 13,000 square feet of event space for your next meeting or wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Portsmouth
Portsmouth Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.