We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week at the Hideaway Cabin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Tree Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pittsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Tree Cabins
Save
You added Bear Tree Cabins to your Saves list
118 Glen Rd, Pittsburg, NH   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
“Week at the Hideaway Cabin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My daughter and I loved our visit to Hideaway Cabin. View of the lake was phenomenal, the cabin was cute as a button and lots and lots of privacy. Georgie and Chantal feel like my new best friends. Many thanks for making us feel SO welcome!
BTW, the lobster fest was great and so was my delicious birthday dinner at Murphy's.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearTree91, Manager at Bear Tree Cabins, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Hello! We're so glad that you enjoyed your vacation At Bear Tree's Hide Away cabin! The view is fabulous isn't it?! Thank you also for attending our Lobster Feed and for dining at Murphy's Steakhouse...we hope you'll come and see us again next year and we Thank you for taking the time to review us! Happy Autumn! Chantal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Our family had a group of 13 at the table (Lobsterfest) and 6 that stayed in Tall Tales Lodge. With a full kitchen and lots of room to sprawl out, we could easily cook meals and talk. There was a lot of laughter in the cabin this past weekend, and lots of conversation on the porch in Adirondack chairs. Just what the doctor ordered: so needed, and so enjoyed! Gopher Broke, the bluegrass band that played during Lobsterfest at Murphy's at Bear Tree, was wonderful, and had us all chair dancing as we were eating. We also timed it just right, as Moosefest was this weekend as well! Swimming in the first CT lake on Sunday with the warm weather was perfect. We had such a wonderful time that we are already planning our trip for next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Another fabulous vacation at Bear Tree thanks to our kind hosts, John and Georgie! We started at Salmon Leap where the new addition Great Room came out fabulous ... A large room with a fireplace, leather couches and TV gave us plenty of space to hang and chill after long sunny days playing on the lake!

We were thrilled to have an opportunity to visit Metallak Lodge ... A spectacular home with an amazing view right on First Connecticut Lake ... The expansive lawn gave the kids a place to play wiffle ball while the adults could sit and enjoy the view and the lake ... We spent the day playing in the yard and lazily floating along the lake ... A beautiful place to stay!

Lastly we ended our trip at The Wilderness ... A clean and cozy cabin tucked along the woods .... Another great yard area for the kids to play and parents to sit and chat!

And can't forget to mention our delicious dinner at Murphy's on the outdoor patio overlooking the mountains .... The trout appetizer and callamari were among our favorites ... There were so many great options on the main course menu ... Our group had both fish dishes and filet mignon which were well-prepared and delicious ... And the kids ate well too! And cannot say enough about our attentive wait staff -- thank you Margaret and Paula!

Thanks again John and Georgie for your kind hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearTree91, Manager at Bear Tree Cabins, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Hello and Thank you for your kind review! We are so happy that you got to enjoy so many of Bear Tree's options while you were here! We appreciate you comments and I'll be sure to pass them along to Georgie and John as well as all of the staff At Bear Tree! Enjoy the rest of your summer and we hope you'll come and see us again soon! Best wishes, Chantal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, VT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We had a great stay at The Bear Tree Inn en route to the recent auction at The Balsams. Georgie and her husband have done a great job at restoring this 150+ year old Inn into a fantastic 5 room B&B with a terrific restaurant. The setting is very quaint and the food rivals what you would find in "the big city" as far as quality is concerned. Menu variety and quality were both first rate!

I look forward to bringing the family back in the future to enjoy the lake and surrounding trails.

Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearTree91, Manager at Bear Tree Cabins, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind review and for your recent stay with us! It was great to meet you and we hope you will return with your family, we're sure you'd enjoy Pittsburg's lakes and hiking trails...both are abundant! Thank you once again and best to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moultonborough, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for a getaway back in February. It was clean, and the staff was so friendly and accommodating. Loved it so much, we rented a cabin with friends and went back up for school vacation with the kids! We had stayed in Pittsburg before, and were pleasantly surprised by our accommodations here! The cabins were so clean and well stocked for a long visit! And the access to the trails was great! Wi-fi would definitely be a plus here instead of driving down to the Inn for access, but we will definitely be back next year!

Room Tip: Most cabins appear to have twin beds that you'd have to push together for a couple. Beds are al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearTree91, Manager at Bear Tree Cabins, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your visits with us this past season! And we are happy that you'll be coming back to see us! Stop in this summer...we have some great events happening at The Hill Top Pavilion! We'll keep you posted. Thank you once again and enjoy the rest of the winter! Chantal Carney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

everything you would want for a snowmobile weekend. great cabin for a family, freinds or couples. cozy,with a gas fireplace.the owners were so welcoming,dinner at the inn was outstanding. everyone was so friendly. thanks to all staff at Bear Tree.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearTree91, Manager at Bear Tree Cabins, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Hello! And Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! We are so glad that you had a great time snowmobiling...we are luck, we have snow and the trails are great! We are also glad that you enjoyed Salmon Leap Lodge and Murphy's Steakhouse! We hope to see you again soon...you still have time to get some great riding in! Thank you once again, Chantal Carney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Sutton, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Our 14th year for girls weekend away in Pittsburg and this lodge is the best!! Our views of First Conn Lake and the Mts...wow is all I can say!! We have already booked for next year!! Highly recommend this beautiful place for a big bunch of people! Could not have asked for better service! Loved it!! -- Wanda and the girls!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bear Tree Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Tree Cabins

Address: 118 Glen Rd, Pittsburg, NH
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Pittsburg
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Pittsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have it for you AT BEAR TREE. We are located in beautiful Pittsburg, NH on the shore of 1st Connecticut Lake with access to some of the best fishing, hunting, snowmobiling and boating. The Glen at Bear Tree is now part of our family and combined we have 11 Lakeside cabins as well as guestrooms in The Glen lodge, The Inn and Woodland cabins that can accommodate over 100 guests. While you're staying with us, we hope you'll dine at Murphy's Steakhouse, located at The Inn. Enjoy fine dining in a comfortable setting. The Inn was once John's Lodge, a popular fishing lodge and a favorite spot for many years. You are sure to enjoy the rustic ambiance, wonderful service and of course...The food! And let's not forget our Weddings at Bear Tree! We love our weddings! Whether your group is small or large, we have various locations and options sure to suit your needs. On-site catering, all inclusive packages and a hands on event planner, make having a wedding AT BEAR TREE all you can imagine and more than you ever dreamed of. We strive to deliver a wonderful experience and lasting memories, we hope you'll come and see us, we'd love to serve you! Your hosts, John & Georgie Lyons ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bear Tree Cabins Hotel Pittsburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Tree Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.