We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cottage with character and wonderful host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Red Inn & Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Old Red Inn & Cottages to your Saves list
Old Red Inn & Cottages
Rt 16 / 302, White Mountain Highway, North Conway Village, North Conway, NH 03860   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Early and Save
Ranked #12 of 23 North Conway B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cottage with character and wonderful host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed here for two nights from 9 Oct during our holiday and as usual we have no bookings for accommodation but thankfully North Conway has full of choices for inns and hotels. And luckily we found this charming inn with very hospitable hosts. We stayed in the cottage and though the bathroom is small, it was a cozy little place. Sue and Richard really makes you feel welcome and I just love breakfast not only for the food but also the lively atmosphere that Sue and Richard makes for the guests. Really a delightful stay and very much recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    37
    7
    9
    14
See reviews for
50
58
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was a GREAT choice and a fun place to stay. We went EAST to see the Fall colors and ended up in N Conway NH ! The Old Red Inn was perfect! Stay was great - food was great and the insights and tips we received from the hosts made for great day getaways. It was info we would not have known. And the in room "fireplaces" were awesome on the cool nights and romantic!
We will return and stay again !

Room Tip: We took a cottage and it was excellent, ---they have rooms in the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed for two nights and it was a nice stay. The owners are lovely people who were gracious hosts and provided a wonderful experience in North Conway. The hotel is in a convenient location for hikers or seeking out local attractions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there in July with my 2 year old grandson and husband. The place was so small that I felt clostepobic. The bathroom only had a shower stall. No bathtub!! If you have young children who can't take a shower its hard to wash them up every night. Our cabin was right near the road so all you could hear was traffic. The room was soooo hot when they gave it to us. They never even had the AC on. The temperature that weekend was in the upper 90s. And to tell you the truth, it probably wouldn't be so bad if they would just update it. The doors wouldn't even shut right because it was so old. I definitely would not go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Sue & Richard just really went above and beyond to meet my husband's health requirements. As a diabetic, he needs to avoid sugar, and his recent surgery still had him on a special diet. Sue prepared him a separate breakfast each morning, always inquiring if he wanted something else, etc. The food was absolutely wonderful, and differed every morning we were there. Sue & Richard also made two trips to the post office to pick up the insulin our son overnighted to us after we lost a vial along the way. The cottage itself was very clean and well maintained, and the traffic was not bothersome at all. We were there six days and wish it could have been much longer. Would definitely recommend this charming B&B,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great location, very close to North Conways Village area. The inn is situated on a busy road however in the cabins you really didn't even notice. The village has a lot to offer restaurants, shops, parks and the train station. Its the perfect location to catch a bite to eat or take a nice stroll in the evenings for a ice cream.
The cabins were cleaned daily, it was nice to come back with fresh towel and a made bed after breakfast. The inn also provided the breakfast meal which were pretty good. The inn keepers are very friendly and accommodating.
There are only two complaints or recommendation I would suggest one would be to update the decor in the cabins. The other recommendation would be turn up the temperature to the pool it was a bit chilly. Other than that everything was great!
I do plan to visit again sometime this fall it was well worth the price with a unbeatable location.

Room Tip: I only stayed in the cabins, the middle cabins are the best location on the property; # 4,5,6 and 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Old Red Inn twice now. The first time we stayed in one of the rooms in the Inn itself. We felt like we were right at home! The rooms were immaculate and the bed was very comfortable. Every morning we woke up to the smell of breakfast being prepared. (Homemade French toast topped with whipped cream and fresh strawberries mmmmm!!) We enjoyed our breakfast and coffee in the spacious and beautifully decorated dining area. The second time we visited we stayed in one of the cottages with our children. Again, the cottages were very well kept and comfy! What we loved about the Old Red Inn was its location to all sorts of attractions. The nearby zip lining adventures were a lot of fun. The White Mountains are so scenic and offer a lot of sight seeing! There is a nearby village with many cute shops and fabulous restaurants. Our kids really enjoyed the nearby miniature golf course and Storyland!
The absolute best part of our stay were our welcoming and kind inn keepers Richard and Susan. They were extremely accommodating and were very knowledgeable about what to experience in the area!! We can't wait to book our next stay!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Red Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Red Inn & Cottages

Address: Rt 16 / 302, White Mountain Highway, North Conway Village, North Conway, NH 03860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > North Conway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Red Inn and Cottages is located in the Village of North Conway, we are the closest Inn and Cottages to the Village, only five hundred yards away. We offer five Inn rooms and ten cottages (both 1 & 2 bedroom) all with private bathroom. If you are looking to experience the simpler way of life, then charms of the Mount Washington Valley will be your perfect place. The Inn has free wi-fi, in-ground pool, pinic tables and grills along with a delicous morning breakfast. The mountains are close by so hiking, swimming, canoeing, horse back riding, skiing, tubbing, snow shoeing, mountain climbing, scenic rides, gondola rides, sleigh rides and so much more are with-in minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Old Red Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Red Inn And Cottages
Old Red Inn & Cottages Hotel North Conway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Red Inn & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.