We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables

Save Saved
You added Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables
2555 West Side Rd, North Conway, NH 03860   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20 Yrs of Hospitaliy Deal
Ranked #10 of 27 North Conway B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I rate this B&B a 10/10. It is a beautiful Country Inn surrounded by the mountains in North Conway. The Innkeepers, Rick & Charlene are simply wonderful. They have an eye for detail, to make our stay warm and memorable. They are very gracious & helpful. One can tell that they love what they do. The breakfast is very good and the homemade muffins and cookies are great. We love relaxing and enjoying the views of the horses and mountains. We will be planning more trips to the best B&B!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    25
    8
    6
    6
See reviews for
37
89
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We felt very welcome and right at home from the moment we arrived. The breakfasts were so good! I wish I could make eggs like that! Quiet setting with wonderful views of Cathedral Ledge and the mountains. The goats were fun to visit. We would go biking or exploring during the day and come back to our home away from home at night. We were pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This B&B is wonderful. Rick and Charlene do a great job to make you feel right at home. Breakfast, all I can say is WOW !!!! Worth the trip to North Conway. Loved sitting outside with a glass of wine and looking at the horses. This is a must do. Thank you again Rick and Charlene.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for three days. It was awesome! We loved the room, the animals and the breakfast! The horses and goats were so interesting to see up close and the family dog was adorable! I can't wait to come back in the fall!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had been planning a nature-filled getaway for some time and finally came upon Farm By the River. We could not have been happier with our choice to stay here—from the second we walked in we were welcomed and taken care of. The rooms are perfectly quaint, clean, and cozy and the scenery could not be beat. Breakfast in the morning was to die for and even more so when it was served out on the patio overlooking the mountains. The horses and other animals were all very friendly and a great addition to the stay—especially the goats Max and Freckles that we even got the chance to play with. Tucked away on a quiet road where you can count the number of cars that pass by in an hour while sitting on a rocking chair on the front porch, the bed and breakfast is just minutes from the center of town and tons of delicious restaurants and great shops. RIght down the road are incredible waterfalls at Diana's Baths, Echo Lake State Park, and Cathedral Ledge to tucker you out so you can come back and enjoy some time laying on the outdoor hammock. Needless to say, we will definitely be returning in the future!

Room Tip: Captain's Room is smaller but still very cozy, great view of the horses in the field! There isn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at Farm by the River for two days in mid-April, and found North Conway to be a beautiful area in New Hampshire, and the Farm's location to hold majestic views of mountains and forest.

Those staying at the Farm could easily spend an entire afternoon on the property, and though we didn't go riding, other guests commented that they thoroughly enjoyed the trail. The baby goats are playful and lovable - other reviewers have mentioned their likeness to puppies, which we completely agree with - and many of the horses enjoy the attention and touch of the visitors.

We stayed in the Uffer room and found it both clean and comfortable. We enjoyed lounging around in the evenings and sipping hot chocolate, which is graciously arranged with hot drink mixes on a table for guests to enjoy. Breakfasts both mornings were delicious, served with juice, coffee, and tea. The food is all purchased locally and made fresh every morning; we particularly enjoyed the blueberry muffins and waffles on our last day. Conversations with guests, as well as the owner, Reed, were full of laughs, stories, and good will. Reed even suggested a scenic route home at the end of our stay, which proved to be well worth the extra miles.

For all those looking for a cozy bed, delightful meetings, and rustic revelry, the Farm is great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Highly recommended. The property is a rambling farmhouse that has been lovingly made into a cozy country inn. The rooms are tastefully done in rustic style -- we had a late-model wall-mounted TV and a gas fireplace at the foot of our bed, with window views of the corral and of the distant mountains. My daughter loved watching the stars coming out at night, and seeing the horses grazing in the corral. Housecleaning was prompt and thorough every day.
The breakfasts were bountiful and delicious -- we stayed three days and enjoyed a different delicacy each day. My favorite might have been the Belgian waffles. All breakfasts come with a bottomless pot of great coffee, fruit, and muffins, and they'll make eggs, sausage, and toast for you if you don't like the featured breakfast entree. I agree that the muffins were fabulous.
The stables and the horses, however, were the big draw. The inn keeps about a dozen horses of incredible variety, from huge Percherons to smaller riding horses. The animals are well-cared for and they have a horse to match every level of ability and every size. Our trail ride was extensive, over fields, through forest, and along the river, with two wonderful guides riding ahead and behind us. Well worth the price.
My daughter loved Max and Freckles, the miniature goats. You can get right in their pen and have fun watching them tramp around on their elevated walkways or just hug and pet them to your heart's content.
The innkeepers were warm but not overbearing. Rick is really generous with his time and saw to every detail to make our stay a fun experience. We're definitely coming back again, and soon.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor in front, loved it. No jacuzzi, but we didn't miss it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables

Address: 2555 West Side Rd, North Conway, NH 03860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > North Conway
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a horseback ride or a private carriage or sleigh ride for 2-4 - right outside your door from this charming inn with 9 units. All rooms or 2 room suites have private baths, flat screen TVs, A/C, and free Wi-Fi. Both the inn and the public stables are open yr-round. We are located off the beaten path but just 2 miles from Downtown North Conway and on 70 scenic acres along the Saco river and have 20 resident horses frolicking in the pastures! Complimentary snowshoeing, group sleigh or wagon ride are also available. Enjoy a complimentary full patio or fireside breakfast with views of the gardens and the mountains. Some rooms: 2-person jacuzzis and/or fireplaces. A deluxe 4 bedroom cottage-Alpine Moose Cottage is also available. We are a family-friendly inn, and offer a variety of packages: Ride & Stay, photography, murder mystery,family adventure, skiing. We have a dog friendly room and cottage. Also on site: gardens, horseback all yr- river swimming & fly-fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farm By The River Bed And Breakfast With Stables Hotel North Conway
Farm By The River b&b With Stables

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farm by the River Bed and Breakfast with Stables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.