We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ariana's Restaurant

Ariana's Restaurant
1322 NH Route 10, Orford, NH 03777
+1 603-353-4405
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Orford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Our goal at Ariana's is to offer a range of menu choices reflecting the many different palates and we feel there is something on our menu for most people. Our menu focuses on seasonal, quality and local (as much as possible during the different seasons) ingredients.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We went for the first time last night with some friends who suggested it. We live about 40 minutes away, and had never heard of it before. We were delighted with the selection and quality of the food. The service was excellent. The chef came out to chat with us and to be sure we were happy with our dinners. He is clearly a man who loves what he's doing. Ariana's is a homey comfortable restaurant where you can have a wonderful dining experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    14
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Amazing!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We are foodies from NYC and have been renting a house on Goose Pond in Canaan, New Hampshire for 28 years. We always explore the area looking for new finds that are interesting, farm stands, restaurants, bed and breakfasts etc.
Three years ago at a fair on the green at Dartmouth in Hanover, I met Bruce from the Bunten Farm, who was selling homemade artisinal cheese made from his wife Chris's farm where their heritage Devon cows are bred. They are WONDERFUL people and have a beautiful farm where they really nurture their livestock. Each calf is hand fed and is referred to by name, Hercules, Maggie, Axel, Luke , Lilly,Orian, Dubberdale, Hugh, Pollyanna, Natasha, Starry Night and Olivia. Oh yes, there is Elwin too who is only a week old. I've
never seen farmers so caring about the livestock they breed. It really is a testament to the wonderful people that Chis and Bruce are, genuine and good natured. The livestock they breed produce the milk to which Chris and Bruce make some mean cheese and yogurt.
Now enter, Martin Murphy chef of the farm's restaurant Ariana's and you have the best find in all of New England. The restaurant rivals any of the finest that can be found in New York City, this opinion of course coming from a native New Yorker. not a snob but just down to earth people who know and love food from eating out.
Tonight our party of eight had as mains the Snapper, Braised Beef, Ariana's Chicken, the Curried Rice and Vegetables, the Wild Shrimp and Pasta and the Duck Confit. The selection of appetizers were too numerous to mention, we ate everything from PEI Mussels, Vegetable Crepes, Dumplings and salad and all were outstanding.
Like to dine? If you happen to be in Oreford you've struck gold but if you're in neighboring Lyme, Hanover or in this neck of the woods in general, "carpe diem" you won't be sorry. Oh by the way the desserts are great too and the port chocolate cake was to die for. Enjoy!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Amazing!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We are foodies from NYC and have been renting a house on Goose Pond in Canaan, New Hampshire for 28 years. We always explore the area looking for new finds that are interesting, farm stands, restaurants, bed and breakfasts etc.
Three years ago at a fair on the green at Dartmouth in Hanover, I met Bruce from the Bunten Farm, who was selling homemade artisinal cheese made from his wife Chris's farm where their heritage Devon cows are bred. They are WONDERFUL people and have a beautiful farm where they really nurture their livestock. Each calf is hand fed and is referred to by name, Hercules, Maggie, Axel, Luke , Lilly,Orian, Dubberdale, Hugh, Pollyanna, Natasha, Starry Night and Olivia. Oh yes, there is Elwin too who is only a week old. I've
never seen farmers so caring about the livestock they breed. It really is a testament to the wonderful people that Chis and Bruce are, genuine and good natured. The livestock they breed produce the milk to which Chris and Bruce make some mean cheese and yogurt.
Now enter, Martin Murphy chef of the farm's restaurant Ariana's and you have the best find in all of New England. The restaurant rivals any of the finest that can be found in New York City, this opinion of course coming from a native New Yorker. not a snob but just down to earth people who know and love food from eating out.
Tonight our party of eight had as mains the Snapper, Braised Beef, Ariana's Chicken, the Curried Rice and Vegetables, the Wild Shrimp and Pasta and the Duck Confit. The selection of appetizers were too numerous to mention, we ate everything from PEI Mussels, Vegetable Crepes, Dumplings and salad and all were outstanding.
Like to dine? If you happen to be in Oreford you've struck gold but if you're in neighboring Lyme, Hanover or in this neck of the woods in general, "carpe diem" you won't be sorry. Oh by the way the desserts are great too and the port chocolate cake was to die for. Enjoy!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“An unexpected delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

While visiting family in Lyme NH, we dined at Ariana's restaurant in Orford. It is a farmhouse setting.....very cozy and relaxing! Reservations had been made in advance, which was definitely a good thing, as it was very crowded even on a Tuesday evening. The waitress was delightful suggesting a special wine that was a favorite of hers.......her suggestion was perfect! The food was delicious and very fresh.....As it is quite small, wouldn't recommend it for young children. Would return in a heartbeat!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fine dining in an unexpected location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I were traveling through Vermont and spent a night in Fairlee, VT. We asked the inn keeper for a dinner recommendation and he recommended Ariana's which was only a 10 - 15 minute drive from the inn. That being said, it is in the middle of farm land - seemingly in the middle of nowhere for a girl who lives in the middle of a large city.

We arrived at the restaurant without reservations but did not think it would be an issue as it was only 6pm on a Monday night. Thankfully they have a chef's counter where we could eat as the entire restaurant was full. The chef's counter overlooks the kitchen and has the added bonus of a small treat that the chef provides free of charge (pork dumplings that were delicious).

Service was prompt and professional, food was shockingly good. I had Ariana's chicken as my entree and my husband had the linguini and clams for his entrée. Both were absolutely delicious. The chicken with the smashed potatoes, sugar snap peas and a delightful demi-glaze was probably the best entrée I had in an entire week of dining out in New England.

All ingredients are locally sourced and the prices were quite reasonable. I also liked the fact that the farmhouse next door (same parking lot) has an honor box and you can buy local cheese or maple even after dinner.

The restaurant is quite small so reservations would be recommended. I would not recommend it for children as it was more of a quiet dinner with friends type of place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ariana's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ariana's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ariana's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.