We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old New England charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth to your Saves list
Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Market Street, Portsmouth, NH 03801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Old New England charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This Hotel provided a very nice romantic getaway for my wife and I.
The hotel itself is very clean and well kept, Victorian plush without being ostentatious. The location is literally steps from the downtown shopping and dining area, but it feels much more separated.
The restaurant and cozy upstairs bar quite exceeded expectations. The menu gives a creative nod to comfort food. After a delicious quick meal at check-in, we were left looking forward to breakfast the next day. Our server at both meals, Marcia, was a delight. She was efficient and courteous, there when we needed and her and not there when we didn't. A very nice chat with her at the end of the meal provided us with some great suggestions of alternative activities in the area.
Portsmouth is only about an hour north of Boston, so we will gladly make this our home when we need to slow down for a night or two.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    224
    126
    41
    26
See reviews for
174
262
25
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, ME
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

No extra fee for dog, as other places in Portsmouth charge. Great location!!! We walked everywhere in town. I personally had a great view (rm 318); sorry to hear other people don't like the port view -- it is called "Portsmouth" for a reason . . . .

Clean room, comfy bed. The check-in was great. There was a little bag of doggie poop bags with my dog's name waiting in my room for me! Very nice touch. Total room, including parking across the street, was $199. I think that's a good value for the quality of the room and the location.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed here on 2/18/2012. If you are attracted to the Sheraton "Harborside" don't be. It is not the view you are are thinking of. Hotel is across the street from the Harbor and my room had a view of a gigantic salt pile. The hotel has a overall view of the working docks of the harbor so you will see cranes, piles of sand and salt. Ilse of Shoals Ship sails right from this area also. But I mention this for people that are interested in the view. I'm not so this was not a factor.

Driving in there is a garage underneath and a lot across the street. We parked in the lot across the street. Very short walk. Unless you have a lot of luggage it is easier to park in the lot and just walk to the lobby instead of parking in the lobby lot to check in first. Parking is $10 overnight.

Check in was smooth. Had a King Room for $195 that included tax. No major complaints about the room, flat screen TV, comfortable bed, mini bar, typical size. Hotel was quiet at night, also I was quite a few doors down from the elevator which helps. The one minor complaint was the curtains. The curtains that closed all the way were very light and see through. The heavier curtains that close at most hotels don't here. They are there for looks and line the edge of the window. Maybe I missed something here, operator error? But my friends said the same thing about their room. Since are view was a salt pile from the 3rd floor no one could really look in. But when the sun comes up there is really no way to keep the room dark.

Location is great. You are one block away from downtown, 5 minutes tops and you are at the Portsmouth Brewery area.

Bar at hotel is very small. Located on 2nd floor and overlooks harbor. Maybe seats 25-30 people max. Typical drink cost you see at major hotels,

Restaurant on site is a open concept that looks into the lobby. Ate dinner here and breakfast. Food was really good at both meals. Area looks like it could seat around 50 guests. However if you are looking for a quick meal this is not the place. Service is SLOW. Over an hour from the time we were seated/ordered before our meais arrived for dinner and at least 45 minutes at breakfast.

I like a hotel with a good restaurant and bar and this was a little bit of a black mark but still not enough to keep it from a 4 out of 5 range. Would go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Stayed here on business - good downtown location, easy to walk to downtown restaurants and stores. Fairly easy to find. Front desk staff were very helpful and check in/check out was quick and easy. I asked to switch to a different room type at check in. My request was accommodated and there were no problems. Nice fitness room as well as computer area. No charge for internet access in rooms. I was slightly disappointed with the room service breakfast, but it did arrive right on time. There was a $10 parking fee - I don't generally have a car to park when I travel, so don't know how that compares to other similar size places. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Was in Portsmouth for the weekend recently with my wife and we stayed at the Sheraton Harborside. The hotel is ideally located right on Market Street and just a short walk to the downtown shops and restaurants. The hotel lobby and common areas are beautiful with plenty of glass looking out over the harbor. We stayed on the top floor which was a restricted, club level with a club lounge that served a nice warm, full breakfast with eggs, sausages, fruit, toast, juice, etc. along with newspapers and flat screens. The room had a very comfotable king sized bed and nice amenities. The rooms were not that spacious but adequate in size for 2 people.

The hotel had a very convenient underground parking garage and even though they charged $15 to park it was easy to get in and out of and good for bad weather. Decent sized indoor pool and good sized exercise room with plenty of function rooms make this a good choice for families, weddings, and business meetings as well.

I recommend staying at this hotel!

Room Tip: Spend a couple of extra bucks for the top floor club level rooms, it was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Ok location, clean rooms, etc etc. One desk princess, clearly taken with herself, when asked the single most challenging question of that day..."How much does the soda pop vending macjine cost" stared at me and in a most self affected tone---"I'd have no idea"---how plebian of me! Oh the responses at the tip of the tongue but she was 20-22, obviously ---and,well, her career had apparently acme'd.

Other staff very nice, and the parking is convenient. If one has to travel to Portsmouth, this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Dear Patrick,

Thank you very much for taking time to provide us with feedback from your recent stay. We share this feedback with our department heads in order to continually improve our service. The question you asked regarding the cost of our vending machine beverages deserved a much more professional response and at the very least a warmer one. We will certainly address this with our front desk team.

That being said we are very glad that overall you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warmest Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

My company held our annual 2-day Sales kick off meeting in January 2012 at the Sheraton Portsmouth Harbor Hotel in Portsmouth, NH which included 120 + attendees. We have used other Hotels in the area for this annual meeting, but I must tell you that the Sheraton Portsmouth was by far, The Best meeting experience and hotel I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with. Every detail was the way I asked for it if not better, the entire staff was the best; very pleasant and professional, and the food was superior! And to top it off, the hotel was classy, beautiful, clean cozy hotel rooms and their location is perfectly located in historical NH Seacoast. They made me look great and my meeting was a great success! Thank you Sheraton for a Superb Job! We will be back! Peggy

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_Portsmouth, Manager at Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Thank you so much Peggy! We enjoyed hosting your meeting here and can't wait to welcome you back. Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience here.

Warmly,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth

Address: 250 Market Street, Portsmouth, NH 03801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portsmouth Harborside Hotel is near the University of New Hampshire, shopping, dining, recreation and museums. Our accommodation has 13,000 square feet of event space for your next meeting or wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Portsmouth
Portsmouth Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Harborside Hotel Portsmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.