We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Ribs, Better Beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moat Mountain Smokehouse

Moat Mountain Smokehouse
3378 White Mountain Hwy, North Conway, NH 03860
603-356-6381
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 86 Restaurants in North Conway
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Ribs, Better Beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I like finding places that make their own beer simply because you get something that isn't watered down and more flavorful. I was happy to find Moat Mountain Smokehouse and try their beer. Very good and impressive.

I ordered the rib dinner, it was OK nothing to write home about but did order a second beer. This place is in an old house so in that sense it's unique and interesting to visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    299
    112
    37
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Caters well for special diets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We visited twice, each time with a group including those requiring gluten-free and another who is vegan. Neither presented a problem and there was a real willingness to accommodate our needs.

High summer and the place was busy. The first time, we arrived at 8pm and was told it could be 60-90 minutes before we could be seated so we sat at the bar, enjoyed our drinks, and ordered some appetisers to keep us going. I had the beer sampler which I would recommend. Our first two choices of red wine had run out but what we had was a Shiraz that was good for the price. In fact we were seated after only 45 minutes - not bad for a group of 10.

The food was good to excellent and the service very friendly and efficient. I had the Texas Brisket which was great. Everyone was happy with their food except my daughter who ordered some yam fries but didn't like them. Noticing, the waitress offered to bring her a bowl of regular fries at no charge - now that is an example of good service!

We had a great evening and returned later in the week. This time we arrived at 6.30 and were seated immediately. The food and service was, again, very good. We were not rushed and had another enjoyable evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Consistently good to very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Moat Mountain is one of the better places in the area. The food is tasty and fresh. The thai chicken pizza, nachos, quesadillas, burgers, salad with balsamic vinaigrette are all delicious. The quality of the kids meals is equally as good as the adult food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury,CT
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not Worth the Wait”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were told by locals that this is their absolute favorite, so how could we resist. Well, it wasn't worth the 45 minute wait. I got the Texas brisket, and was horribly disappointed. I've had real BBQ in Austin (nothing beats Salt Lick!), and this didn't measure up at all. It was dry and slathered with overly spicy sauce, probably to cover up the tasteless beef. The mashed potatoes were only average, and room temperature. The cole slaw was good, as was the blueberry beer. We won't be going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal, canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average food, rude staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

After a 1 hour wait (which was estimated to be 30 minutes). The food was average. Nothing special, but not bad. The staff were extremely rude to us. A complaint was brought to the attention of the owner. She acted as if she did not care or have any time to hear any negative reviews. Her response was if you are unhappy do not tip the waiter. The complaint had nothing to do with the waiter and we did not feel it fair to penalize him for her mismanagement. I have been to north conway countless times, this was my first time trying Moat Mountain and I can assure you it is also the last time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moat Mountain Smokehouse also viewed

 
North Conway, White Mountains
North Conway, White Mountains
 

Been to Moat Mountain Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moat Mountain Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.