We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good base for Storyland” 3 of 5 stars
Review of North Conway Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added North Conway Grand Hotel to your Saves list
North Conway Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Route 16 at Settlers' Green Outlet Village, North Conway, NH 03860   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A good base for Storyland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

My wife and I just returned from our second stay in a three week period. Both times we accompanied one of our children and their children. Both times the goal was Storyland. (We are curently saturated.) If this is your situation - i.e. a child friendly hotel fairly close to Storyland, then the Grand would be a good choice - as it seemed to be for many other families with children. About 20 minutes to Storyland. Lots of kids everywhere and the hotel has a few child focused activities in late afternoon.

Nice indoor and outdoor pools. More than adequate restaurant and tavern. We had two breakfasts and two dinners in the restaurant and the service was uneven. Friendly and helpful desk staff. Adjacent to Settlers Green, a shopping area with many shops (though my wife tells me that the prices weren't all that good).

This is not to say there weren't a few small problems. Because of a hotel error at our first stay in August, we were given a room upgrade to a room that included a jacuzzi. Our August stay had no problems. We were in a different part of the hotel for our recent stay. We heard a lot more hotel noises - voices, water running - than during the first stay. Our daughter and her family were in a room nearby. She moved one of the beds a little and found some Cheerios under the bed. The door to her room was difficult to open, whether inside or outside.

The room rate on the Grand Hotel web site was about $20 more per night than a "web only" price on another web site. We called the hotel and got the cheaper price.

So, if another visit to Storyland were to happen in the future, would I be willing to stay at the Grand? Certainly. But I'd probably look into some of the other hotels listed here on TA.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    299
    173
    64
    68
See reviews for
376
309
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

My family and I stayed in a room with a king bed and sleeper sofa. Upon opening the sleeping sofa, I found that the sheet had a stain. Called the front desk immediately to ask for a new sheet. A new sheet was brought to the room and handed to me to change myself. The mattress to the king bed was very soft causing my wife and I to have back aches during our stay. The room could use a little updating. Bathroom is small. The hotel has a nice outdoor pool and a water area for little kids. Close proximity to restaurants and the outlets. The breakfast buffet was good with the exception of the scrambled eggs. Children ate free for each paying adult.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

I decided to take a chance on this Hotel. Against the current low review ratings.....which listed in the middle of August. I found the reviews here to be a mistake. I would definately rebook.

I noticed that so many families were having a good time....swimming in the outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi and also using the exercise room. We also used the outside facilities and inside heated pool too. It was very upbeat
We stayed in a room that had a jacuzzi for two nights. The room was clean and all the support people were very helpful.
I was not disappointed in the location or the outside appearance of the grounds...... The small pond and strategically placed outside perennial gardens added to the appearance of the hotel..... The mountain views added to the hotel view too.
The hotel is situated very near the Outlet retail Stores. Let your lady shop....she will love the stores.
It was a very relaxing weekend stay at the hotel. We drove to North Conway from Portland, Maine.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

This place was swarming with young children. Very noisy place and rooms are quite average for the price. Check-in was slow. We were lined up for at least 10 minutes. Great location. If you have small children and you don't mind the noise of them running up and down the hall at all hours, you should like this place.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Too noisy
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shore, Ma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

Stayed here for three nights during Feb school vacation. nice cozy hotel with indoor and outdoor heated pool and hot tub, nice touch. went snow tubing at a couple of mountains, wildcat and king pine upon our return to the hotel thay had complimentary hot cocoa and hot cider with snacks available in the lobby. After diner they had complimentary make your own hot fudge sundaes in the hotel for the kids. Ice skating nearby also was fun for the family. I would recomend this place for a winter getaway, a little pricey but I guess someone has to pay for the snacks and ice cream!

  • Liked — outdoor heated pool
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

Hotel common areas are very nice, especially the outdoor pool area. We booked a 2 queen room. Beds pretty comfortable except for the fact that the sheets don't seem to cover the mattress fully. The bathroom was disgusting. Mildew around sink and tub and shower curtain also spots on the walls. wallpaper in the bathroom peeling and the floor was dirty with hair and dirt in the corners. The ac/heat unit needed a good cleaning, as you could see black fuzzy stuff sticking out of the grate. wheb I booked I was told all the rooms were renovated about 1 1/2 years ago but I don't see how this is possible for the shabby condition of this room. We had met a couple of people that had similar complaints about their rooms. I read the reviews on trip advisor and all seemed pretty good so I was suprised at the condition of our room. For over 200$ a night I expected a little better.
don't stay in room 251!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new england
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

We just got back from our stay in NC Grand. Wow!
Here is the summary of all the positives.
1) Location
This hotel is located on rt.16 ten minutes away from Storyland. It's in the middle of the outlet mall and 5 minutes from North Conway, a beautiful scenic town with so much charm. There are plenty of places to eat on rt. 16 but the restaurant in the hotel is very good too. Nothing is too far from this hotel, but if you prefer to park your car and just walk around this is a place for you. Right outside of the hotel is the playground with sprinklers next to the cafe/restaurant with outdoor seating (so you can watch your kids play while sipping coffee and eating great pizza).

2) Service
We were blown away. Free movie rental from the front desk. Checked in with smile. Kid friendly lobby. Fantastic all you can eat buffet breakfast ($11 adults, kids eat free). Great restaurant service. Clean-clean-clean rooms. The best is that they plan fun things for kids so even if it rains there will be something to entertain them with. From 5-6pm it's game hour. From 6-7pm it's arts and crafts. From 7-8pm it's make your own sundae (free) social for kids and parents. At 8pm they play a family movie in the "theater" room. Seriously, where else can you find this?

3) Amenities
Outdoor pool and toddler pool are fantastic (heated and oh so warm). The adult pool gets kind of crowded because it's not that large. Chairs and launch chairs around it. Free beach towels that someone else launders. Laundry room for guests (coin operated). Game room for pre-teens. Exercise room for those who can't skip their routine even on vacation. The indoor pool smelled like it had WAY too much chlorine and the water was murky and cloudy. We stayed away from that one. It just didn't look clean enough for us. But the outdoor pools were clean and awesome.
They sell Storyland tickets so you skip the box office lines in the park.

4) Nice rooms
Rooms were nice and clean. We got two queen beds and put one of the mattresses on the ground for our toddler since beds are kind of big. Rooms have free microwave and fridge - fantastic for quick oatmeal or cup of soup. Clean bathrooms. Coffee maker and free coffee in the bathroom. Chocolates on pillow. Really, such a nice touch! Every room has a dvd player so it's easy to entertain a kid at night with free movie rentals.
Parking was free and no problem. The crowd in the hotel is friendly, family oriented, nice classy people. The walls are a bit thin so we could hear other people's kids crying but that was fine with us. Our kid wasn't an angel either :).

We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay in North Conway Grand. From now on this will be our place of choice when going to NH.

  • Liked — Location and amenities
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Conway Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Conway Grand Hotel

Address: Route 16 at Settlers' Green Outlet Village, North Conway, NH 03860
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > North Conway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — North Conway Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your North Conway Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel North Conway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Conway Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.