We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarendon Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clarendon Motel to your Saves list
Clarendon Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3537 White Mountain Hwy, North Conway, NH 03860   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE!
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Charlton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This was our first visit and stay at the Clarendon Motel. We found our room to be very clean and the queen size bed was very comfortable. Although the motel is situated on the highway, we were not disturbed by traffic noise. The staff was very helpful and courteous. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool but that was not a problem for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    12
    5
    8
    2
See reviews for
11
27
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rehoboth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were in town to enjoy Storyland, located just 2.4 miles north of the Clarendon Motel. For us the location was perfect, north of downtown North Conway and south of Storyland. As mentioned in most reviews, the rooms are dated, but clean and well maintained. Quiet outside and between rooms. Air conditioning worked well. I choose it because of it's reviews and price on Priceline although we did book over the phone. I highly suggest if you're looking for an affordable place to stay in the North Conway area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed at the Clarendon last night for the third time over the past six or seven years. I wanted to
experience how North Conway celebrates is Fourth of July. Situated an a small rise about two miles beyond the village, it is an older, very clean and well-maintained property offering rooms at considerably lower prices than most of the other accommodations in the area. The front desk staff is friendly and attentive. This place, like Barton's Motel in Laconia, proves that older does not at all mean ruin-down. It is simply a clean and comfortable place to rest at the end of a long day exploring the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I had never been to the Mt Washington area before and planned a vacation and itinerary all via internet. I found the Clarendon Motel online and checked their calendar before calling Diane the owner.....She set me up for 5 nights and I later decided to extend it to 6 after seeing how much there is to do in the area.
I was greeted upon arrival and assigned a room....I found the wireless internet service to be weak from the room that I was assigned to, so I went back to the office and spoke with Diane,,,,who moved me to another room adjacent to the office.....Wireless worked like a charm from that point onward.....When I told Diane what I wanted to do in the area, she gave me a batch of pamphlets and dining guide which was a great help. Diane and her husband Bill are very friendly and were great hosts during the stay....Asking me if things were ok with the room and asking how things were going with my exploring around the area...The Clarendon is about 16-18 miles and 20-30 minutes South of the Mt. Washington Auto road via Rte 16 and about 45 minutes and 36 miles from the Cog Ralroad via Rte 302 and Base Station Rd...but the Clarendon is also within a few miles of plenty of restaurants, shopping, gas stations, so you are not out in the middle of no-where...plus the Clarendon is just North of the business district so it is a quieter location with less traffic and noise than downtown....another plus to me.

I was very satisfied with the room accomodations.....A/C, fridge, microwave, TV.....Room was very clean and cleaned daily during my visit......Cicking onto the room pictures on the Clarendon website will give an idea of what the rooms are like....If you want a sauna or pool, you'll have to go to one of the local resorts....but you'll pay a lot more.......For my needs, a clean room with wireless, a/c..etc is all I need.....I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: If wireless internet is a priority, ask for a room closer to the office (depending on number of beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our room was large and sunny. Located right on Rt. 16 but past the louder part of North Conway village. Very clean and super friendly hosts! Walking distance to great beer and food. Coffee was offered first thing in the morning and our hosts were very knowledgeable about things to do in the area. Overall, a great stay and we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Large room, so-so bed, easy access off highway but kind of out of town on north side so a ways back to restaurants, gas, etc. Clerk had to stop watching TV to briefly check us into room. Peak season for tourists when we were there but still felt overpriced for value received.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I traveled here in March, 2012 to hike Mt. Washington. I am a woman in my 40s traveling alone. This place is clean. Nothing special. The location isn't too bad. The woman who checked me in seemed a little concerned that there were additional people traveling with me because it seems they charge for additional people. I informed her I was traveling alone, and I don't think she believed me. If you want an inexpensive place to stay this is adequate.

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desktopN, Owner at Clarendon Motel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your comment about our Motel, I apologise for making you feel like I did not believe you that you were only 1 person but we do ask everyone when they check in to verify how many people they have because sometimes the number of people changes from the time they make the reservation and the time they arrive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarendon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarendon Motel

Address: 3537 White Mountain Hwy, North Conway, NH 03860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > North Conway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in North Conway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarendon Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most exciting villages in the White Mountains; just minutes from Storyland, Conway Scenic Railroad and Mount Washington. You can also find great tax free shopping and a variety of restaurants. A great affordable family vacation stay with clean comfortable rooms. We also have suites with full kitchens that sleep four to six people. All of our lodging is kid friendly and priced to fit anyone's budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarendon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Motel North Conway
Clarendon Hotel North Conway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarendon Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.