We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peyton Place Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Peyton Place Restaurant
454 Nh Route 10, Orford, NH 03777
(603) 353-9100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Orford
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Holyoke, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

No matter where it was located, Peyton Place would be outstanding. The eclectic menu provides a variety of interesting appetizers, salads and entrees. Dessert is literally the "frosting on the cake". On a recent visit I selected three appetizers as I just couldn't choose one alone. The Duck Confit Salad is like no other I've had anywhere. The Roasted Oysters are gently flavored so that the essence of the sea remains. ON this night I enjoyed the Shrimp and Sweet Potato entree, but in May I always look for Jim's soft Shell Crab. This chef prepares seafod to salivate over! Actually, there is nothing on his menu that isn't delightful. Heidi makes a great drink and knows wines. I have often taken her recommendation for a pairing when I just can't decide. She is always spot on. The service is friendly and one is made to feel so very welcome. A wonderful place for leisurely dining, superb food, and total relaxation. Am eager for sumer when many of the veggies and most of the herbs come from Jim's garden. The Peyton family has brought new life and glory to the old Mann Tavern building.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    2
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, VT
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Warm welcome on a cold night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stopped in to Peyton Place just looking for a glass of wine and a snack. We were given a cozy table, a warm welcome, and an impressive wine list. The hors d oeuvres were served warm, shrimp in a sweet potato batter. The homemade rolls were crisp on the outside, warm on the inside.
The owner, Heidi, added to the relaxed, warm atmosphere.
This place is a great find!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Go in with subdued expectations and be pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Payton Place has become our favorite restaurant stop when we visit the Hanover area. It's generally worth not getting your hopes up too much when looking for a.good meal in this neck of the woods. The chalkboard menu at Payton Place generally has an assortment of interesting and enticing dishes that spans a number of cuisines. Our party had sampled the duck, vegetable ravioli, Vietnamese bouilliabase, and Salad Bergere. We had a very nice bottle of red wine with dinner based on the recomendation of the hostess. While our meal was in general excellent and "fit for foodies" there were some occaisional misses. Hence it's probably worth going into an evening with subdued expectations and being pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A favorite restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Peyton Place is our favorite restaurant in the Connecticut River Valley, especially in the summer when fresh veggies are available from the garden. The menu, like the decor, is eclectic with something for every vegetarian or carnivore on the menu. On my last visit, I started with a spinach salad with warm bacon dressing. Delicious! The spinach was the first of the season and was tender and sweet. Next came a basket of homemade, hot from the oven rolls that were perfect...light crisp on the outside and tender and moist inside. My entree was King salmon with a cherry cream sauce served on a bed of beet greens. It was excellent. I would have liked more vegetables on the side, but what was served was delicious. For dessert, I had a chocolate creme brûlée that was just right...smooth and creamy with a light crunch on top. The service is very professional and friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, NH
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Our favorite over & over again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Heidi & Jim are the five star owners. Heidi will greet you & serve you with warmth & knowledge & she makes excellent drinks. Jim is an amazing chef! The chocolate brownie is fabulous. We always get the chorizo dumplings. From steak to handmade ravioli, fabulous fish & handmade dessert, all unbelievably great! Local, from scratch, elegant. Not rushed. Close to Hanover in a neat old home. Nice candles & fireplace.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peyton Place Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Peyton Place Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peyton Place Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.