We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wonder how much of the product is really made by them ...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bavarian Chocolate Haus

Bavarian Chocolate Haus
2483 White Mountain Highway, North Conway, NH 03860
(603) 356-2663
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 9 Shopping in North Conway
Type: Specialty Shops, Shopping
Attraction details
Plainville, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“I wonder how much of the product is really made by them ...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I really have to question how much of the product for sale in this store is made by the people who own the store. Much of it is clearly made elsewhere, as indicated by the labels of other companies. But I really had to wonder how much of the chocolate is actually made by them - and not some other company - when I asked what products might be casein (milk) free, and the attendant didn't have a clue. If the products were really made by them, she should have been able to go into the kitchen and look at the label for the bulk chocolate, or at least call the place where the stuff is made and had them look at the label. She couldn't even tell me if the pure dark chocolate had milk ingredients. And to top it off, the chocolate fudge was abysmal - barely noticeable chocolate flavor, and so dry it was crumbly. We'll skip this one next time for sure.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    4
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gorham, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Chocolate Lovers Delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had to stop by the Bavarian Chocolate Haus on our getaway anniversary weekend to have a treat! Everything we tried was scrumptious - and we high recommend it to all those chocolate lovers out there!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Deal, NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

The best chocolate ever. I stop here every year when vacationing in NH. It's so good in even mail order. In fact, I had a 5 pound block made for my wife. It was a huge win! Thank you.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Real Chocolate Factory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Willie Wonka has nothing on the BCH, and Hershey's could take a lesson or two themselves. This place is a little spot of German in America. We stood inside, close our eyes, breath in the smells and listened. It took us back a number of years to when we were first married and lived in Augsburg. Many a trip to see Mad King Ludwig's Castle. Then open your eyes and your mouth to experience the unique taste of true German Chocolate. This is really worth stopping for and, should we return to this area (we are visiting from Missouri) we will make it a point to stop again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Incredible Chocolate and Bavarian Tunes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My husband and I visit this place once a year, and it's absolutely worth the 5 hour drive. Sure we enjoy the mountain views, the lovely little shops, and all that the area has to offer, but the Bavarian Chocolate Haus is something that I spend 364 days a year craving. The chocolate is incredible. I would highly recommend the chocolate covered graham cracker, chocolate covered oreo, and Amaretto truffle. Most items are available in milk or dark chocolate. The prices may seem a bit high at first, but it's a necessary splurge. There is always Bavarian music playing, and it can be heard in the parking lot. The music is a fun, inviting touch.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bavarian Chocolate Haus also viewed

North Conway, White Mountains
North Conway, White Mountains
 
North Conway, White Mountains
North Conway, White Mountains
 

Been to Bavarian Chocolate Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bavarian Chocolate Haus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.