We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice People Running a Nice Operation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little River Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peterborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little River Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Little River Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
184 Union Street, Peterborough, NH 03458   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Peterborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Long Beach, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice People Running a Nice Operation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

Rob and Laura are disarmingly nice people who you'd like to invite to your own house. On top of that the place is a welcome home away from home. They've remodeled recently and everything is in great shape and good taste. Laura cooked us a great quiche and Rob sent us off to drive up the Miller state park road, which was dazzling with fall colors and had amazing views including the Boston skyline.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
60
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

It’s hard to add to the deservedly glowing reviews of Little River Bed and Breakfast.

Paula and Rob are consummate hosts - extremely hospitable, warm and welcoming - who do everything in their power to make your stay special and comfortable. The property is immaculately clean and situated beside a little river which is very picturesque especially if you have the opportunity to view it in autumn foliage and the unexpected snow - which we did!

During our 4 night stay, they also had old friends visit and generously included us. We had a wonderful time and it was great fun to be around such a lovely group of people. We even arrived home one evening to find pumpkins and tools waiting for us should we desire to carve them.

Paula cooks a spectacular breakfast which, along with plenty of conversation, sets you up for a range of sightseeing possibilities kindly organised by Rob. We drove beautiful, scenic, autumnal roads without other traffic, walked a picturesque old rail trail with a carpet of thick, fallen leaves following it to a lake, explored the unique and quintessential villages of Harrisville and Hancock, visited Keene just in time for the Pumpkin Festival, watched the Yankee Trebuchet in action, drove up Pack Monadnock for spectacular views, discovered covered bridges, dipped into the Peak into Peterborough Foliage Festival and dined at the fabulous Harlow’s Pub. And there was so much more than we had time for.

A hug to say goodbye confirmed that we had arrived as guests and left as friends.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

We had a wonderful time in Peterborough! We came for a weekend for a wedding and couldn't have been happier with the accomodations. The innkeepers, Rob and Paula, were friendly and very helpful. The breakfasts both morning were outstanding. What we really liked is the simplistic atmosphere here. It is sparkling clean and uncluttered; very homey and comforable. I would love to stay again! If you go, make sure to walk out back and see how lovely the river is.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

A highly comfortable spot, although I would ask for a room on the river side versus the road side

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

We stayed a long weekend at Little River to see the sights and relax. Little did we know how helpful Paula and Rob would be in directing us where to eat, hike, walk around, and anything else we wanted to do. The rooms are immaculately clean and the house looks beautiful. To top it all off, the food is amazing. You will be full and satisfied after eating Paula's delicious breakfast. Make sure you check it out, I know that I will be going back as soon as I can!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

July 10, 2009 - We came to Peterborough and Little River B & B after a few days sightseeing in Boston. We didn’t know a lot about the region, but wanted to relax, explore and hike. We hit the jackpot! Not only in coming to the Monadnock region of New Hampshire, but in finding Rob, Paula and the Little River B & B. The setting is beautiful, the house is charming and Paula can whip up a tasty breakfast. They both knew so much about the area and were a great help in giving us hints on places to visit. Whether you are looking for a place to kick back with a good book, or a place to lay your head after a day taking in the sights, we highly recommend Little River.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

Warm and gracious hosts, a beautifully renovated old home, comfortable rooms making the best of old and new (with simple country charm coupled with flat screen television and modern plumbing), and as if all of that were not enough - every breakfast a feast to behold. New Hampshire is a beautiful getaway and the Little River Bed and Breakfast helped make it even better. Bravo!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little River Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little River Bed and Breakfast

Address: 184 Union Street, Peterborough, NH 03458
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Peterborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Little River Bed and Breakfast. We are a recently renovated 1870s farmhouse situated along the scenic Nubanusit River in the classic New England town of Peterborough, NH which is located in the wonderful Southwest corner of the state known as the Monadnock Region. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little River b&b
Little River Hotel Peterborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little River Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.