We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kearsarge Inn--Comfort with Style and Convenience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kearsarge Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kearsarge Inn to your Saves list
Kearsarge Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   42 Seavey Street, PO Box 9, North Conway, NH 03860   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 23 North Conway B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Kearsarge Inn--Comfort with Style and Convenience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Found this one by pure chance. I needed a convenient, comfortable and reasonable accommodation for a 4 night stay. I found it here.
The upside: Very charming inn, with large rooms (deluxe or Luxury) and bathrooms. Mine had a patio deck. Tucked away on a side street, it is only half a block from the main drag. Only seconds to restaurants and main attractions. Very private. While this Inn has 16 rooms, I rarely saw anyone.
Downsides:
The only notable downside is that while this Inn bills itself as a "B&B," they don't provide the second "B." For breakfast, you are on your own. They provide coffee, tea and OJ...that's it. For the price they charge, its a little off-putting not to have a modest breakfast at least included in the price, but the comfortable room, convince to the center of town and privacy made up for it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    57
    10
    10
    4
See reviews for
15
109
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Windsor
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed at Kearsarge in Fall 2010 while visiting Story Land.

First the positives - It has very good location, room and bath are big and clean.

Now the negatives -

- We made the reservation over the phone. The lady offered us the room with a view for $99 ($89 + $10 for child). First off there was no view from the room; unless you stepped on a chair and poked your head out. Second, she charged my credit card for $119. I called her to ask her for the difference. Her response - "We never ever give that room for $89".

- The fireplace in the room was on and there was no way to turn it off. Again we told the lady but she said they are having trouble turning it off and we could set it to minimum setting and just crank the AC up. Now that would have been fine if the AC wasn't pointed right where your head would be. So while sleeping your head would be freezing and your feet would be warm.

- Lastly the fridge is located in their storage room, it is not fun to step inside that room. Other reviewers have already talked about non-existent juice and breakfast. A tiny microwave is in the office which is closed after 7pm.

Not recommended especially families.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Top Contributor
326 reviews 326 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

It was pouring rain when we were lead to our refuge for the night... one half of a large cabin in the back of the main building. Huge well-maintained room, electric fireplace, very comfy queen bed, nice bathroom with deep bathtub, far from the street and very quiet, and with a full-size horse replica next to the bed (!!!): we truly felt spoiled and we only paid $69 (weekday rate) for the night. Coffee and juice available in the morning. There is an easy-to-miss bakery next door (in a small mall in the back of the nursing home) which offers great complements at a very reasonable price, including huge muffins and three kinds of croissants. Any future visit to North Conway will include the Kearsarge Inn.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at the Inn for one night passing through on our New England Adventure. The room was absolutely beautiful, very clean, the bathroom was huge. I loved how the room was decorated. The staff was wonderful and very helpful on places to visit in the town which was a short walking distance away. Waking up in the morning sitting on the beautiful covered porch drinking our delicious coffee was a perfect way to start our day the following morning. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011 via mobile

We stayed in a Deluxe room. It was very large room with an equally spacious bathroom. The room was very clean and smelled fresh as we were located right next to the laundry room. Well light outside when returning from an evening out. Within walking distance to all major attractions. This is out new favorite place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011 via mobile

Rooms were beautiful. Quick walk to downtown North Conway. Close to ski areas. Didn't try their restaurant next door as it seemed a bit pricey. Will be back again next winter!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

We stayed here for the first time in June, and thought it was charming. The room was well-decorated and comfortable. It is very quintessential New England. The service was pretty good, not excellent. We will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kearsarge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kearsarge Inn

Address: 42 Seavey Street, PO Box 9, North Conway, NH 03860
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > North Conway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kearsarge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kearsarge Inn is a modern rendition of one of the regions first grand hotels. Antique furnishings, luxurious bedding, fireplaces and private baths distinguish each of the Inn's suites. Nestled in the heart of North Conway village, the Inn is within walking distance of site seeing, shopping, fine dining and a variety of outdoor activities. Our location and size make the Kearsarge Inn the perfect place for weddings, special groups, rehearsal dinners or reunions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kearsarge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kearsarge Hotel North Conway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kearsarge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.