We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Course, Poor Customer Service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of North Conway Country Club

North Conway Country Club
Norcross Circle, North Conway, NH
603-356-9391
Improve this listing
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Challenging 18-hole public course stretches 6,281 yards at par 71.
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Course, Poor Customer Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We entered the parking and there was a sign that said PGA Pros Welcome. It turns out they had some kind of tournament before our tee times. We were waiting outside the clubhouse because it was pouring out and we had 20 minutes until our tee time. The starter was constantly hinting to us to tee off early and head to the tee, but we didn't realize what he was doing. Eventually some of the people who were running the tournament told us to leave the clubhouse area because we were in their way. We made our way down to the "forward" tees because the regular tees "were in the way". Once on the tee box, another twosome grouped with us. While on the tee box, we were told to hurry up by numerous people so they could get their tournament ceremonies underway. We definitely felt unwanted and in the way. Why did they even offer us tee times if that was the case?

The course was great and fun to play. Despite some rain showers, the course held up well. We didn't wait on any holes and weren't hurried by anyone behind us. If the start of the round was more enjoyable, it would have been an easy 4 or 5 star review. Not sure I'd play here again however, due to the service.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Good Layout, Reasonable Rates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Usually in good shape, reasonable rates, usually not too crowded. Recommend the afternoon rates. Located right in the center of North Conway.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Very good public course”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Played golf here in July and thoroughly enjoyed it. Although it is not quite up to private country club standards, it is well maintained for a public course that is reasonably priced. The course is challenging but not difficult. There are four sets of tees per hole with the whites being about 6200 yards par71. I don't know the slope but I would guess it to be about 125. There is a pro shop for whatever you might need and a restraunt on site. They have a driving range ($5. For a bucket) and a small practice putting green. Also they had a roaming beverage cart on the course for refreshments. The course is located near the north Conway train station and is very convenient if you are staying in north Conway. My son, who is an excellent golfer, has played a few other public courses in the area and he says this is the best one in the area for serious golfers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rangers were senile jerks”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

.Went here with a group of 6 guys and were lucky enough to get broken up into 2 threesomes. Right away the ranger started harrassing my group on the 2nd tee. Asked us if we knew how to play hurry up golf, what a jerk. This despite waiting to tee off. We were hounded by him probably 7 or 8 times and being decent golfers in threeso es we were fast enough that we usually Waited for the group in front. The guy even had the nerve to tell us to tee up as both of our groups caught up to the group in front of us on one whole. Beautiful views of the mountains though.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best view in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

The new food and beverage manager is doing a great job upgrading the quality of the food and the service to the members and the public. They are open for breakfast and lunch and dinner on weekends. The deck overlooks the golf course and boasts the best sunsets in the valley. The golf course and the restaurant are open to the public.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Conway Country Club also viewed

North Conway, White Mountains
North Conway, White Mountains
 
North Conway, White Mountains
North Conway, White Mountains
 

Been to North Conway Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Conway Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.