We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this campground!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shel-Al

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Hampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shel-Al
Save
You added Shel-Al to your Saves list
115 Lafayette Road, US Route 1, North Hampton, NH 03862   |  
Hotel amenities
Rindge
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love this campground!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We just returned from a weekend stay at Shel-Al campground. We had never camped there before and I was a bit worried (well maybe more like a LOT worried) about what the campground would be like. Pulling into the campground, I saw that the sites were really nice....grassy and level with a few trees for shade...I felt better already about camping there. Then, I walked into the office to register and they were SO friendly!!!! We have camped a lot for many years and I have to say, they are some of the friendliest and most helpful staff ever!! The campground is very well maintained and they even come around and collect the trash from the campsite. They also come around with wood for campfires in the afternoons. The location is good..very close to the beaches. We will definitely be returning and recommending this campground to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    15
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Townsend, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Last year we camped in our tent for the entire season at Shel-Al. We loved it so much that at the end of the season, we purchased a 25-ft. camper and moved into a permanent (seasonal May thru October) site at Shel-Al. The staff is friendly and professional and they are also VERY accommodating. They have helped us in any way to get our camper situated and we are so excited to have our own place near the beach (a 5-minute drive to North Beach – a little longer to other area beaches). It’s a great location – the area offers many amenities - stores and restaurants, historic Portsmouth, NH, fun spots for the kids and of course the ocean. Shel-Al grounds and bathroom facilities are sparkling clean. They offer ice and wood at a great price and they also offer other items you may have forgotten (toothpaste, etc.) Their customer service is second to none! We highly recommend Shel-Al campground. Out of 5 stars, we give them a 6! ** Vinny & Tammi **

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I just returned from 3 nights camping at Shel-Al Campground and I will definitely visit there again. The grounds are well-maintained, the bathrooms are spotlessly clean and the staff have got to be the friendliest around. They even sang Happy Birthday to me one morning when I entered the office (I'd mentioned earlier that my birthday would be that day). There's no WiFi at the campsites but there is at a "games room" and that has a nice sheltered porch where you can go any time of the day or night to check your mail, etc. They seem to have good security and make sure there is no loud or rowdy partying that would disturb others. The location is only minutes from the beach at Rye or even Hampton Beach and this is actually the closest place to camp if you want to spend your days on the coast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, NH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We've stayed at Shel-Al for the past 4 years and love it. It's always clean, quiet, and well taken care of. My 6 yr daughter loves the playground here!! The staff takes your trash each day and can deliver you wood for your evening fires! We're returning this year for season # 5 in July and can't wait! This is the best campground in the area! Great location and the stores are nearby if you need anything!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield Center, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here with our 32 ft RV. Site was nice and rates were great. All the staff that I ran into were very nice and helpful. This was our second visit there and would recommend this campground. Area was nicely kept.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We've been going there for the past 5 years. Bathrooms are very clean (0.25 $ for 6 minutes). Peak time (4ish) You might have no more hot water. Site is nice. 12 minutes from the beach. If you forgot something back home, no prob since home depot is around the corner. Very friendly staff!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed this past July, we rented the 5th wheel and fit 5 of us confortably. The grounds are neat and groomed. Great grassy areas for tents, large playground. Plenty of trailers and tenters, but it never felt crowded. Staff very accomodating and full of info or just conversation. This will sound crazy, but the best ice I have ever gotten. Location is great for Maine and Mass daytrips.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shel-Al? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shel-Al

Address: 115 Lafayette Road, US Route 1, North Hampton, NH 03862
Location: United States > New Hampshire > North Hampton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in North Hampton
Number of rooms: 165
Also Known As:
Shel-Al Hotel North Hampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shel-Al, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.