We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant accommodating folks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econolodge near Plymouth University

Save Saved
You added Econolodge near Plymouth University to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econolodge near Plymouth University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   304 Main St, Plymouth, NH 03264 (Formerly Plymouth Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Plymouth
Auburn, Maine
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Pleasant accommodating folks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here after a recent concert and were pleasantly surprised.

- It was clean
- Very helpful, Pleasant staff
- Reasonably priced

We got in pretty late, but was still greeted with a pleasant smile and a rundown of the hotel, and breakfast in the morning. We choose not to have the continental breakfast, but instead asked were everyone in town eat. We were given directions to *Annie's Overflow Restaurant", which turned out to be a great place for breakfast. Varied menu, nice local folks, good food and plenty of it.

I also got some great tips and directions to area attractions the next morning, and had a nice chat with the morning clerk.

Room Tip: I don't think there would be a bad room, as far as noise goes, so I have nothing to add, that wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melodygm, Manager at Econolodge near Plymouth University, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
thanks so much for your review. we are only 1.5 mile from the flying monkey, assuming that is the venue. Lot's of Fun. sorry you skipped the breakfast, we do have lots of options: yogurt, bagels, muffins, 2 or 3 kinds of cold ceral, 2 types of juice, fresh fruit and oatmeal. and of course you hot drinks including herbal tea.

if you are ever in the area again, please call us directly for the best rate. have a wonderful day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    15
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
14
16
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dover, New Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My daughter's summer softball team played in Plymouth for the state softball tournament and when we were looking for lodging we booked with Econolodge. Prior to booking several rooms for two nights we had several questions which the staff were very prompt with their responses. We were delighted with the fact that some rooms had full-size refrigerators and most rooms had mini refrigerators as well as microwaves. The staff were very courteous and helpful with suggestions and allowed our group to have a pizza party by the pool which helped to keep costs down for our team. We would recommend this lodging and our group would not hesitate to stay here again should the opportunity arise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melodygm, Manager at Econolodge near Plymouth University, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
thanks so much for the review. glad the sports team was happy. we have plenty of 2 queen bed rooms to offer. i hope you come back next year. thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have been familiar with the hotel on this property for many years as I am a graduate of PSU. While it has gone through many name changes, I had always heard that it was a decent place to stay. So, when I needed a room for a couple of nights and they had availability, I didn't think twice to book it. It is conveniently located within a minute car ride of campus. Outside is well maintained and I was greeted by a very nice young lady when I checked in. My overall first impression was a well kept hotel in need of a little updating. For instance, the carpet in the first floor hallway bunched and buckled under the wheels of my small suitcase. There was no baseboard strip in the hall either (although it looked like it had recently been removed). As an FYI- there is no elevator to the second floor, which was not a problem for me, but if you require one, you might request a first floor room. And while there is a washing machine, a sign on the door indicated it was not working. My room was large, clean and appeared to have been painted within the last few months. It included a king size bed, small couch, coffee table, desk with chair, mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker and an older tube TV. The bathroom appeared to have new floor tile and also looked like it had been recently painted. However, in this well appointed and seemingly well kept room was a lackluster bed cover, not a comforter. Not that a comforter is needed in the summer, but what was there didn't fit the decor and it seemed a little cheap even for a budget hotel. Having experienced "continental breakfast" at many budget hotels, I can say that this one was a little on the weaker side. Some of the other reviewers indicate what is available so I will skip those details. At checkout, the gentlemen was upbeat and very nice. Overall, the staff was very nice, the room was clean and it seemed like there was some updating taking place. If they follow that through I think this will be a really, really nice place. I hope they do because it is in a great location for visitors to the PSU campus. But for my stay, it was just okay.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, be sure to request first floor if you are unable to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melodygm, Manager at Econolodge near Plymouth University, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
thanks for your feedback, we are working on replacing not only the washing machine, but also the carpet, and as you saw we painted most of the guest rooms. we hope you come back to see the process. thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night. The room was very clean and spacious. The king size bed was comfortable and it had a sofa bed also. There was a fridge and microwave. The a/c worked awesome. The night desk clerk and the morning desk clerk were very pleasant and friendly. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melodygm, Manager at Econolodge near Plymouth University, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
thanks for your response, so glad you found us. hope you had a great trip, have a great day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I and our puppy spent two nights here over July 4th weekend. Place was very clean and up to date. Room had fridge and microwave. Free washer and dryer available on second floor. Continental breakfast was bagels, toast, yogurt, cereal, oatmeal, coffee and juice. Coffee, juice, tea was available 24/7 ion lobby. Staff were very friendly and helpful - a shout out to Keith who was on duty most of the time. Interior corridors, no damp motel feel. Close to food and shopping. Will stay her from now on. Only complaint was towels on thin side, would be nice if they were fluffier but not a deal breaker.

Room Tip: ground floor best with dog obviously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melodygm, Manager at Econolodge near Plymouth University, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
thanks for your response, if you decide to stay with us again,call me directly and i can sign you up for choice priviledges, our points reward system. thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camby, IN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We have been on a three week tour of New England and have been looking for places less than $100 per night. Glad we found this! We were going to stay across the street but were not impresses by the cleanliness of the office there. The young lady at the front desk was very nice and helpful. Very polite.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melodygm, Manager at Econolodge near Plymouth University, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
thanks for your feedback, come back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAYVILLE
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in late July of 2012 and found everything about the hotel perfect for the price. It really started with how we were treated at the front desk by Keith. He made us feel welcome and right at home and was polite, professional and friendly. Breakfast was fine--more than adequate. The room was clean and kept up nicely. We decided in Jan 2013 to attend an event in Plymouth the first weekend of May 2013 and did not hesitate to book a room here. Keith and hotel manager Melody--were extremely helpful on the phone and in person once again at the hotel. Our room was once again very clean and fresh. Breakfast was fine. If you are looking for a nice hotel and you aren't a spoiled brat who expects the Taj Mahal for !00 bucks, then this Econolodge should more than satisfy your need for a clean room/ friendly staff/continental breakfast. We'll always stay here for any of our trips to Plymouth

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melodygm, Manager at Econolodge near Plymouth University, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
thanks , hopefully we will see you again soon. have a wonderful day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econolodge near Plymouth University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econolodge near Plymouth University

Address: 304 Main St, Plymouth, NH 03264 (Formerly Plymouth Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econolodge near Plymouth University 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
30 plus rooms, 2 floors, interior corridors, free wifi, continental breakfast, staff on duty 24 hours. approx. 1 mile from downtown plymouth. conveniatly located off exit 26, hwy 93rooms most rooms have been newly renovated, painted! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your Econolodge near Plymouth University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plymouth Hotel Plymouth
Red Roof Inn Plymouth
Plymouth Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econolodge near Plymouth University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.