We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vivian!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth to your Saves list
Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Market Street, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Vivian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed on the Club floor. Fairly standard fare for a nice hotel...until Sunday morning with Vivian in the Club Level Lounge. She actually paid attention to, and took care of everyone who walked in the room.

Made it very worth being on the Club floor.

Seems like she's an institution there. Everyone at this hotel smiles at you...so hard to stand out in this crowd. She did.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear lmnh,

Thanks so much! Vivian is certainly one of the best. We're glad you had a chance to connect with her and we hope to see you back soon.

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    224
    126
    41
    26
See reviews for
174
262
25
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I experienced superior service while at this hotel. The location is superb - within walking distance to everything in Portsmouth. I highly recommend this property to anyone visiting the area. Everyone on property - from the servers, the front office, housekeeping, and banquets all went above and beyond to ask and ensure that all my needs were met, before waiting for me to seek them out. Very well done.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Michele C,

Thank you very much. We're glad to hear that your stay was so enjoyable and are thrilled our team made such a great impression. Thank you for sharing!

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

WOW. It has been so long since I have visited the Sheraton Harborside. They did a major upgrade of their surroundings since 2003! The place is beautiful!!! Everything was in great shape, the hotel looks regal and the staff (what little we encountered) were friendly and professional (as they always have been in the past). I offhandedly commented to my husband something about having it been a while since we had been there and the desk agent graciously said "welcome back" - it was a nice gesture. The room that we were upgraded to on the club level was perfect (THANK YOU) and the staff woman in the club lounge at breakfast was attentive and caring. Although I did not have time to actually use it, the work-out room looked great... really professional!!! I was sad I hadn't seen it sooner so I could try out all the weight equipment. Top notch experience. I am so glad we went, and I would choose The Sheraton Harborside again, the distance from downtown is minimal (easy walking distance), and the accommodations superior. My first choice of the many choices in Portsmouth.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Kim G,

Thank you so much! We're glad you noticed the improvements we have been making to the property- more to come!

Visit us again soon.

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My husband and I like to get away to Portsmouth for the weekend. Much to do there. Wonderful shops and restaurants. When we do, we stat at the Sheraton Harborside.. It is located in walking distance to everything you would want to do. It is beautifully furnished. The staff always helpful. But most of all reasonably priced. On one visit we were celebrating our anniversary.. When we came back to our room after lunch, there was a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us, compliments of the management.. I highly recommend this hotel when you are in Portsmouth.

Room Tip: There are some views of the harbor you can request....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Ruth D,

Happy anniversary and thank you for spending it with us. We certainly appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again very soon.

With Warmth,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I frequently travel on business, and like the Sheraton proprieties, such as The Westin, Waltham MA. The expectation for this property was a disappointment. The lobby was nice, but the rooms were small and needed that face lift, other reviewers have mentioned in their own reviews. The location is great, being in the downtown area, but there is an unsafe open lot, with not much lighting. The Residence Inn across the street sign lite it up.
The elevator was slow, and there were Glade plug ins in the hallways, that were tacky. I also went down to the restaurant, and asked to be seated. The hostess, bluntly stated they were closing in 15 minutes, and she recommend the bar. I chose the restaurant, but felt they were rushing me to get out. This service was rude. I usually get top notch service from Sheraton properties, but probably won't be back. I may try the Hilton Garden Inn, or The Residence Inn next time. There are many options for hotels, that will give you a better experience.

Room Tip: Ask if there are any events that are happening, and try to get a room away from it, to avoid a sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear bo mi y,

We are truly sorry that you did not have an exceptional experience with us. It surely is not to our standards to have a guest feel the service level they encountered was below expectation and this issue has been addressed with our team.

We are continuously undergoing improvements to better the guest experience and hope to have another opportunity to welcome you.

Thank you for your feedback.

With Warmth,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have stayed at the Sheraton Portsmouth Hotel for a weekend visiting family. Hotel is beautiful & walking distance to a town. Rooms are very comfortable with all the amenities; the Sheraton beds are so comfortable – we did not want to get up to start our day. So cozy! As we were wondering in the hotel lobby to think of things to do or restaurants to eat we met Sandra who went out of her way to introduce us to this beautiful town & make suggestions for dinner. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant per her suggestion & the food was amazing! I never thought hotel restaurant can be this good. She got us great table by the window – we got to experience the real working harbor. Wow! We will definitely stay at this hotel every time we’ll return for a visit; The staff is very friendly & hotel is very accommodating!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Sonata S,

Thank you so much! We are very glad to hear you enjoyed it.

Warmly,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vail, CO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

although we stayed there for 2 nights on an extremely cold weekend in January, we were able to enjoy our stay. With no king beds available, we opted for the town home for a very reduced rate. They say it is great for families which it is.(there were only 2 of us, and we only used the top floor) It's huge, and it is like renting a condo. There was not enough hot water for 2 showers which was a big disappointment. Plenty of space. good light, and a small river view through a small space. Although, it is tired looking. Bathrooms could use a new paint job and tub could use some new sealant. Curtains in room didn't work, and look shabby. I know this Hotel has been around for a long time, and now they have competitors around the corner. If they want to stay the "best" and attract the top customers, I recommend an overhaul. It just looks a bit tired overall. Front desk folks were nice, we did not eat in the hotel nor use the lounge. Overall it was fine, but i'm going to try the other hotels in town to see how they compare as they are newer...

Room Tip: If you really want a king bed - book well in advance. If you really want a "waterview" kn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Goreranger,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We can certainly understand your frustration with a townhouse when you had been hoping for a room in the main building. We will certainly use your feedback to improve the issues you alerted us to.

We continue to work on hotel improvements and your feedback is crucial for us. We hope we can convince you to return to Sheraton Portsmouth. Please feel free to reach out to us directly: socialmedia@sheratonportsmouth.com if you would like to discuss further.

With Warmth,
Sheraton Portsmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth

Address: 250 Market Street, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portsmouth Harborside Hotel is near the University of New Hampshire, shopping, dining, recreation and museums. Our accommodation has 13,000 square feet of event space for your next meeting or wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Portsmouth
Portsmouth Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.