We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality in charming setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Common Man Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Common Man Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Common Man Inn & Spa
231 Main Street, Plymouth, NH 03264   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Plymouth
New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hospitality in charming setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

I spent several days at the Inn with family members. We had a variety of rooms, from the deluxe Squam with Andirondack interior design (and Christmas Tree, it was the holiday), to a pet friendly room with flat screen and gas fireplace, to a double bedded unit like a typical hotel (but nicer) and a cozy third floor room with exposed beams. The pet friendly room had it's own access to the exterior (maybe good for smokers, too) and the Squam room was a work of art with an interior screen door, timber bed and lots of other details. Even though the weather was bad a few days there was plenty to do at the inn with a GREAT spa, indoor pool and sauna. On site restaurant is a fun multilevel environment and we even booked the wine room for private dining one night for our party of ten.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    54
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
53
63
10
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

I recently spent the morning at The Common Man Spa in Plymouth, NH and I immediatley fell in love as soon as I stepped inside. Their waiting room is soothing and relaxing as you wait for your treatment to begin. I was greeted by friendly staff and I appreciated the little things such as a fruit bowl, coffee and tea while I waited. While waiting I noticed a lot of things in the Spa that I didn't know existed. They carry the bareMinerals makeup line, they offer a number of different services such as Yoga, Physical Therapy, Cardio/weight room, and a pool & sauna. Once it came time for my classic massage, I was given a comfy robe flip flops and brought to the women's locker room. The waiting rooms before treatments begin were so relaxing! The decor and overall atmosphere was fabulous! The room I was in for my massage was incredibly peaceful and comfortable. The lights were dimmed, music was playing quietly and warm. My 60-minute massage from head to toe was the best way to de-stress! I couldn't help but doze off. After my massage, I had a pedicure. The number 1 thing I enjoyed was the cleanliness and friendliness of the employees. I was given the pumpkin scrub, and they put the parafin-wax on my hands while I sat and had my toes painted. Overall, my time at The Common Man Spa was terrific and I couldn't have had a better time. Can't wait to revist! LOVED it and I didn't even have to stay at the Inn to enjoy a day at the spa!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

My brother went to Plymouth State and we needed a place to stay when visiting. The Common Man is so charming. Unlike some older inns that are small and noisy, this Inn was made from an old factory (I think), so it has all the modern amenities, with an old inn feel. The rooms have really interesting furniture (not the cheesy generic hotel furniture) and the simple yet real breakfast (not that plastic wrapped crap) was just perfect. We stayed there many times and it was always special. (we have stayed at many nice hotels, and this one ranks as a memorable stay)

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loudon, NH
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

My Fiancee' and I attended a hosted event at the Common Man Inn and Spa on Friday evening 09/25/09. Although we only had to travel from the City of Concord, after reading the reviews posted by prior guests who stayed at the Inn, we decided to try and get a room for the night. I was able to reserve a less expensive room on the third floor and didn't know what to expect regarding quality or size of our accommodations. I arrived a little before 3:00 PM Friday and from that moment, until we left, I could not have been more pleased. The check-in was smooth and pleasant and the rustic ambiance of the Inn was unbelievable. The size of the room was more than ample and very "homey". I have stayed at high rated 4 and 5 star hotels all over the country on business and pleasure trips, and I can honestly say that the accommodations at the Common Man Inn and Spa not only exceeded my expectations, it ranked BETTER than many of the so called "fancy" high ranked national hotel chains. We took the time to roam throughout the Inn and were were very impressed with the decor, pool, sauna and gym. Although we did not have the time to utilize the Spa facilities, when we went there the attending staff was very pleasant and made us feel extremely welcome with a personal tour. We did not have the time or opportunity to dine at Foster's Boiler Room, but the buffet food provided at the event we attended was DELICIOUS. The complimentary breakfast of fresh fruit, yogurt, bagles, muffins, coffee, etc. was also very tasty and filling.
You may be assured that we intend to return again to the Plymouth, NH Common Man Inn & Spa in the future (this winter) for at least a couple days of Rest and Relaxation and will definitely take advantage of ALL the amenities INCLUDING the Spa!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near boston, mass usa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

I brought my elderly mother and 16 year old son to the inn, and all of us had a great time. We stayed in the bunk room, which had two TVs and excellent comfort for all. Beautiful lakes, waterfalls, walks, and mountains are very quick drives from the inn...fishing was great and so was the swimming. The inn has rainy-day indoor swimming and extra spa comforts if the need arises, and the food is excellent in their restaurant. This inn is simply wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Pros: Great midweek deal available. Great county inn with lots of amenities. Great pool ans spa area. Great restaurant. The room was very clean. The kids loved the bunk beds. Just off the highway. Ice cream stand on the property. Good halfway stop between Quebec city and Boston. Free Internet

Cons: Restaurant a litle expensive for supper.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Harbor, NH,
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

I went to the Common Man with my dog here for the night and it was great. They had dog bowls and a dog biscuit for him. The Spa was fantastic - I had a massage and pedicure and both women were very professional and accomplished - the receptionist at the Spa was very good too. If you go to the pool/sauna/hot tub room make sure that you put on the waterfall in the 'rock' hot tub - it is fantastic, a free massage. The only negative thing was a meal from room service (although the appetizer - mussels - were great). The only other negative was the traffic sounds from the highway - but I was in the dog wing which is closest to it - so maybe the rest of the rooms are quieter. If you stay there, go to Anderson's Bakery down on Main Street - wonderful cookies.

Oh yes, p.s - the room was huge and had a (gas) fireplace.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Common Man Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Common Man Inn & Spa

Address: 231 Main Street, Plymouth, NH 03264
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Common Man Inn is a cozy 37 room inn offering spacious yet cozy rooms, available with fireplaces, decks, jacuzzis and cable TV. High speed internet available in all rooms and Wi-Fi access in our lobby. Full service Foster's Boiler Room restaurant on site as well as a full service spa. Event rooms for weddings and meetings, up to 200 guests. Come on Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Common Man Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Common Man Hotel Plymouth
Common Man Inn And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Common Man Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.