We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED MOOSE CABIN - WONDERFUL ACCOMODATIONS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabins at Lopstick

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cabins at Lopstick to your Saves list
Cabins at Lopstick
45 Stewart Young Rd, First Connecticut Lake, Pittsburg, NH 03592   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Kayak Rental
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sanbornton, NH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“LOVED MOOSE CABIN - WONDERFUL ACCOMODATIONS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

On our first trip to Pittsburg for our 39th Anniversary, we arrived in the dark from Sanbornton, NH. The light was on for us and we walked into Moose Cabin. It was absolutely the best cabin we could have picked. It was soooo clean and neat. Obviously, very well kept and apparently renovated not that long ago. Saturday morning we found the most breathtaking view of 1st Connecticut Lake before us. Found owners and staff very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed reading about previous visitors to Moose Cabin and actually found someone my husband knew from Swansea, MA. Although we didn't see any moose (not for lack of trying), wonderful 1st trip to the area. Carole and Ron Remy

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    50
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
102
149
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
scott9696
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Always a pleasure staying at Lopstick when up in Pittsburg, NH. The smaller cabins near the office are satisfactory and serves the purpose. We stayed at Overlook on one trip and really enjoyed the views and hot tub which was loaded with chlorine but it really cleared out my cold :-) The people that run the place are very nice and accomodating, I like there dog's. If you do not want to spend alot of time in the cabin and are on a tight budget then go for the smaller cabins. If you got the money go for the gold and expect what you pay for. Can't beat the access to the lake across the street where you can open up the throttle all the way !!!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W. Boylston, MA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

This was our first stay at Lopstick. We have been to Pittsburg before many years ago and like the area. The people are very friendly, the views are great and our cabin was well stocked and exceptionally clean. The maids should get a raise!!! Regina is to be commended for a job well done. It really shows that she takes great pride in her work. The only complaint we have is that the floor in Cabin 1 (Anglers Roost) should be jacked up. My husband almost fell walking out of the bedroom into the kitchen.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

This is our third summer where the family has spent time at Powder Horn Lodge & Cabins on Back Lake located in Pittsburg, New Hampshire. Our family loves the peace and quiet and the beauty of the Great North Woods area. The first year we stayed in Cabin One, the second year at The Loon’s Nest and just recently back to Cabin One.
The Kiley Family (proprietors), do a fantastic job keeping the grounds and waterfront area very well manicured and the accommodations in great condition. They are always very helpful. All cabins come with dishes, silverware, towels, coffee maker, etc.
Cabin One has that great “cabin on the lake” feel. There are several other cabins that are similar but might be smaller or not as close to the water. Cabin One is about 20 feet from the lapping water of the shore. This cabin has a nice size dock that is only for visitors of Cabin One. With exception to a neighboring cottage – the dock is fairly private. Dogs are allowed in this cabin. The cabin has all the necessary needs for a comfortable stay. One warning – there are only a couple of 3 prong outlets in the kitchen. Bring adapters if you plan to bring a laptop (there is free WIFI – although not high speed).
The Loon’s Nest is more a house then cabin. It is also right on the water and has a private dock. It is a beautiful building and more equipped then the cabins (2 baths, dish washer, whirl pool, etc). We really enjoyed staying here – however, dogs are not allowed. Couple words of advice. The Loon’s Nest is an open concept type building. Noise carries – and if you are sleeping up in the loft, someone talking in the kitchen can sound like they are lying right next to you in bed. On warm nights it can be a little warm in the loft – but the ceiling fans help. The front of the building that faces the lake is all windows. It is really nice waking up to the sun rising over the lake or watching thunderstorms blow by. The fireplace is very stately and is welcoming on a cool evening.
The website for Powder Horn Lodge & Cabins has good pictures of the inside of the cabins. Back Lake is beautiful and not very built up. It is a “low wake” lake – and thus you can float on a raft all day with barely a wave to bump you around. The fishing is good and the sounds of the loons are mesmerizing. Powder Horn Lodge & Cabins is a great place to relax and enjoy nature. Cabins are available for rental all year – with winter being one of their busiest times. We plan to return soon.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Beautiful location, very nice cabins and the staff are friendly and accomodating. A must: breakfast at the Happy Corner Cafe. Lots of wildlife including deer and moose. Highly recommend Lopstick if you are in this area for summer or winter.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

Located in the middle of nowhere, where the moose out-number the people, Lopstick Cabins are an excellent getaway. We made all of our reservations on their website, which is well put together. We arrived at their office after 4 hours of driving and just wanted to relax in the cabin, which was great because check-in consisted of "What's your name?" and "Here's your key - last cabin on the right". We spent three nights in the Osprey cabin. It was recently renovated and was well worth the extra money. The cabin has a jacuzzi and a gas fireplace which are quite convenient after a day of snowmobiling in sub-zero temps. The housekeeping staff does a great job at keeping things tidy. Our cabin was extremely clean.
We rented two of their Ski-Doo 550 single rider sleds. The sleds they rent are never more than one year old, which is comforting, seeing as you will not be using a cell phone in Pittsburg to call for assistance.
The staff at Lopstick is wonderful to deal with and were quite helpful at all times. The first day of our snowmobile reservation was a wash out. It poured all day and even though we reserved the sleds for two days, the staff gave us the option to cancel the first day with no charge to us. We were able to go riding the second day as the trails were able to sustain the inch of rain we received. Only February in NH can bring you rain and 40 degree temps one night and sub-zero temps with an inch of snow the next morning.
On the trails we encountered a moose and numerous deer. There are plenty of trailside dining establishments around, all with a bit of that "northern atmosphere". We rode our sleds to Buckrub Pizza Pub for lunch - Great food for the appetite you work up on the trails.
Overall we had an excellent time and highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Shade, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

We went to Pittsburg NH to do nature and wildlife photography in the autumn. The Lopstick cabins we stayed at were very nice with lots of wonderful features; however, being that we were up and out with the suny each morning and gone until sunset, we really didn't get to make good use of the cabin. We stayed at the Starlight (really a large house away from the Lopstick compound) which was lovely and would work really really well for a few couples traveling together, or a large family. Then moved to Lopstick #9, which is a newer cabin in the area of the other cabins. Very nice. This whole town is probably best suited for snow season.

If you go..... quick, good and reasonably priced meals at the Happy Corner restaurant. Scenic drive to Beaver Brook falls near Colbrook. 'Creative Natives' store in Colbrook sells NH-made products by local artistisans. Buy the soap from Lopstick store.. a little piece of NH hills that can go home with you.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lopstick 9 - no bathroom on same floor as master bedroom.. stairs in the middle of the night
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabins at Lopstick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabins at Lopstick

Address: 45 Stewart Young Rd, First Connecticut Lake, Pittsburg, NH 03592
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Pittsburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Pittsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great cabins, a spectacular view, and warm northern hospitality! Located in New Hampshire's Great North Woods, we offer cozy, housekeeping cabins with a spectacular view of First Connecticut Lake and it's surrounding mountains. Each uniquely different, individual cabin has a fully equipped kitchen, one, two and three bedrooms, satellite television, outdoor grill during the summer months and private porches with great views.Our beautiful area is a favorite of many fishermen, hunters, snowmobilers, moose watchers, and outdoor enthusiasts. Explore the woods and waterways of the Great North Woods. Paddling, hiking, birding, fishing, moose watching and more! Kayak a watery moose meadow or spend the evening listening to the loons call to each over the moonlit lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Cabins at Lopstick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabins At Lopstick Hotel Pittsburg
Lopstick Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabins at Lopstick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.