We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD VALUE FOR THE PRICE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Yankee Clipper Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Yankee Clipper Inn to your Saves list
The Yankee Clipper Inn
1769 White Mountain Highway, PO Box 479, North Conway, NH 03860   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“GOOD VALUE FOR THE PRICE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

been going up to north conway now for 10 years and never stayed here untill last year as my regular spots kept going up in price. i stayed in a room with 2 full beds and it was a little cramped for me and my family as we used 2 blow up matresses for my 2 boys. but they have a block of rooms with 2 queen beds and a whole lotta room for 2 blow up matresses which i looked at while i was there and now i book the room with queen beds instead. pools both indoor and outdoor were fine and clean. standard breakfast comes for each person staying there which is fine and for anything else a minor charge is extra basically total cost after coupons used was about 5 to 10 dollars for 4 adults. i saved so much money staying here just to sleep that we had more to spend at the outlets at settlers green. people there are great also and make the stay enjoyable.going back this july and already reserved bigger room for my family. thanx kelly and staff at the yankee clipper.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    38
    35
    14
    11
See reviews for
44
46
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

First let me say that the Blueberry Muffin Restaurant and staff at the hotel are wonderful. I just wish the Inn was better so I could give them my business. My friend and I decided to go up to the White Mountains for some fun. Since I have always loved the Blueberry Muffin Restaurant we figured we would give the Inn a try. I wish we hadn't.

We reserved what they advertised as the "fireplace and jacuzzi" rooms. I was horrified from the second we opened the door. It was the kind of place where I felt weird about taking my shoes off. It looked like a crime scene with scuffs and gouges all over the walls. I know hotels experience some wear, but this place was unreal. To top it off, they randomly covered over some of them with a different color paint than the rest of the wall, and with brush strokes that completely went against the grain. I mean, brush strokes aren't necessarily a deal breaker, but it just added to the whole atmosphere of not giving a hoot how clean or done up the room is. The place had a kind of funk. Everything had a layer of dust and therei was a weird smell.

When it came to the hot tub, it wasn't a jacuzzi. It was a dingy bathtub with a couple of jets in the side. I wouldn't have been able to sit in it if I tried, and I am reasonably short. The jacuzzi wasn't the only thing that wasn't up to what was advertised. The indoor pool was tiny, and the whole area is surrounded by filthy, wet carpet. How disgusting is that!!! We were horrified.

Sadly enough, we had to leave. I felt TERRIBLE, because the front desk staff was SOOO nice. I wish their higher management would do something about the state of the rooms so we could give them our business. I still recommend the restaurant though, the food and prices are great.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for one of the rooms closer to the restaurant because they are used more often???
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport MA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

2nd time staying at this property while skiing in the white mountians. Clean,quiet and comfortable for one of the lowest rates around and it has an indoor pool. Included breakfast is actually just a coupon for eggs and (unfortunately this morning, cold) toast in the attached restaurant. Desk staff is friendly. Overall it is a place I'd send friends on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

I've stayed here 4 or 5 times over the past year and a half with my now 7 year old on Storyland excursions and the like and it's great for what you pay for. It's not the Ritz but it's clean, cheap and conveniently located.

It's more or less quiet, the Blueberry Muffin restaurant next door is a convenient place to have a quick bite before hitting the slopes, trails, or whatever activity you'll be spending the day doing. The pool and jacuzzi get the job done although like one reviewer pointed out, the pool is very small. I've never seen the outdoor pool but it could be because in the summer we usually stay at other places. One reviewer said they found this place "nasty" but this has never been my experience here and I have stayed here at different times of the year. It's always clean because believe me if it weren't I am uber-picky about cleanliness and wouldn't return.

Bottom line this is an excellent place to stay when you want to budget your money, or just be in town for a few days spend the majority of your time outdoors. If you are looking for a place to loll around in and feel luxurious this aint it. But when I don't care about luxury, this is the first place on my list and I will be definitely be returning again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Clean comfortable rooms well priced. the staff are amazing and the manager laurie rolfe is a sweetie as is her co worker Kelly. The big attractionis their Blue Berry Muffin resturaunt wow the food is amazing and the service is great. This motel is a home away from home. They have an indoor pool and hot tub and they have an out door pool as well.

Room Tip: They have pet friendly rooms, The rooms out back have gas fireplace and jacuzzi tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Just got back from a girls weekend of shopping. This hotel had a great rate. I asked if any rooms were renovated and they indicated the bottom floor had been, so that's what we booked. The room was adequate - nothing spectacular. It was clean and that's what matters most to me. Not fancy, but had a small fridge and table. There was no shampoo, hair dryer, etc. The doors lock with a key, and a chain across - not exactly what I was used to. They provide you with a breakfast coupon at the attached restaurant. We used the coupon towards a different meal and it was very good. We didn't use the pool or hot tub, but both looked great. The front desk staff were very friendly - offered us shopping coupons and tips for where to eat. The room only had 2 towels and when we asked for more, they gave us a stack of them.

This motel was quiet, convenient to shopping and clean. We would stay there again for our next shopping expedition.

Room Tip: If the bottom rooms are the ones renovated, I'm not sure that I'd try the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Stayed here as it was the best rate we could find in town. Rooms are definitely old and could use some updating. There are no shampoos, etc. provided and no hairdryers. The breakfast at the attached restaurant in the morning was good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Yankee Clipper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yankee Clipper Inn

Address: 1769 White Mountain Highway, PO Box 479, North Conway, NH 03860
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > North Conway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yankee Clipper is on the way to everything……at the center of it all. With 24 hour front desk staffing, our 68 comfortable rooms have cable TV, Wi-Fi, and refrigerators. Queen bedded rooms have gas fireplaces and Jacuzzi bathtubs. We offer dog friendly rooms. Relax in our hot tub or indoor pool (outside pool closed in the winter). Breakfast Special for 2 adults at our on-site Blueberry Muffin Restaurant open from 7:00am to 2:00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Yankee Clipper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Yankee Clipper Hotel North Conway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Yankee Clipper Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.