We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming and cozy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Red Inn & Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Old Red Inn & Cottages to your Saves list
Old Red Inn & Cottages
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   Rt 16 / 302, White Mountain Highway, North Conway Village, North Conway, NH 03860   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 23 North Conway B&B and Inns
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very welcoming and cozy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a great visit in N. Conway and enjoyed the time we spent at the Inn. We stayed in the house and our friends stayed in one of the cabins with their dog. We felt very welcome there with our kids who pretty much had the run of the place. Susan, the innkeeper, made muffins for the kids and each night would ask them what they wanted for breakfast the next day. The kids were in heaven! Also, it didn't take Susan long to learn that my husband is a chocoholic. She had chocolate chocolate chip cookies, chocolate cupcakes and brownies for him as an afternoon snack each day! We really enjoyed the hospitality and if we get back to N. Conway (from Arizona), we will definitely be staying at the Inn again.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the privacy of the 3rd floor. Loved the sloping ceilings. Very cozy. There are 2 rooms up on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    37
    7
    9
    14
See reviews for
52
61
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hooksett, New Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The inn and cottage was the perfect place for a family get away and visit to Storyland. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful. It was easy to tell that they love their job and their customers. We felt right at home with our three VERY energetic children and dog in a cottage. There is so much to do in this beautiful town-We had a blast! Also, Sue's French Toast and coffee are delicious. There is nothing like having happy kids! It is perfectly central to all sorts of wonderful places in the town. You can walk everywhere. Storyland is just minutes away. My children loved it! Someday, we would like to stay in the inn without the kids for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: If you have a family who has a great deal of energy like ours, I would stay in a cottage. Also, thes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Overall, this B&B is not worth the price and especially provides the worst client service I have ever seen in north america.
Pros:
-dog friendly - no additional charge
-location
Cons:
-First contact with in keeper: "give me your credit card to pay the remaining balance"
-Breakfasts: low quality food, unfrozen cakes, tasteless fruits, everything is cheap. No flexibility for the timing of breakfast (8 am to 10.30 am).
-housekeeping: No housekeeping had been made before our arrival (toilet bowl had large stains from the previous customers, there were some spider nets in the room). We had to request it specifically since my wife couldn't go to the toilets. Only on 1 out of our 3 nights, the housecleaning had been performed, since requested. The other days, no cleaning made (only towels were changed).
-equipment in the room: everything is very old, cheap and not clean. With few efforts, this could be beautiful and convenient but not an objective of the innkeepers apparently.
Overall it gave us the impression that in this touristic area no care about guests, cleanliness and quality of the cottages, quality of the breakfast, and client service (cleaning, kindness) was necessary to charge more than 100$ per night. Paid same price in NY city downtown for some basic hotels that were better maintained and with better client service. Would not recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Absolutely wonderful place run by a wonderful couple who make you feel right at home. We were climbing mt washington and stayed here, and since we had to leave earlier than they serve breakfast, they gave all 6 of us a boat load of food the night before to have for breakfast! So amazing, supportive and wonderful people!!
also has a great charm to it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DRACUT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Had a great time. Stayed in a cabin and it was very cozy. Loved the gas fireplace, put it on first thing since it was not only a very snowy weekend but very cold. The owners were very nice and we met a nice coupld staying in a cottage also. We had 2 homemade breakfasts at the inn which were excellent. All in all I would recommend staying there. It was also right outside N. Conway Village so very close to everything.

Room Tip: We stayed in a cottage so I don't know what the inn was like. I would stay there again
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Given the high tourism of the area, this is a great value for a B&B. We stayed in the main building, the Jefferson Room to be precise.

The room was large and sunny. Though chilly when we arrived, the gas log stove warmed up the room quickly and we ended up having to turn it down in the night. The bed was comfortable though the pillows were flat. The first morning the shower ran hot and cold but by afternoon and the following morning there were no issues.

The breakfast the first day was French toast and sausage, with quiche and a ham slice on the second day. Home made coffee cake was served both days, with fresh baked cookies each afternoon.

The thing that gave it the 4th star, in addition to the price for what you got, was the owner Sue. Very outgoing and almost motherly especially with some young adults staying in one the cabins who were not dressed properly for what they were planning on doing that day, it gave us a chuckle listening in on the conversation. She also had two adorable and friendly dogs which helped make us feel at home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allenstown, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We a couple of days to enjoy the area and we had a great time. The cottage was comfortable and we were able to bring our dog. Richard and Sue we're wonderful hosts and the breakfast was a special treat. Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Red Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Red Inn & Cottages

Address: Rt 16 / 302, White Mountain Highway, North Conway Village, North Conway, NH 03860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > North Conway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Red Inn & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Red Inn and Cottages is located in the Village of North Conway, we are the closest Inn and Cottages to the Village, only five hundred yards away. We offer five Inn rooms and ten cottages (both 1 & 2 bedroom) all with private bathroom. If you are looking to experience the simpler way of life, then charms of the Mount Washington Valley will be your perfect place. The Inn has free wi-fi, in-ground pool, pinic tables and grills along with a delicous morning breakfast. The mountains are close by so hiking, swimming, canoeing, horse back riding, skiing, tubbing, snow shoeing, mountain climbing, scenic rides, gondola rides, sleigh rides and so much more are with-in minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Old Red Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Red Inn And Cottages
Old Red Inn & Cottages Hotel North Conway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Red Inn & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.