We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, nice for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Gables Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Golden Gables Inn to your Saves list
Golden Gables Inn
1814 White Mountain Hwy, Route 16 & 302, North Conway, NH 03860   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Andover, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very clean, nice for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

My family checked into this inn just this past week. It was incredibly clean and convienent. It was located near all outlet shops, Storyland etc. I was pleasently surprised at how clean the room was- spotless and large in size. The second night we were moved to one of the new units and it was even nicer than the room we had the first night. The rooms are very spacious and being located on the main room it is considerably quiet! They had a nice staff, a nice pool for the kids and a playground. We stayed two nights and will certainly return to this inn next year for our annual Storyland vacation and most importantly would recommend this place to anyone who asked.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    115
    21
    3
    3
See reviews for
120
226
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

Very good stay here last week. Great location.. They upgraded us to a deluxe room because they were not too busy. Micro wave and fridge in room with huge bathroom. I will be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brossard, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

You cannot get a better place to stay in North Conway for these rates.
The point of our visits to this area of New Hampshire is to ride our motorcycles in the summer, ski in the winter, shop and have good meals. We get all those things and more with the kindness of the people and the open air of New Hampshire. The rooms are clean, the location is perfect, at walking distance to Settlers Greens and many other outlets and restaurants. If you plan to stay in your room the whole time of your stay I guess this is not the place to be, but if you plan to enjoy yourself and go out and play, this place really does the trick.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

After reading all of the reviews, we'd hoped for a really great hotel. Unfortunately, we were disappointed. Our greeting was certainly not as friendly as one would hope for, but we can look beyond that. What we couldn't look beyond was the atrocious smell in our room. It was unbearable. When I went to the front desk to ask for a different room, I got no apology. I received a sigh and a statement of, "well, I'll have to move things around." We were given a new room that smelled fine. However, the temperature was off all weekend. It was either frigid or unbearably hot. Upon checkout, we were told that they found out why our original room smelled. They found two day old Italian food in the room. Gross!! And still, no apology. While the bed was comfortable and our new room was clean, we would never stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

Nice, clean, very roomy. We usually stay at the chain hotels but a friend recommended this hotel (he said someone who used to live in the area told him when he goes back to visit he stays here). Loved the fact of parking only a few steps away from my room. With 3 kids, we have a "few" items to bring in. My only regret is not trying this hotel years ago when I was carrying 2 pack n plays and all the materials that go with the babies. Anyway, we were up for 2 nights right after Christmas, the only minor issue was we registered 5 of us and there were 4 towels in the room (pretty standard). We left a note for the maid and he/she left more than enough for us to use on our 2nd night. The maid even arranged the kids toys a special way when we returned to the room it was nice for them. We will definitely be back and look forward to the outdoor pool next summer!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

First of all, the location of this inn was excellent. Restaurants and shopping were within walking distance. We were hit with a bit more snow than planned over the New Year's but the comfort and warmth of the room made up for it. The bathroom is modern and squeaky clean, with towels and toiletries replenished daily. The king bed was super comfortable. I stayed in to sleep rather than shop. Hubby was pleasantly surprised. The cable tv allowed my husband to watch his football games. Owner Jan was very friendly and helpful as well.

We had a friend in the next room and couldn't hear anything through the walls. One thing i wondered was with the carpeted rooms, how do they manage to clean it so well even when guests walk in with wet winter boots. There is not a single sign or smell of mould.
So impressive. We will be returning this summer for sure. This inn is a keeper!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

This was a return trip to the Golden Gables for us. We wouldn't stay anywhere else. The rooms are immaculate and very well appointed. The bathrooms are modern and spacious and each room has its own private balcony which gives so much natural light to the room. The flatscreen tv is mounted on the wall for easy viewing and there is a desk area as well as a fridge. We like the drive up units so we can unpack our shopping treasures easily. The owner is so friendly and welcoming, you feel like you are coming home to a friend's house! The rates for the hotel are extremely reasonable and in fact are lower than the big chain hotels in North Conway. I noticed the parking lot at the Golden Gables seemed to be fuller than a lot of the other motels in the area, even in a busy week.

Thanks for another great stay, we will be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gables Inn

Address: 1814 White Mountain Hwy, Route 16 & 302, North Conway, NH 03860
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > North Conway
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in North Conway
#7 Family Hotel in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a perfectly convenient location in the center of North Conway. We offer 58 rooms from single king beds, double queen beds, suites or in-room Jacuzzi and fireplace units. All rooms are new or recently remodeled. 2 blocks from outlet shopping, great restaurants. Spacious back yard with pool and playground. Snowmobile trail access and discount lift tix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Gables Hotel North Conway
Golden Gables Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.