We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moat Mountain Smokehouse

Moat Mountain Smokehouse
3378 White Mountain Hwy, North Conway, NH 03860
603-356-6381
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 86 Restaurants in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
NH
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Everything was great! Had never been there before and will certainly be back! The menu selection was good and the flavor was more than I expected.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    321
    117
    39
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virum
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent brewery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a great brewery. You can buy beer to go from the bar. Got myself a sampler box. All the beers were really great. The service in the bar is a bit slow.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsted, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unique Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Moat Mountain was a very nice surprise for us while we were traveling in the area. The menu is unique and has many options to please everyone. The food was fresh and very tasty. Atmosphere was very nice as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great lunch and beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We've been there three times now. Lunch twice and an appetizer the first visit. Beet was had at each visit. Never had a bad meal and the staff has always been polite friendly and very attentive. Their beer is great. I haven't made it through the when list but working on it. Looking forward to a return visit for dinner and sit on their nice glassed in porch. Previously we had sat in the bar area. If I was to say anything less than positive it would be that the bar area can beer a little noisy. Then again, it is a bar. Looking forward to another visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Have always left impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Been coming here for at least 10 years. The food is great, portions are generous and tastes fantastic. The menu has a ton of options, I have my favourites but when I want something different there's always a new choice for me to pick from. Their food is different not weird different but they go the extra mile to add extra interesting flavours. Like the jalapeño corn bread or Thai chili . My fav are the ribs with both dry rub and sauce . It's fall off the bone good, lots of meat not cheap fatty ribs.

Atmosphere is suitable for anyone, any age group. Just don't expect library quiet. Good for young people, families you name it. Word to the wise. Don't come last minute for dinner as you'll probably have to wait. It's a popular location so there is often a wait after 6pm, especially weekends. They have tons of seating so if you don't mind the wait its well worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moat Mountain Smokehouse also viewed

 
North Conway, White Mountains
North Conway, White Mountains
 

Been to Moat Mountain Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moat Mountain Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.