We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, pet friendly but needs updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Yankee Clipper Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Yankee Clipper Inn to your Saves list
The Yankee Clipper Inn
1769 White Mountain Highway, PO Box 479, North Conway, NH 03860   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean, pet friendly but needs updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed here two nights during our shopping trip in July. The staff was friendly, the rates were reasonable and thy were pet friendly ($30 fee). The pet rooms are on the lower level with a sliding door to the grounds which was great! The room was clean but definitely needs some updating. A basic breakfast was included. The outdoor pool was great and relaxing! There is a small indoor pool and hottub available as well. Very close to the outlet shopping.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    33
    34
    13
    10
See reviews for
42
43
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thomaston
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

When I booked this hotel from my mobile phone, I was a little out of my comfort zone because it was not a chain hotel. The price was excellent and breakfast was included in the attached restaurant, The Blueberry Muffin. I was so pleasantly surprised, the hotel was clean and well-appointed. To unload our vehicle, we pulled in front of our room and used the removable bar-guarded sliding doors. It was so easy! Breakfast was a wonderful way to start our adventure in North Conway.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The clerks at the front desk were helpful and the wait staff at the Motel restaurant called The Blueberry Muffin were efficient and friendly but this old place needs an infusion of cash to bring it up to a tourist standard. The carpets are basic in-door out-door and are worn and dirty. The patio doors are of poor quality and are secured by a make-shift folding rod. The locks have long ago ceased to work. The bathroom ceiling in our unit was water stained as were some places in the first floor hall ceiling. While we were there the back entrance door glass was broken.
So in summary the human resource side of the Motel was quite good but the physical plant is not satisfactory for even economy tourist accommodation.
On the positive side of the ledger, the place is near The Settlers Green Outlets if you are in a shopping state of mind. The beds were clean and comfortable. But sadly The Yankee Clipper Inn does not make the grade in spite of the well intentioned people working there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. We took our son to Thomas. Room was ok, clean, no amenities really. There's a pool indoors and outdoors. We didn't get a chance to use either. The Inn is located close to the outlets and where we needed to be. The Blueberry Muffin restaurant next door is good! You get a $3.79 credit towards your meal. The bathroom is so small, wasnt a fan of it! Towels are not great, would have been nice to have nicer ones. The sheets on our bed were awful!! They kept coming off in the middle of the night, they weren't the right size...but we never asked for others, we just dealt with it! Staff is nice. There was space outside our room for our son to play. We were told by others that there was a black bear on premises the night before we got there!!!! Would have been fun to see....!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laconia, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Room was clean, updated, nice to have a fridge. It did seem like the walls were thin - could hear showers and toilets flushing next door or upstairs. Staff was pleasant. Disappointed that outdoor pool was out of service, but enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed at the Clipper on May 16th. It was clean and was reasonably priced which is what we were looking for. They gave us a voucher for $3.79 towards breakfast or one person could get eggs,toast and coffee free. Nice restaurant called the Blueberry Muffin which is on site. If you are looking for more than that I wouldn't recommend staying. Nice staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Brookfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

My stay here was excellent. The room was very clean and the housekeeping staff did a thorough job. Kelly McReel provided superior customer service and made my stay that much easier. This will the place I stay at, the next time I am in the area. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Yankee Clipper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yankee Clipper Inn

Address: 1769 White Mountain Highway, PO Box 479, North Conway, NH 03860
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > North Conway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yankee Clipper is on the way to everything……at the center of it all. With 24 hour front desk staffing, our 68 comfortable rooms have cable TV, Wi-Fi, and refrigerators. Queen bedded rooms have gas fireplaces and Jacuzzi bathtubs. We offer dog friendly rooms. Relax in our hot tub or indoor pool (outside pool closed in the winter). Breakfast Special for 2 adults at our on-site Blueberry Muffin Restaurant open from 7:00am to 2:00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Yankee Clipper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yankee Clipper Hotel North Conway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Yankee Clipper Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.