We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kearsarge Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kearsarge Inn to your Saves list
Kearsarge Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   42 Seavey Street, PO Box 9, North Conway, NH 03860   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 23 North Conway B&B and Inns
Barkhamsted, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quiet and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stumbled on this inn while looking for a quick weekend getaway. We were pleasantly surprised. The inn is downtown yet just off the street enough to provide a very quiet setting. The room we stayed in was spacious and clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, the porch with rocking chairs was relaxing, and we could walk to everything in town. We could never tell others were staying there except in passing on the porch or walk (there were no vacancies) so it felt like you were the only ones there. The other guests we met were great. Some had stayed there before. We would stay there again if we pass through again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    57
    10
    10
    4
See reviews for
15
110
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Made reservations six weeks in advance for the weekend of July 26th, 2013 and received a confirmation number in return. Upon check-in we were informed they had no reservation for us...a.k.a. they lost it. The woman behind the desk offered only one tiny bit of help. "Do you have another last name?" Um, no. I only have one last name.

The losing of the reservation was bad enough. Her lack of concern and failure to apologize really added insult to injury. One might expect that after their screw up they might have offered a suggestion of where else to go; someone they know, places they are familiar with, friends of a different establishment...something. Nope. Just a deadpan look and a complete lack of concern or care on her part. In this day and age there is no excuse for such poor management. Stay away from this fiasco.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The location of the inn is excellent. A good overall experience with clean room and confortable bed. On the minus side, the rooms could use a fridge as well as an alarm clock. But on the latter, as so many said, the blinds are really thin so the sun will probably wake you up anyway!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We arrived in North Conway on the 4th of July. What a perfect location! Easy walking distance to Schouler Park for the festivities - very happy to walk back and not be a part of the 30 minute traffic jam of people leaving! The inn was quaint, our room lovely. The front desk staff was pleasant at check-in but never acknowledged us after that. Not rude, just indifferent. Window coverings thin but got us up and going in good time the next morning. Easy walk to restaurants/coffee shops for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The positives: great location, large room, good air conditioning.
The negatives: comically unfriendly staff (I wondered where the hidden camera was), stained & threadbare towels, inadequate reading lamps, paper-thin window shades (plan on waking up at sunrise).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had a 2 night stay at the Kearsage Inn in mid June and had an amazing experience! Excellent hospitality from booking to checkout. The staff was so friendly to us and our Border Collie, you could tell they really love dogs! The hotel was located right behind the downtown area - so convenient for restaurants & shopping and centrally located for all of our activities (hiking, kayaking.) The grounds were beautiful, very well cared for and our room was spacious, modern and immaculate. It was also very reasonably priced, cheaper than the other 7+ dog friendly hotels I contacted. We have a well-behaved Border Collie who can be left without causing trouble & they were okay with us doing so which was so convenient for being able to dine out at night. This was important to us during our stay since many other dog friendly hotels would not allow this. We absolutely recommend the Kearsage and will be back again!!

Room Tip: They have a detached building which we hope to book next time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, NH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife and I are leaving tomorrow, we always feel bad when we leave the Kearsarge Inn. We live on the NH Seacoast and come here to relax. We have been coming to North Conway for ten years. Six years ago we found this gem and fell in love with it. This visit was our 43rd visit. Each visit has been for one to five days and none have been long enough. We find ourselves coming back more often each year and we are returning in two weeks.
The Inn is beautiful and all of the rooms are nicely furnished, spacious and clean. The location is perfect and you can walk to most anything you want to do. The staff is friendly and helpful and we have come to think of them as our second family. We have met other guests from around the country and enjoyed visiting with them.
We have recommended the Kearsarge Inn to our family and friends and they have all enjoyed it, if you try it I am sure you will also.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kearsarge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kearsarge Inn

Address: 42 Seavey Street, PO Box 9, North Conway, NH 03860
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > North Conway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kearsarge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kearsarge Inn is a modern rendition of one of the regions first grand hotels. Antique furnishings, luxurious bedding, fireplaces and private baths distinguish each of the Inn's suites. Nestled in the heart of North Conway village, the Inn is within walking distance of site seeing, shopping, fine dining and a variety of outdoor activities. Our location and size make the Kearsarge Inn the perfect place for weddings, special groups, rehearsal dinners or reunions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kearsarge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kearsarge Hotel North Conway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kearsarge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.