We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Conway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise
64 Mount Surprise Road, PO Box 1817, North Conway, NH 03860-1817   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 North Conway B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Richmond, Vermont
1 review
“Anniversary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

Very clean, great service and ideally located. A great romantic spot.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    375
    32
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
74
281
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beavercreek, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

After roaming around northern New England for a couple of weeks, my wife and I count our 4-day stay at Buttonwood as one of the most pleasant places we have stayed in the last 4-5 years. The quiet country setting of the inn was very refreshing after spending several days in downtown settings. We enjoyed using the hiking paths adjacent to the inn as a pleasant way to start the day. Sitting on the porch enjoying a cup of tea in the afternoon or coffee in the morning was probably one of the most relaxing stays we can remember, especially while watching the hummingbirds and chipmunks. The room we had was very neatly decorated and clean, had a comfortable bed, and had a good view over the lawn. The breakfasts every morning were absolutely delightful and nourishing with excellent variety each day. The hosts, Bill and Paula, were very friendly and went out of their way to help with answers to questions and dinner reservations.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

My stay at the Buttonwood Inn was quite memorable. The inn itself was decorated so tastefully I felt like I was walking into an old friend's home. I so appreciate all the hard work that Bill and Paula do. They worked very hard to make your stay pleasant. Soimetimes they seemed a bit overwhelmed, but by the end of our stay they had warmed up and seemed much more relaxed. The rooms were positively spotless and decorated with heart and attention to detail. The surroundings were perfectly suited for leisure. I was able to sit and enjoy the hummingbirds (one of them was pretty cheeky) and the hot tub and pool were relaxing and invigorating respectively. I look forward to another visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

The Buttonwood Inn provides an excellent base to enjoy exploring the White Mountain/North Conway area of New Hampshire. The standard of food, room and general facilities were absolutely first class. The Innkeepers - Bill & Paula make guests feel very welcome and offer helpful service and advice on local attractions, restaurants and directions. Altogether excellent and exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxted, E Sussex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

That is how we would describe Buttonwood Inn! Whether you are describing the beautiful surroundings the comfortable accommodation, the sincere hospitality or the delicious food!!!
We had to extend out stay in order to check how extensive Paula's gourmet breakfast repertoire really was!!!!! (And whether Bill could be that charming every morning!!!). We cannot recommend staying here highly enough!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

Buttonwood Inn is a hidden gem nestled in the breathtaking woods of North Conway. I was driving to a hike and noticed the sign on the side of the road. When I checked it out later, I couldn't believe what I discovered. It was a true blessing for me, a solo traveler. The Inn itself is precious-well appointed and furnished elegantly, yet with a cozy north woodsy feel. There is everything, and more, one could think of for ammenities including beautiful gardens and a nice sized swimming pool and hot tub. The morning gourmet breakfast, included in your stay, will keep you going most of the day.The Inn Keepers are extremely gracious and welcoming. Because there are only 10 rooms, I'm a little reluctant to share this secret place...it's almost too good to be true. It will be my new home in the woods each time I visit the mountains.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Lovely spot away from the bustle of North Conway.

Clean and quaintly furnished rooms, with loads of outside space for frisbee throwing or watching the wildlife - mostly the hummingbirds. Hosts Bill and Paula were friendly and helpful.

A great spot to explore the White Mountains from, provided you're happy not to be in walking distance of restaurants / shops. We loved the peace and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise

Address: 64 Mount Surprise Road, PO Box 1817, North Conway, NH 03860-1817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > North Conway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buttonwood Inn was selected by TravelChannel-com as one of the “Top 10 New England Bed and Breakfasts” in October 2010. BedandBreakfasts-com awarded The Buttonwood Inn Best of New England 2010-11 and Best Food 2009-10. Unwind with afternoon tea and home baked treats in front of one of our traditional wood burning fireplaces in either our large living room or the Mt. Surprise Room when days are cool. You can select a spot in the sun or shade in one of our Adirondack chairs or take a dip in our heated pool or soak in our open air hot tub with a view of the mountains and forest by day or stars by night. The Buttonwood Inn, a Select Registry member since 1999, is one of 25 proud recipients of America's Favorite Inns Award and the subject of the "White Mountain Wonderland" article in Classic American Homes. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Buttonwood Inn on Mount Surprise to your Saves list