We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food, fantastic place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Home Hill Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Home Hill Inn to your Saves list
Home Hill Inn
703 River Road, Plainfield, NH 03781   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Plainfield B&B and Inns
Mineral de Pozos
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Off the beaten path, stumble into a foodies paradise. I am visiting some friends who live in nearby Cornish and we went for dinner at Home Hill Inn. Bucolic setting, lush green pastures, horses
Donkeys, gardens traditional white fence and lovely federal style building. Filled with the luminous paintings of Stephen Parish from the Cornish Painters group, the Inn is filled with charming rooms
and dining areas. I admit to having a serious potato chip addiction but I never expected to have a basket of fresh, crisp, delicately salted HOT potato chips served along with the homemade bread basket. Wow! The best! They should start bagging those as Home Hill chips! We ordered
A board of pickled vegetables that was outstanding, jalapeños, dukes, string beans, shallots,
and olives were the perfect balance to the chips. I could have stopped there, but I ordered a Mojito
that had a few sprigs of mint and lime slices and I was able to revive myself from the chip swooning delirium and continue with the meal. The Parisian gnocchi was outstanding as was the fresh green salad with home grown golden beets that were as sweet as sugar and melted in my mouth. The best was for sure saved for last, fresh bing cherry pie with a delectable crust as a base
And a crunchy crumble on top. Served with a dollop of homemade vanilla ice cream, I gorged on,
And rounded off a memorable meal with a lovely cup of African Rooibus tea. This is the type of meal that makes you fall in love with whoever you are with. Bon Appetite indeed!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    14
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
43
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had a very nice room and most-amazing meals; some of the best I've ever eaten. Fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

A bit off the beaten path, this beautiful inn offers relaxation, lovely rooms and great dining. Meagan, a lovely young woman, was so accomodating and helpful to us during our stay. She even gave us her card and cell phone number in case there was anything we needed. We stayed here for 3 nights in a beautiful suite which offered a king sized bed as well as a sitting room. We went hiking up Mt. Ascutney and visited the lovely grounds of Saint-Gaudens. Great breakfast started us off every day and a fabulous dinner was offered each evening. The young chef named Peter (23 years old!) was amazing. One afternoon when we inquired about a good place to get hot chocolate, Meagan offered to have Peter make us some. (it was delicious) If you're looking for a relaxing and romantic getaway , this is it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

3 couples got together for a weekend at this absolutely wonderful B and B. Food beyond expectations- service was wonderful. We felt like members of an extended family- Price very reasonable given the exquisite accomodations and 5 star cooking. Breakfast was amazing. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

My husband took me to the inn for a most wonderful dinner last night. It was the best meal we have had since we moved to the Upper Valley 6 years ago and as good as any we have had elsewhere. We started with the sauteed calamari which was delicious. Then I had a veal chop with fava beans artichokes and truffle butter. The veal is locally sourced from a farm where the veal is humanely raised. He had seared cod with homemade tasso and saffron aioli. We enjoyed our meals so much and the service and ambiance were fantastic. We can't wait to go for brunch next weekend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

My wife and I recently spent 3 wonderful nights at the Home Hill Inn. The nearly 200 year old inn is beautiful and meticulously maintained. All the staff were professional and very friendly. Our room was large, with a king sized bed and a fireplace. The cuisine (It cannot be called food-it was so beyond that) was fantastic. Simply wonderful!!!

Room Tip: Their website is very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorheesville, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

The Home Hill Inn was the most magical experience we have ever had at a Bed and Breakfast..We were treated to a beautiful room with a king size bed that you could sink into for the most comfortable and luxurious sleep. We had the fireplace going constantly and fell asleep with it on. It was so hard to tear ourselves away from such a blanket of coziness. We were there while visiting with our family and new granddaughter in Plainfield. And what a delicious treat our breakfast was each morning. We would have had dinner there but for the fact we were visiting family. I would like to add that the staff were so welcoming and attentive. From the moment we arrived we were transported to an enchanting time. Thank you John and Megan and everyone for making our stay so memorable. We have already recommended your Inn to friends and family..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Home Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Hill Inn

Address: 703 River Road, Plainfield, NH 03781
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Plainfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Plainfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1818, the Home Hill Inn is an idyllic country bed and breakfast and restaurant situated in a gracious Federal-style home and Carriage house. Guests are treated to warm hospitality, attentive service and seasonal menus from local sources. Guests of the Inn can also enjoy privileges at the private Montcalm Golf Course. We are located along the Connecticut River in Plainfield and only 20 minutes form Dartmouth College in Hanover. In summer, enjoy our outdoor heated pool, clay tennis court, bicycles and quiet country setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Home Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Hill Hotel Plainfield
Country Inn Plainfield
Plainfield Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.