We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Rooster in the woods of New Hampshire!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bantam Grill

Bantam Grill
1 Jaffrey Road, Suite 4, Peterborough, NH
(603) 924-6633
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 28 restaurants in Peterborough
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Worcester
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Top Rooster in the woods of New Hampshire!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My fiance and I stopped here on our quest to eat somewhere new. We usually just drive towards Keene but decided to go through a different town. It is located in a small strip mall. From the window, it looks very cafe like, so we ventured in. The atmosphere was a surprise! It was what I would call Modern city bistro meets industrial barn. Really energetic vibe and I the Rooster and Chicken accents worked well with the flow of the room. We went in for lunch and they had great drink specials and lunch specials. The presentation of our meals were pleasing and again, I didn't expect that in a small town. Their French Onion Soup was the best I have ever had. Our waitress/bartender was super, very friendly and made us feel at home. A nice touch was the (owner?) came and served us our meals. That was a great touch! We can't wait to go back and try their food for dinner. Their menu was very creative and traditional at the same time. The food was fresh and we were very happy we found this place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    25
    14
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern NH
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
“Nice visit and good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We were here for a night out and away from the kids. We found the food to be very good and the service to be excellent. For was fresh, hot, and tasty and the drinks well made and cold. It was a very low key enviroment and wasn't stuffy at all. Definitely would visit again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Was told about this restaurant by the hotel at which I was staying. Food was imaginative and tasty. Service was attentive and prompt. Desert was great. Will gladly return to this place on my next visit to Peterborough.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Still trying to like this place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We visited for Valentine's Day with friends, but somehow the place does a mediocre delivery. Maybe they are still working out the menu, as it is still a new place in town. The bread is nice, but they provide about 1/2 teaspoon of olive oil (for 4 people) and we had to keep asking for more. Some of the dishes were good, some spicier than described on the menu, so disappointing. The wait staff runs around like it's a diner, but for the pricing, they should slow down and be more careful. I don't like watching my martini splash all over the table when it is served. I'll try one more time..

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francestown, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top Notch in Peterborough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Four of us opted for the Bantam Grill after a classical music concert. It was a cold Sunday evening but there was a steady flow of customers. We were seated right away and the staff were attentive and helpful throughout. Four entrees, all done to perfection: pan seared scallops; beef wellington; shrimp & grits; and zuppa de pesce. Kudos to the chef! Accompanied by a Cotes du Rhone and followed by a tiramisu for dessert. A bit pricey ($23 average price for the entrees) but we all agreed that this is a certain destination for a special dinner. Although located in a generic strip mall, the decor is pleasant and understated. Our waitress was friendly and attentive. The menu had a good range of choices and a decent wine selection. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bantam Grill also viewed

 
Peterborough, NH
Peterborough, NH
 

Been to Bantam Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bantam Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.