We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this Inn!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Granite Inn & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Green Granite Inn & Conference Center to your Saves list
Green Granite Inn & Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 White Mountain Highway, Route 16, North Conway, NH 03860   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Devon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved this Inn!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

Loved this Inn. Staff were friendly. Good value for money. We were offered rooms on the second floor at first (2 Queens), but when I asked about elevators, which they haven,t, we were offered rooms on the ground floor (2 doubles). The lobby was large , but cozy, with big sofas, very inviting, even with the stuffed animals. Tea, coffee and hot chocolate were available. Very good continental breakfast.

  • Liked — value for money
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    140
    62
    29
    9
See reviews for
220
110
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

This was a nice hotel; not knock-your-socks-off wonderful, but fine. The rooms were very clean, as were the bathrooms, although there was an unsightly water stain above the shower. They also had free wireless internet, which was nice. It should be noted that if you are going for the indoor pool or for the free breakfast, don't bother. We were told the free breakfast included eggs, but upon going to breakfast, which was downtstairs in a basement-type, drop sealing, kind of depressing atomosphere, we learned that the egss were actually these circular discs of processed scrambled egg that were probably made a few days ago and then packaged and sent to the hotel. They had sausage which was okay; and cereal and bagels. Also, everything was served on styrophome which kind of added to the drabness of the occassion. If you stay here, I'd suggest skipping the free breakfast and going to Peaches to eat, which is fantastic. OR, you could get a Starbucks from across the street and then drink your coffee in the nice common area they have upstairs (which would probably be a nicer location for a more casual breakfast situation, I think). I do not believe the indoor pool was heated and the exercise room had a treadmill, but no eliptical or cross-trainer.
On the plus side, the waitstaff were all super nice, and in the common room when you first enter there is a gorgeous fireplace and some nice leather couches to lounge on. And they have swings!!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, location, price
  • Disliked — Eggs
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

We stayed at the Green Granite Inn in early August 2008. I thought it would be a lot better that it was for the price. My biggest complaint is the in door pool area. The pool itself was a murky brown sort of color and the hot tub instantly turned in to a sea of nasty looking foam as soon as I turned the pump on. I refused to go in either. Our room faced the pool enclosure and the constant screaming of little kids started at 8AM and lasted until 10PM when the pool closed, even tho' kids were excluded from the pool from 9-10PM.

Other things that we didn't like was the location. The inn is situated directly on Route 16, the main road through town, and traffic noise was also an issue especially late at night. It's also adjacent to a mall where there is a movie theater, supermarket and Lowes home center.

There are definately better bargins for the price in this area of New Hampshire.

  • Liked — The town of North COnway
  • Disliked — The indoor pool are and the hotel location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

I just got back from a two night stay at the Green Granite. I was there with my two kids and their friend. The rooms are large but outdated. I loved that they have a free mini fridge in each room. I had brought a cooler to keep milk cold but was happy about the fridge in the room. The rooms as I said are quiet large for a hotel room, two queen beds and room to play. The bathrooms were fine, I never saw a bug or any kind and they were clean. The hotel offers a playground and two pools. The indoor pool was closed one night and we never did get any explanation as to why but they were offer a movie in thier movie room so the kids just went to that. I would say that for the price which was reasonable and the location it was fine. The staff was helpful at the front desk and they had plenty to do for kids.

  • Liked — the choice of pools, the playground, the price
  • Disliked — the traffic on rt 16, the wallpaper in the hallways
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

Horrible place. Depressing room. Dark, outdated carpets, wallpaper, lighting and furnishings. Beds hard and uncomfortable and we were not sure if we were sleeping on clean sheets or not. Found small ants in the bathroom. They had a frequent guest program which we passed on after checking out after one nite. It was the only hotel available in North Conway and now we know why. The next night we stayed in a Marriott in another town and for $60 more a night it felt like we were in the lap of luxury by comparison. Would never stay at the Green Granite again...would rather have slept in the car. We had a horrible night's sleep.

  • Disliked — Awful beds, unappealing decor, uncomfortable
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

We have stayed at this location twice (2006+2007 July). For first timers in the area it is a great location (near outlets) and on the main drag, and reasonably priced. However, the lobby is probably the only nice thing about this place. It desperatly needs some renovations and new white paint yearly wouldn't hurt. The breakfast is fine but both summers the wait staff for the free continental breakfast could use some improvement. Not to be mean but the facial hair on one of them (female), disturbed me and made me not want to eat my breakfast.
Now if they still have the summer special of taking the limo up to Christmas Farm & Inn for Dinner Special it is well worth it and the meal was lovely!

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

We ended up staying here after the North Conway Grand Hotel overbooked and sold our room. The North Conway Grand recommended the Green Granite and said they had plenty of room (they didn't - we ended up with the last room - evident by the full parking lot). The rooms were clean but, the hallways and common areas could have used a paint job. The pools were clean but, small. There was an outside play area for the kids which is next to the parking lot so, lots of adult supervision is needed for younger kids. The free breakfast was surpisingly good. I also found the hotel to be quiet even though they were fully booked (we did have our air conditioner on). We were on the second floor and I still don't know if there's an elevator in the hotel - I never bothered to look. We also had a small (room for 2 chairs) balcony - the hotel is quite close to Rt. 16 so, it wasn't the best view and there was a lot of traffic.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Proximity to Rt. 16 - you're right there!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Granite Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Granite Inn & Conference Center

Address: 1515 White Mountain Highway, Route 16, North Conway, NH 03860
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > North Conway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in North Conway
#11 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Green Granite Inn & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Granite Inn is a locally owned and operated inn, situated in the heart of North Conway, NH. We take great pride in providing a relaxed and friendly atmosphere for families and couples to enjoy their trips to the White Mountains. We have 91 comfortable rooms and suites with several different configurations and a conference center that holds 100 people, perfect for your family reunion or business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Green Granite Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Granite Hotel North Conway
Green Granite Inn And Conference Center
Green Granite Inn North Conway
Green Granite North Conway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Granite Inn & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.