We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Hampton Inn Standards” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1788 White Mountain Hwy, North Conway, NH 03860   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #7 of 25 hotels in North Conway
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not up to Hampton Inn Standards”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

When we stay at a hotel chain, Hampton Inn is our usual chain of choice. However, this particular one did not meet our expectations after staying at many different Hampton Inns. Definite mold issues on the air conditioning unit and glass shower door in room. Found this surprising because we have always found Hampton Inns to be clean and comfortable. Duvet cover on the bed was worn and had probably been laundered with dark clothing because there were "black pills" all over it. Not very inviting. For the price, which is probably a little high because of the location, not worth it. Our room was on the water park side and all you could smell was chlorine in the hallways regardless of what floor you were on. Don't think I'd go back to this property.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tespaulding1, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns, about a recent stay at our hotel. While we typically enjoy words of praise, we carefully listen to those that are more critical. I apologize that you left feeling disappointed. We have recently been replacing our duvets with new covers and inserts. We acknowledge the pilling, it's a definite sign that it is time to "retire" it. We have completed the process throughout the hotel. We were concerned with the mold that your mentioned, and have sent our housekeeping management team through the rooms. I regret that we haven't found any issues as of this date. My job is to ensure your satisfaction, please contact me directly so that I may take care of it. Again, we apologize for any inconveniences that we may have caused you, and look forward to winning you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    360
    195
    50
    16
    4
See reviews for
390
128
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Had a reservation at another hotel that over booked. Looking for a place to accommodate 2 children and my husband we ended up at this hotel. Clean rooms and the staff is so professional and sweet. I would never take my family to another hotel in North Conway. We have not checked out the water park yet but looks like fun. Once again after a long drive and a bad experience at the residence inn across the street....you will not find kinder staff or a better place to stay in nh.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tespaulding1, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you very much. We are happy that your trip to North Conway ended up on a positive note, we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holliston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Literally!!! We stayed here for two nights in July. (We based our decision on the TA reviews and the water slides.) I traveled with my mom (age 74) and son (age 6). We wanted somewhere close to Storyland and were extremely pleased with the friendly and helpful staff. We arrived after 9pm on a Tuesday night after traveling for about 9 hours. (That story would fill a book!) Exhausted, we went right to bed and headed out to Storyland the next day. After returning to our accommodations, we decided to give the "water park" a try. The "park" consisted of two large slides and two much smaller slides. My son was a bit skittish about the slides so I went down the large, yellow open slide first. My mom followed me. After an exhilarating ride with twists and turns, I got out of the way for my mom to come down. She followed me but didn't come up right away. I thought she might be joking around because the water was only 3 feet deep, but after a few seconds I realized she was genuinely in trouble. I quickly hurried over to her but before I could take a couple of steps, one of the staff members was already in the pool to help her up and out. Cody literally saved her life and I am so glad that he was there!! A different staff member explained that a lot of Seniors become disoriented on the slides (vertigo) and have a hard time figuring out which way is up. Mom stayed out of the water after that, but I thought it is important to share her story for others traveling with grandparents.
By the way, the green slide was fun, but even more disorienting because it is enclosed. The breakfast was excellent and well-stocked. All of the staff was friendly and helpful but Cody deserves a huge thank you for saving my mom's life!!!

