We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, location, value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of May Kelly's Cottage Restaurant and Pub

May Kelly's Cottage Restaurant and Pub
Route 16, North Conway, NH 03860
603-356-7005
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 86 Restaurants in North Conway
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Hingham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, location, value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We read the reviews and decided to give it a go. The owner is friendly, a great greeter. The atmosphere is fun with an eclectic mixture of items hung on walls, from ceilings, etc. I ordered corned beef/cabbage dinner. Others ordered baked haddock w/bread crumbs, fried fish sandwich and a reuben sandwich. The corned beef was lean and plentiful with cabbage and fingerling potatoes. The only criticism was that it was in slab form. I prefer the thinner slices. The reuben was also in slab form. My mom had difficulty cutting and eating it. She prefers the thinner slices, too. The fish sandwich was fine. The haddock dinner tasted "off." When I mentioned this to the waitress, she was very receptive and sent the owner over who told us the fish came in that day "fresh." We are from Boston and eat fresh fish every week. I would fire their buyer. It's the taste that puts you off from eating fish for a while. They offered free desserts to all, which we declined. They serve an abundance of food, so there was no room for dessert. The owner packed me one and gave it to me at the door. They really are accommodating and their sincere warmth is part of the charm. I just wish they sliced the corned beef thinner and checked their fish for taste/freshness. I guess when you fry it, the funny taste disappears. No complaints from the fish sandwich.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    127
    42
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, VA
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I had dinner at May Kelly's while staying in North Conway. The night we went the area was experiencing torrential downpours, so all the windows in the restaurant were closed. It seemed very stuff and musty to me. It's decorated with lots of memorabilia and all the old items contribute to a smell that can only be described as Eau de Grandmother's Attic. I ordered the Ploughman's dinner with the steak cooked medium, and it ended up beyond well done, tough as shoe leather. It was very disappointing. My husband, on the other hand, enjoyed his haddock.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

It was Girls week-end and we always said we were going to try May Kelle's Restaurant in North Conway and never got there. This time we went. It was everything everyone said it was~AWESOME! We sat at the bar til our table was ready. We got seated in the bar area.There was so much to see. I don't think there is any more space to hang anything on those walls. Everyone is so nice and always has a smile on their face. Let me tell you, the food was great. I ordered the chicken pot pie...huge portion...with a high flaky crust. Never saw anything lke it. My friend had the turkey dinner...you have never seen turkey slices that thick before. It wasn't deli meat, it was the real thing! To full to even look at the dessert menu.
My husband and I are going back at the end of October and you can be assured we WILL be returning to may Kelle's!!!!!!! Next time your in the area, give it a try...YOU WILL LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!

Shirley :-)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food with live Irish music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Not typically 'Irish' in the British sense, but American Irish, we presume. The whole place was quite bizarrely fitted out with artefacts and Irish memorabilia everywhere. Our meals were excellent and some local folk musicians provided background music.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“We enjoyed it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were staying next door to May Kelly's at the Wyatt House Country Inn, so we walked over for an early dinner. At first, they asked if we wanted to sit on the patio and that sounded nice, especially with the gorgeous view. But, as soon as we walked out there, the lady said she had made a mistake because someone had reserved that table. Oh, well, not the end of the world. But, the air conditioner wasn't on indoors and it was a bit stuffy, at least for me. I just got a cheeseburger, which was fine. My wife got a fish sandwich that she liked. Our dinner was nothing special, but it was fine and the service was good. I am sure there are some house specialties that we could have had, but we wanted simple food, as we were ready to get back to our room and relax.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed May Kelly's Cottage Restaurant and Pub also viewed

North Conway, White Mountains
North Conway, White Mountains
 
North Conway, White Mountains
North Conway, White Mountains
 

Been to May Kelly's Cottage Restaurant and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage May Kelly's Cottage Restaurant and Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.