We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT RETREAT WITH BEAUTIFUL SCENERY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eastman Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Eastman Inn to your Saves list
Eastman Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2331 White Mountain Highway (Route 16), Route 16, North Conway, NH 03860   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 23 North Conway B&B and Inns
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“PERFECT RETREAT WITH BEAUTIFUL SCENERY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

The Eastman Inn is a perfect place to stay when travelling through the White Mountain area of New Hampshire. The rooms are comfortable and cosy and the breakfast is delicious. The veranda is the perfect place to sit in the evenings and enjoy the view of the mountains after a day of travelling and sight seeing. The host is wonderful and really makes sure everyone is comfortable and has everything they need. We had a wonderful stay and would certainly stay again. It's great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    33
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
78
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

We spent 2 nights here following our stay at the Wentworth Inn in Jackson, NH. The Wentworth is more of a hotel than a true inn (see separate review). This was like a comfy home away from home, warm and welcoming and BEAUTIFULLY decorated for Christmas. I asked if we could get a bigger room so the four of us had a private place to relax, and they were more than happy to upgrade us to their best suite, no extra charge!
Friendly knowledgeable staff, indescribably wonderful breakfasts and all kinds of complimentary goodies available made us want to never leave. Thank you Eastman Inn for making our mountain getaway everything we hoped it would be.
God bless trip advisor for steering us to this little slice of heaven :):):)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

Staying only one night, we weren't able to make use of most things. We felt the inn was very charming and comfortable. It has a nice location being minutes from the village. Our room #9 had a private bath and a gas fireplace which was greatly appreciated because the room would have been a cool without it. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Breakfast would have been more enjoyable if more choices were given. But the atmosphere was excellent and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

Stayed at the inn with my teenage daughter while hiking in North Conway. We had room#1, which is the two twin beds. The room was very clean and cozy. Only drawback is the traffic noise as this room is very near to the street (Rte 16). The bed was also a little firm for my taste. However this was a nice experience for myself and daughter as the owner was not intrusive and we came and went as we pleased. The breakfast was very good, but I would have liked to have had a choice in my food. Everyone was served the same meal. I would definitely recommend for travelers who desire two beds. It was perfect for us.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

The elegant Eastman Inn was one the nicest places I have ever stayed. The room was beautiful and clean with a gorgeous bathroom that had a claw foot bathtub and shower. The beds were comfortable and decor lovely. The sitting area was beautiful - we had wine and cheese as we looked at the books and magazines available by the inn. Plus, there was a wonderful view from the pretty picture window looking out to the mountains. The innkeepers were extremely friendly and kind. The room was an excellent value compared to basic motels nearby for close the same price. The location was ideal - right outside the North Conway Village - an easy walk to shops and restaurants. The best part of the inn was the breakfast. Every morning was an incredible experience including coffee and juice. We loved the fact of walking right out of our room and having a full gourmet breakfast brought right to the table. I will be going back to the Eastman Inn for ski season very soon!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

The public areas were great, however, our room was "tired" the bathroom in particular was in need of refurbishment. There was no fridge or microwave oven and coffee was only available in the main house. There was no air conditioning so summer temperatures may be an issue. The heating system, too, in our room was not up to modern standards - we needed a fan heater to supplement it!
The breakfast food was of high quality and well cooked. However, there was no menu or buffet. Unbidden, each guest was presented with a single plate containing 4 or 5 separate items [not always to everyones taste], plus coffee and fruit juice. On neither of our two days were we offered fresh fruit to complement our entrees as stated on the Inn's web page. Hardly a gastronomic adventure more a gastronomic trip into the unknown.
The Eastman Inn has an interesting 100 year history but operates in the 21st century.
My wife and I are seasoned travellers both in Europe and the USA and felt that the Inn, although comfortable, welcoming with friendly, helpful staff, was significantly over priced and lacking in some basic amenities.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

We love to stay at the Eastman Inn each autumn for our anniversary. The house is so charming and inviting, the history of it in this area is very interesting. The Innkeeper, Art , told us that Mr. & Mrs. Eastman were buried in the cemetery just down the road. I did the framed stonerubbings which are in the upstairs hallway, it's one of my favorite hobbies. Sherrie and Art serve a generous and delicious breakfast .After breakfast, we have a variety of choices of activities in the area. I love reading and I make my yearly trip to the White Birch Book Store, just down the road. Later on, I savor the time I can spend reading my books, uninterrruped, on the porch in a cozy rocker, with gentle breeze and a view of the magnificent Moat Mountains right in front of the Inn. This is while My husband, who is an avid cyclist, is off on one of his long afternoon bike rides, which he loves. He also enjoys going to the area bike shops. We have taken the awesome train ride on several occasions, it's a great way relax and enjoy the view of God's creation. We love to hike, so we asked our innkeeper where some of the best places were and he gave us great information . We have visited Arethusa Falls and Champney in the White Mountains, it was beautiful and great exercise, but not extreme exercise( we ARE on vacation!). We also found great places to have dinner right close by, and dessert too. We are icecream lovers, so we go to get the best ever at Ben & Jerry's. We have to even out the calories so we go together and enjoy a ride on our tandem. We cherish our wedding anniversary, so we celebrate it by staying at the Eastman Inn, it is our coveted weekend time, that we look forward to every year.It is every thing in a bed & breakfast you could ask for, the rooms are beautiful, fresh, and each has it's own appeal. We have stayed in several. Last year, for our 30th, we stayed in the Premier King Room upstairs, it has a balcony and fireplace-so romantic! We just booked again and I can't wait. Thank so much Art, Marta and Sherrie Love, Pastor Bill & Gloria from Maine

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eastman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastman Inn

Address: 2331 White Mountain Highway (Route 16), Route 16, North Conway, NH 03860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > North Conway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eastman Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Eastman Inn, a 14 room bed and breakfast located in the heart of the White Mountains. Let Arthur, Marta, or Trina welcome you to our inn with a smile, a cup of tea, a bottle of cold water and some fresh baked cookies. As you enter through our dining area you will be greeted and given a tour of the common areas. Most people love to sit on our porch above the main road heading into town. You can relax on one of our porch rockers and watch the world go by. In our parlor you will find a bookshelf of games and books for you to enjoy. Use the dining tables for that late night game of scrabble. In the winter we light the fireplace in the evenings. Each of our 14 rooms have a private bath. Our rooms are all individually decorated, some have claw foot tubs with a shower combination, others a Jacuzzi bath and others a regular stall shower. Rooms come with King or Queen beds and we even have a room with Antique Twin beds on the first floor. In the morning come down for early coffee. We need it as we cook your breakfast, so by 7:00 am we guarantee a fresh pot. You can try earlier, but we could be grumpy if that first "Cooks" pot has not fully brewed. We do our best to make you feel like family, so there are few formalities, we all just respect each others privacy and property. Ask us for hints on things to do or places to visit. We have scoured the Mount Washington Valley and we can give you pointers on avoiding the crowds, yet getting that perfect picture of a Moose, Bear or beautiful stream. The Eastman Inn has been welcoming guests for around 100 years and we hope to do it another 100. Call or make an online reservation soon, we hope to make you a very satisfied 'returning' guest. Our Eastman Family has grown so much in the past 8 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eastman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eastman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.