We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, cozy location with attentive innkeepers.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Federal House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Federal House Inn
Save
You added Federal House Inn to your Saves list
#27 Route 25, Plymouth, NH 03264   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Plymouth B&B and Inns
1 review
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Amazing, cozy location with attentive innkeepers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011 via mobile

The Federal House Inn is truly a lovely getaway tucked away in a scenic yet convenient location. Cassie and Kevin, the inn's new owners, went above and beyond in terms of attention to our needs. We were in the area for an interview, and the inn's location was an ideal point for exploring central NH. It was so nice to wake up to a filling New England breakfast before our job interviews and to come "home" to wine, cheese, and friendly conversation. After we went out for dinner, Kevin and Cassie would put out cookies for latenight snacks. We stayed in the John Adams Suite, which was clean, quiet, and intimate. The garden area was a nice spot for a respite after a long day's exploring, and the hot tub looked very clean and inviting (although we didn't use it because we stayed during a heat wave). If you're looking for friendliness and comfort in a beautifully restored New England home, choose the Federal House Inn. I assure you that you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
56
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Connecticut
2 reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Innkeeper Kevin treated us royally from the moment we arrived until we drove away four days later. He carried our luggage, saw that we were well satisfied with our accommodations and served the most delicious gourmet breakfasts as well as wine or soda or beer and cheese prior to our heading out for the evening. Fresh baked cookies and complimentary beverages were available in the immaculate, beautifully decorated public rooms where we enjoyed the selection of reading materials, the wonderful antiques; even a piano,so that we never availed ourselves of the television or wifi! Our room was absolutely elegant with a fireplace (every room in this genuine oldie has a fireplace), lovely paintings and decorations, a spotless,well appointed full private bath and the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. All that plus a large, comfortable outdoor hot tub for lounging in while enjoying the beautiful two acre backyard. Kevin was the perfect host for a perfect getaway. We'll be back as often as we can!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We enjoyed our stay because of the warm hospitality of the new owners and gracious hosts. We were in the John Adams Suite, which has a nice view of the back garden and cools quickly in hot summer with a solid air conditioner. Breakfasts were lovely. Though we didn't come back in time for afternoon wine and cheese, it's a nice treat for those taking it easy and reading a book on the back porch, or relaxing in your room. We were happy to enjoy resident pastry chef Meredith's baked treats, such as oatmeal raisin cookies, or a crisp on the outside and moist on the inside chocolate chip.

In fall, Federal House Inn will make a cozy retreat for leaf peepers. Overall: Great hosts; clean comfortable rooms; Excellent location central to all of the nature New Hampshire offers year round. TIP: Be sure to drive to Hanover, NH for the best gelato in North America at Morano Gelato.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

What a fabulous stay for our son's college graduation. Wish we had found this wonderful inn 4 years ago!!! Warm and inviting with a delicious full breakfast, afternoon beer/wine and cheese and even Port for the evening. The pictures on the internet do not do the rooms justice, they are really lovely in person with very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebago, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

This was our first time staying in a bed and breakfast. We were looking for something quiet and relaxing to celebrate our anniversary. There are 5 guest rooms in this 3 story house. The house has so much character and history in every room. We stayed in the John Adams room. We had a private bath in our room, and a great view of the back yard. The bed was so comfortable! The house is on a main road, but we heard no traffic at all. There was a book on the bed with the history of the house and a journal for guests to leave their comments.
Andrea, the innkeeper, was so welcoming. She cooked us a wonderful breakfast the next morning. The food was so delicious! She was great about dietary requests. Also each afternoon, there were cheese and crackers served with wine.
We loved the hot tub right out the back door. They provide you with plush bathrobes in your room, so it was like having the comfort of being at home. We had so much privacy while we were there, even with it being a bed and breakfast.
Our only regret was that we didn't book for longer. We plan to go back next year for our anniversary. I would highly recommend The Federal House Inn to anyone that is looking for a romantic, relaxing time away with all the comforts of home.

Room Tip: Not all the rooms have bathrooms right in them.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

I have stayed at bed and breakfasts from Nova Scotia, to Carmel, California. I always look for cleanliness, comfort, and the little extras that make me feel welcome. The Federal offers them all and some surprises! The house itself is lovely, every corner was immaculate and well decorated. The chocolate on our pillows with the menu selection for breakfast, and the weather report gave us something to look forward to in the morning. The breakfast was filling and superb. There were refreshments in the dining room when we checked in and a friendly innkeeper to greet us. We were visiting Plymouth State University and ran into another parent who had stayed in the local hotel. They paid a bit less, but then had to go out for breakfast. When we shared our experience, they said, "Don't tell my daughter, she'll be so mad." She ended up telling her about the B&B we'd found. She looked at her mom and calmly but greenly said, "You failed." Don't make her mistake. Stay at the Federal House Inn. You will be so pleased.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

Possibly the most luxurious bed I've ever slept in, certainly the thickest matress - stools are provided just so you can climb into the wonderfully fine linen. We didn't even notice the road outside. Breakfasts were super, with generous between-meal "extras" - cheese & wine, tea & cookies, but to be candid give the post-prandial "port" a miss. The hot tub was a fine way to study the stars. Possibly overdone on the spicy air fragrances, but overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Federal House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Federal House Inn

Address: #27 Route 25, Plymouth, NH 03264
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Plymouth
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1835 Historic Bed and Breakfast on the border between the Lakes and White Mountains Regions of New Hampshire. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Federal House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.