Room Tip: Be prepared for the pitter-patter of little feet above you if you are on one of the lower floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tespaulding1, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
I must admit that this is not our normal review. While most families love staying at our hotel and find us to be a great value, this is the first time we saved a grandmother. All kidding aside, we are very happy that she ended up being safe, Our water park staff members are all CPR certified, and participate in regular emergency training. Cody is a young high school lad who has been with us for a few years, and leaves this fall for college. He takes his job very seriously. We have shared all of the kind words that you have showered us, he is glad he could help. Please give the grandmother our best, we look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night in July. The hotel staff was friendly. We were given a very nice room, which included a mini fridge and microwave. There was plenty of parking. While we were not traveling with children, we visited the pool which included 4 water slides (two large, two for smaller children). Our children would have had a blast when they were younger. The hot tub was nice as well, and since there was a life guard the no children in the hot tub rule was enforced. The breakfast area was slightly small for the number of guests and the food area felt cramped, but we managed. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are best, but even with all of the children, it was pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tespaulding1, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing with us. Many of our rooms are suites, so they are large and oversized. All suites come with a microwave and refrigerator for our traveling families. The rates include unlimited use of our indoor water park, our hot breakfast buffet in the morning, and wireless is complimentary at our hotel. We hope that we will see you again soon. Thank you for being guests at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was a very nice hotel. Had a nice water park. The room was large and included a refrigerator. Right in town. Accommodated with a quiet room. Good restaurants nearby. A little hard to turn left out of. Cookies in the lobby. Even though we had no kids with us, it was quite nice. My friends and I would return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tespaulding1, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and all of our amenities. There is nothing like a platter of freshly baked cookies, and cold lemonade, on a summers day. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was a reasonable hotel and the room was excellent. We chose a small suite, which had a bedroom and a pull-out couch in the sitting room, as there were 3 of us. We were very pleased with the space and there was also a microwave and fridge - very useful. Breakfast was included and looked good but was a bit disappointing. Waffles great but hot food not good. Also, the breakfast area felt like a cheap hotel at Disneyland, with children running around shouting everywhere. Not good.
The advertised water park was ok but a bit limited. There was a fun pool for tinies and 2 very big slides for older kids or adults. They were good but the problem was, there was nothing else - no pool to swim in. So you go down the slide, go down the slide again... that's it.
However, the hotel did the job fine and was not too expensive.

Room Tip: Mini suites worth the extra. Kitchen facilities and a pull out couch, effectively giving a 2nd bedro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tespaulding1, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate you taking the time and are glad to hear that the accommodations were suitable to your needs. We are a family friendly hotel, in a family friendly resort area. It is always fun to witness the children's excitement in the morning, as they make plans for their day. Some people can find this excitement overwhelming, others are delighted to witness it. We do offer trays for those that prefer to bring breakfast up to their rooms, in a more peaceful setting. Should you travel back to the states, and northern New England, we hope you will choose us for your future lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were looking for a hotel in North Conway that accomadates dogs and found a review for the Hampton Suites that highly recommended it. Was that right on. The front desk staff loved dogs and has biscuits for them (along with fesh baked cookies for guests). They designate the entire second floor as pet friendly. Staff suggested we go out for dinner and if our dog was making noise they would get him and then call us (we didn't take them up on this).

In general the the staff was freindly and helpful and we enjoyed our stay. Also, there is a decent indoor waterpark with three slides.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tespaulding1, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing the events of your recent stay, we are thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel. We are indeed pet friendly, and have designated pet rooms available. These rooms are scattered throughout the hotel and are typically the first to go. As you know, we not only accept pets, but are "pet crazy" people and love making a fuss over them. For those hoping to bring the extended members of their family, please call the hotel directly, on pet room availability. We only take them in these designated rooms. As you are aware, we do not have additional fees for these room types. Other hotels in town charge anywhere from $25 to $100 a day. Please check out our at Facebook page for our weekly pet postings. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway

Address: 1788 White Mountain Hwy, North Conway, NH 03860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > North Conway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in North Conway
#3 Family Hotel in North Conway
#7 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest hotels in North Conway, and in the Mount Washington Valley. Located next to over 100 tax free outlet stores and local restaurants. Enjoy our 5000 square foot indoor water park. The park features two, three story slides, a toddlers section with two smaller slides, Fernando the Frog and the watering mushroom. Expanded wireless is complimentary throughout the building for all of our guests. Start your day we our FREE hot breakfast buffet, and get your family ready for a busy day. Enjoy many of the areas attractions and activities, during all seasons. Pets are welcomed, and there are never any additional fees when staying with Hampton Inns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites North Conway
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway Hotel North Conway
Hampton Inn North Conway
North Conway Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.