We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Great Dinner!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moat Mountain Smokehouse

Moat Mountain Smokehouse
3378 White Mountain Hwy, North Conway, NH 03860
603-356-6381
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 86 Restaurants in North Conway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“What A Great Dinner!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My wife and I had dinner here on a Friday night in early January of 2013. The place was busy but we were seated within five minutes. We sat on the front porch. Service was very good. We were greeted immediately and had drinks within a few minutes of sitting. We ordered dinner which arrived about 15 minutes later. I had a dish that was one of the specials. It was hanger steak and risotto, asparagus and a fried artichoke heart. My wife had the Yellotail Tuna that was on the regular menu. We split them both. Everything was truly outstanding and cooked perfectly. The Tuna was sushi grade and fresh and enormous! It was delicious. The steak and risotto was out of this world tasty. Hats off to this place. I was not expecting such awesome food in a casual/homey/puby kind of place. We go to North Conway about 4 or 5 times a year and usually eat at Delaney's but this place kicks their butt. OUTSTANDING

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    321
    117
    39
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place to stop if you're stuck in town traffic or anytime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This place was recommended to us by fellow hikers on Tuckermans and it did not disappoint. Great service and fantastic food! The meal was big enough for two people! Great atmosphere in the bar area and very good beer brewed on site. Definitely get the 6 beer sampler!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intervale, NH 03845
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent Choices from Menu, Cooperative Waitstaff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Moat Mountain Smokehouse Restaurant features a good variety of choices from the menu, and includes local beers brewed on-site for those interested in malt beverages. The food is good and the servings are large. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the waitstaff was competent and did the job quickly and well. The restaurant was crowded, and for this visit we had a long wait (almost an hour), but since it was a holiday weekend night we stayed and enjoyed the meal. We had our grandchildren with us, and we appreciated the attention given to the children by the staff.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We arrived at the end of dinner service but were hungry from a long drive from Boston. The manager set us up in the bar at a corner table and made us dinner. Outstanding!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We love the atmosphere of Moat Mountain. The staff is extremely friendly. The food is delicious. The experience is fun. And cheap! Do yourself a favor and order the family BBQ meal. We love the opportunity to get second and third helpings of our favorite dishes!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moat Mountain Smokehouse also viewed

 
North Conway, White Mountains
North Conway, White Mountains
 

Been to Moat Mountain Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moat Mountain Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.