We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YOU CAN FEEL THE LOVE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martin Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portsmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Martin Hill Inn
Save
You added Martin Hill Inn to your Saves list
404 Islington St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4208   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
VINEYARD HAVEN,MA.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“YOU CAN FEEL THE LOVE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We try to take long weekends to unwind ; and more often than not find ourselves in the very pedestrian friendly town of Portsmouth New Hampshire. On this particular trip we booked at the MARTIN HILL B&B.. After a long drive we felt like we had arrived at someones well loved home. The off -street parking led us to a pleasant serpentine walkway through a large garden to the main house. We where greeted and shown to a lovely room with a brass bed. All of this in the heart of a lively city which on this weekend was celebrating Christmas. You truly feel like you are on a quite island within a ten minute walk to some of the finest restaurants/shops in New England. The breakfast menu is outstanding and the owner /staff feel like family.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Dashing Wave" and where very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacoastinn, Owner at Martin Hill Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing you experience at the Inn with us. We are glad that the welcoming and homey, but not intrusive, atmosphere we strive for comes through. We hope to set the tone, but really it is our wonderful guests that make the breakfast table such a fun place to be in the morning. Thank you to you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    42
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
8
100
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barre, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the inn this weekend. The room was comfy and on a quiet side street. Breakfast was a highlight with home-cooked food and the company of other guests. We enjoyed tea and cake in the afternoon and hot chocolate in the evening. There was a lovely garden and off-street parking. Margot went out of her way to make sure we all had directions or dinner reservations or whatever we needed for the day. It will certainly be out first choice on another visit.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We travel with friends every year for an impromptu getaway. This year we headed to Portsmouth and hit on the Martin Hill Inn. Located within easy walking distance to the downtown restaurants we found this inn to be everything we needed.

We had the king room with the porch so we were able to gather there each night with our friends to plan out our evening restaurant choices and next day's adventures.

Margot, Erika and the housekeeper all made out stay very enjoyable!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacoastinn, Owner at Martin Hill Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about the Inn. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here and the time you had with your friends. The Noonday room is really a fun place to gather with friends. We hope to host your next visit to Portsmouth very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Martin Hill Inn. The room was nice and clean. Breakfast was good. I loved the pumpkin chocolate chip muffins. Also loved the chocolate chip cookies! The innkeeper was very helpful in giving us information on things to see in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacoastinn, Owner at Martin Hill Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
We are pleased that you had a good time staying at the Inn. We would be happy to share our recipe for Pumpkin Chocolate Chip muffins if you want it. They really are yummy! Let us know when you plan your next visit and we'll put them on the menu!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Martin Hill Inn is the perfect place to just relax. Everything was as it should be. Innkeeper very friendly, rooms clean, location is perfect close to where I wanted to be. Really enjoyed myself and the time spent with my husband. Saw lots of interesting historical sites. Breakfast was tasty and homemade. Will go back.

Room Tip: My room was the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacoastinn, Owner at Martin Hill Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and the time you had to reconnect with each other. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Martin Hill Inn is a really nice bed and breakfast. You only walk 10 minutes to the town centre (which is really beautiful- go to the strawberry fields!). The house is old fashioned, cozy and sweet. Our room was in a seperate building, next to the main house. The room was big with a nice bathroom- but the steeps to the room where really arduous with our two big bags. The breakfast was very nice: it is freshly made for you and you get a two-course-menue.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

From the very positive reports my views may be a minority. For me this accommodation was a disappointment and my husband hated it. We are used to small interesting bed and breakfast accommodation coming from England but we found this not to our taste. Our room in the old house upstairs was decorated in the floral tradition, what my husband could not get over was the poor condition of the ceiling, we visited manynhorstical houses and their ceilings were in better repair. The bathroom needed a serious modernisation. My husbands dietary needs were well accommodated, but the breakfast was not to my taste. The public areas were very small and were also the breakfast area which was cosy to say the least. There was no choice and mousse and quiche would not be my choice for breakfast. However the cake was fab. I thought this accommodation was over priced for what it offered we did stay in other b and b's in New England this was not to our taste.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacoastinn, Owner at Martin Hill Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for writing about your experience at the Inn. I appreciate that you took the time and expressed that some things were just not your taste. B&B's are generally individually decorated so room styles vary even within a B&B. The room you stayed in has one of two remaining original lathe and plaster ceilings. These ceilings have a character of their own developed over years of shifting and small cracks that appear from time to time. Their individuality is enhanced by the various patches that go with the repairs and sometimes show through the paint. Last year, we torn down the ceiling in the adjoining room - a four day project. Taking a good look at the ceiling in your room, I agree that it should have been freshly painted this spring (a three day project) before the busy season began, but we just did not have time and scheduled it instead for this winter. Clearly that was a mistake on my part.

I am happy that your husband's dietary needs were fulfilled, but equally sorry that you were disappointed in your own meal. Future guests should know that we post the breakfast menu for the following day each afternoon so that you can tell us if there is anything you just do not want to eat. We can make substitutions if needed. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Martin Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin Hill Inn

Address: 404 Islington St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4208
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Martin Hill Inn provides traditional New England Hospitality in the heart of vibrant Portsmouth, NH. There are two buildings dating from the early 1800's with a large shade garden connecting the property to an off-street parking area for our guests. The Inn has a total of 7 bedrooms in the two buildings. We serve a full complimentary breakfast. Favorite menu items include Banana-Walnut muffins, Orange Cardamom Baked Pears, Baked Ham and Swiss Omelets, Cornmeal waffles with Strawberry sauce and traditional Blueberry pancakes with real 100% maple syrup. The Inn is located a 10-15 minute walk to downtown Portsmouth's shops, restaurants, theaters and museums. We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martin Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.